SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:24 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Channels DVR added TVEverywhere ...

For those cable subscribers you can now add TV Everywhere and be able to record/Watch Cable Stations on any device that supports Channels DVR.

Here is a summary of how Channels DVR's TVE support is known to work with various cable providers.

OTT
PSVue: Works well with access to most TVE channels.

DirecTV NOW: Moderate support for TVE: BET, BRAVO, CNBC, Comedy Central, Disney, E!, FS1, FS2, Freeform, FX, MSNBC, NGC, Syfy, Sprout, USA, ESPN

Sling Blue: Limited support for TVE: USA, SYFY, E!, BRAVO, NGC, NGWILD, FS1, FS2, FX, FXX,

Sling Orange: Very limited support for TVE: ESPN, Disney

Philo: Not supported.

YouTubeTV: Not supported.

Hulu Live: Not supported.

Traditional Cable
Cox: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Xfinity: All subscribed TVE channels work except MTV, VH1, BET, CMT, Comedy Central, TVLAND, Paramount, Logo

Dish Network: All subscribed TVE channels work.

DirecTV: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Verizon FIOS: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Frontier: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Optimum: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Spectrum and Spectrum Online: All subscribed TVE channels should work, but channel scan can be flaky. Please email support using the feedback form 1 if you are missing channels.

HTC Digital: All subscribed TVE channels work except C-SPAN and PopTV
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:11 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
For those cable subscribers you can now add TV Everywhere and be able to record/Watch Cable Stations on any device that supports Channels DVR.

Here is a summary of how Channels DVR's TVE support is known to work with various cable providers.

OTT
PSVue: Works well with access to most TVE channels.

DirecTV NOW: Moderate support for TVE: BET, BRAVO, CNBC, Comedy Central, Disney, E!, FS1, FS2, Freeform, FX, MSNBC, NGC, Syfy, Sprout, USA, ESPN

Sling Blue: Limited support for TVE: USA, SYFY, E!, BRAVO, NGC, NGWILD, FS1, FS2, FX, FXX,

Sling Orange: Very limited support for TVE: ESPN, Disney

Philo: Not supported.

YouTubeTV: Not supported.

Hulu Live: Not supported.

Traditional Cable
Cox: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Xfinity: All subscribed TVE channels work except MTV, VH1, BET, CMT, Comedy Central, TVLAND, Paramount, Logo

Dish Network: All subscribed TVE channels work.

DirecTV: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Verizon FIOS: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Frontier: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Optimum: All subscribed TVE channels work.

Spectrum and Spectrum Online: All subscribed TVE channels should work, but channel scan can be flaky. Please email support using the feedback form 1 if you are missing channels.

HTC Digital: All subscribed TVE channels work except C-SPAN and PopTV
Channels DVR not going spent $80 a year on top everything else that just down right dumb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2019, 08:52 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Channels DVR not going spent $80 a year on top everything else that just down right dumb
What do you recommend then ?

SageTV is dying a slow death ..

Emby Creating season passes is basic no advanced passes ... slow playback and channel changing in livetv.

Plex DVR just sucks ?

Do you have a recommendation that has advanced passes and can record my Cable channels without a Prime (unlimited Streams) ? and also can Watch Remotely using the same interface ?
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-15-2019 at 10:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2019, 10:05 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
What do you recommend then ?
I can't
But for me and my setup with DirecTV Sat with Emby and NextPVR setup as IPTV server. plus I used SageTV as guide data check on rerun and new show back check EPG because even one else to darn lazy is add save long term history with watched status but some I still run SageTV as a recorder.
And it doesn't help with EPG on some channel not keep up to date.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
SageTV is dying a slow death ..
I know same with all the rests even on Linux with MythTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Emby Creating season passes is basic no advanced passes ... slow playback and channel changing in livetv.
I'm not aware of the first part got any link to this I'm not sure what you mean by that.
Ture but I don't see it as big deal you just have to lean to except it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Plex DVR just sucks ?
Plex ok but lax any real mulit-user support like Emby and few other things and IPTV or Analog support like Emby.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Do you have a recommendation that has advanced passes and can record my Cable channels without a Prime ? and also can Watch Remotely using the same interface ?
You petty much need Prime for Cable but eventually even Traditional CableTV will die to we have make are way to TV steaming over internet.

As side Note Channel DVR TV Everywhere sound a little fish to me and they say No stream limits that a down right lie as providers like DirectTVNow, PSVue, SlingTV do have stream limits.
And top all off the TVE DVR directory DRM lock where OTA is not.

Last edited by SHS; 06-15-2019 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2019, 08:53 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
I think this is interesting. Yes, channels dvr is pricey and I hate monthly fees. But it is another option if it works well. More choices are a good thing. I'm curious about what would be the minimum cpu(s) for capturing multiple web based channels simultaneously.
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2019, 04:25 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 667
To summarize Channels DVR:
  • Requires you to supply the server
  • Requires you to supply the storage
  • Requires a HdHomeRun tuner
  • Cost $80 a year

Meaning that you are just leasing the software, not buying it.

In comparison:
  • Plex Pass Lifetime $149
  • HDHomeRun DVR $35
  • SageTV FREE

Did Channels DVR even do a market comparison before setting the price?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2019, 06:46 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
To summarize Channels DVR:
  • Requires you to supply the server
  • Requires you to supply the storage
  • Requires a HdHomeRun tuner
  • Cost $80 a year

Meaning that you are just leasing the software, not buying it.

