SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2013, 09:03 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
Crucial M500 - 960GB SSD

I'm seriously considering one of these 960 GB SSD's. I do a fair amount of editing and saving of large files. It seems like they're out of stock everywhere, but potentially available again in a month or so. I'd sure like to here a little chatter about this massive SSD from those in the community already interested in these things.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:04 PM
Tomahawk51's Avatar
Tomahawk51 Tomahawk51 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 320
Crucial seems well respected in years past for reliability (following Intel).

That's a huge size for an SSD and I wish I could have considered it years back. I have been using a 250gb Crucial M4 in my Macbook, and it is working extremely well (essentially it's like a new computer). I picked Crucial as it seemed to have good garbage collection, etc. over other brands.

As far as reliability and excessive writes: my opinion is that unless you are on a conservative budget (if so, probably not looking at this drive) just get it, use the heck out of it. All of that is predicated on a backup strategy that gets you up and running if there is an issue.

Can't say much about the video editing angle though. Obviously it's the disk chatter that would benefit...not sure how much you see there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:16 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,207
IMHO, with that much money, I'd get a pair of the WD VelociRaptors, and read from one and write to the other. You should have change left over for a 2 or 3 TB slow drive for long term storage.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:30 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
If the latency wasn't an issue in machine response, might not be a bad idea, Matt.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/805?vs=182
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.