In comparison:
  • Plex Pass Lifetime $149
  • HDHomeRun DVR $35
  • SageTV FREE

Did Channels DVR even do a market comparison before setting the price?
NetworkGuy I don't think a HDHomeRun tuner is requires to use the TV Everywhere service.
Add Note: HDHomeRun DVR cost $35 per-year and you just pay for the EPG service
That true SageTV is free and even has free EPG for Local OTA channel or better EPG that dose cost $25 a year.

If had a Lifetime Pass then diff story
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2019, 09:21 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
No HdHomeRun needed for Channels DVR .... you can subscribe to 58 Channels on Philo for $20 and be able to record from it ... so think of the savings if you do not need a HDHomeRun Prime tuner or cable subscription even at the Channels DVR yearly cost of $80. You would only need an OTA Tuner. So for $28 dollars a month (philo+channels dvr) .. if you subscribe to Channels DVR monthly that is a great deal. You can test drive it and opt out if you do not like it.

Philo 58 channels $240 a year
Channels DVR $80

Total per year .... $320.

Also have Remote access to all recordings and channels without any extra software (Plex/Emby)... and comskip on recorded shows.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-17-2019 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2019, 05:26 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
No HdHomeRun needed for Channels DVR .... you can subscribe to 58 Channels on Philo for $20 and be able to record from it ... so think of the savings if you do not need a HDHomeRun Prime tuner or cable subscription even at the Channels DVR yearly cost of $80.
Actually, you need a cable subscription (or at least some sort of tv service subscription) to get access to tv everywhere .
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2019, 06:12 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Actually, you need a cable subscription (or at least some sort of tv service subscription) to get access to “ tv everywhere “.
A Philo 58 Channel $20 dollar subscription is all you need plus the Channels DVR Subscription. At $28 dollars a month not a bad deal to be able to record locally those channels.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-17-2019 at 06:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-18-2019, 11:19 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Reactivated my Channels subscription on this news after having evaluated it on a trial month last year. The "TV Everywhere" source seems to be working flawlessly alongside my PRIME.

This feature may have earned my $80/year (which is really net $55 after eliminating the yearly Schedules Direct fee in support of SageTV). Channels wins on ease of administering, app support, remote access (with a modern transcoder), support, and now TV Everywhere. $4.58/month to subsidize active development of the product seems like a bargain imo.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2019, 11:10 AM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
I reactivated channls also to try this out. Works very well. Surprisingly fast tuning once selected (I expected a bit more latency). To put this in perspective, I was paying $35 a month for HDHR PTV just a few months ago. So $28 a month works for me. Of course Philo doesn't have all the channels I want (news), but the wife gave me 2 thumbs up just last night when trying channels for the first time. Something I did not get with PTV. Wish Sage had this, as we both prefer Sage.
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.

Last edited by BobbyDing; 06-20-2019 at 02:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2019, 05:24 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
A Philo 58 Channel $20 dollar subscription is all you need plus the Channels DVR Subscription. At $28 dollars a month not a bad deal to be able to record locally those channels.
Your original post seems to suggest that Philo isn't supported. Please explain.

Will these locally saved shows have 5.1 channel audio?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-20-2019, 05:46 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Your original post seems to suggest that Philo isn't supported. Please explain.

Will these locally saved shows have 5.1 channel audio?
They added Philo ... I do not think they are 5.1 audio. Channels DVR does nothing to the stream simply writes what they receive.

More info here....

https://community.getchannels.com/t/...ort-beta/17405
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-20-2019 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:01 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Ya, I read that. So can I record 6 or 10 programs simultaneously to my PC? I already have a cable TV sub so I have a lot more options I suppose with TV everywhere. Or do I need to buy some hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:06 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Ya, I read that. So can I record 6 or 10 programs simultaneously to my PC? I already have a cable TV sub so I have a lot more options I suppose with TV everywhere. Or do I need to buy some hardware?
It all depends on your bandwidth ... During testing I recorded 6 streams and watched a separate stream. No tuner Hardware needed you don't even need a Prime. The hardware needed is to host Channels DVR server.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:55 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
The really million dollar question is how long before they get shut down.

Last edited by SHS; 06-21-2019 at 04:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2019, 07:05 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
The really million dollar question is how before they get shut down.
If they do it is no big deal as there are no long term contracts.... but I think it is here to stay.... It did not cost me a penny because I already used Channels DVR and subscribe to XFINITY as a matter of fact I got extra channels.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-20-2019 at 07:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2019, 05:15 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If they do it is no big deal as there are no long term contracts.... but I think it is here to stay.... It did not cost me a penny because I already used Channels DVR and subscribe to XFINITY as a matter of fact I got extra channels.
I'm mot worry about the money but it dose become a major inconvenience, and it all ready violate all TV Steaming Terms of Service under Your Use of the Services in reference to no copying and redistribution and participate in the transfer or sale, create derivative works, or in any way exploit, any portion of the Steaming service Property. They are going to know who doing what after all if recording more then steam then they allow by them they are going to shut your access.

So unless that TV Steaming service had publish an announcement that it partner with Channel DVR service to use there service in that I wouldn't go risk it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2019, 01:33 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Eh, seems like "fair use" to me. Channels isn't providing access or redistributing the content.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with channels added automatically DaveS SageTV EPG Service 5 08-27-2014 03:53 PM
New channels not getting added to lineup dvd_maniac SageTV EPG Service 2 11-10-2009 11:35 AM
How Quickly are New Channels Added? darcilicious SageTV EPG Service 2 09-30-2009 10:05 AM
Added Fusion5 USB, no channels White94Cobra SageTV EPG Service 2 06-17-2006 11:56 PM
From where 368 channels added by Sage TV? Registry? I think not .... wieb SageTV Software 5 05-06-2005 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.