SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 07-01-2019, 05:38 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
Yes. I see the following in the SageTV lineup selection screen when using SD:

Sony PSVue - National
Sony PSVue Washington, DC - Washington (my local market)

I haven't tried using it yet.

--John
Thanks, John. I may have to give that a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 07-10-2019, 01:49 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
It is beyond my scope of expertise but could an add-on bring similar TVE functionality to SageTV? I've played around with Channels with TVE and it works pretty well. We all have different setups and needs however I don't think the 80 dollar annual fee is out of line if you compare hardware requirements and Schedules Direct. I'm running the Channels DVR server on Synology NAS so need maintain PC server. Is it a perfect solution? No but the addition of TVE really makes it a viable option and the client app is pretty good.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 07-12-2019, 10:33 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Unfortunately the audio with TV Everywhere is not up to snuff. I'm doing some testing with Channels DVR now and it seems to be the closest I've found to SagerTV. The latter still the best for how I use it except for remote viewing. Emby I like, but until it gets seamless automatic commercial skip with the ability to rewind, (not the Plex cutting), Channels DVR is the best I've seen so far. Except I can't replace that with streaming stuff as the TV Everywhere audio is just stereo on at least the channels I tested. And no downloading of things "in app" for stuff like a plane trip. I use Plex for that downloading now as it works well with the SageTV recording files while Emby does not. Or just plug my tablet into my computer and manually skip things on playback after downloading the files.

I've got a couple of weeks with Channels DVR, but while TV Everywhere is a no-go, it works great with mobile devices, (no surround sound I see, but is on phones and tablets there), outside of the LAN and can do surround sound locally.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07-23-2019, 03:58 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
I see new Shows Like Picard etc ... are not going to be broadcast on regular TV or Cable ... I also see that The Orville is moving to HULU from OTA .. It appears the shows do better with Subscription services than OTA. I am glad channels DVR is working on a way to record these services ... I believe TV everywhere is a winner.

Broadcast channels are turning into The GameShow Network
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-23-2019 at 04:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-23-2019, 04:36 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,157
When channels dvr hits a commercial, using comskip, does it automatically skip over it like SageTV would?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 07-23-2019, 05:07 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
When channels dvr hits a commercial, using comskip, does it automatically skip over it like SageTV would?
Yes it does it is off by default on AndoidTV, Apple TV FireTV as far as I know any Device that runs the Channels DVR Clients ...

__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 07-23-2019, 05:24 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
When channels dvr hits a commercial, using comskip, does it automatically skip over it like SageTV would?
Sage TV is great but the way we are Viewing TV has Changed so much in the last year I doubt if there is going to be further Development of the Engine. The developers have done a great job ... but I cannot fault them for not investing any valuable time on it. Streaming is here now and will be here in the future..

Comskip also works on TVEverwhere Streams.

If You mean does it do LiveTV detecting I would have to say no.... But it runs Comskip when recordings are done which is more accurate and you can edit the skips.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-23-2019 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 07-23-2019, 07:53 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I see new Shows Like Picard etc ... are not going to be broadcast on regular TV or Cable ... I also see that The Orville is moving to HULU from OTA .. It appears the shows do better with Subscription services than OTA. I am glad channels DVR is working on a way to record these services ... I believe TV everywhere is a winner.

Broadcast channels are turning into The GameShow Network
That only work on reg Hulu TV not reg Hulu Media Steaming so Channels DVR should not work at or it will getting if self in a lot hot water
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07-23-2019, 08:26 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
That only work on reg Hulu TV not reg Hulu Media Steaming so Channels DVR should not work at or it will getting if self in a lot hot water
I know that... All the good dramas and Shows are on Streaming Services unless You want to watch game shows and Bachelor/Bachelorette shows.. OTA shows are getting really bad IMOP.

Philo and Channels DVR gives me all my Cable channels I like for $28 plus being able to record with a lot of extra money left over for some subscription services as opposed to paying Comcast.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-23-2019 at 08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 09-07-2019, 09:22 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Sling Blue: Limited support for TVE: USA, SYFY, E!, BRAVO, NGC, NGWILD, FS1, FS2, FX, FXX,
Just curious about the "limited" support of Sling Blue. Are the channels listed above the only ones that you can record?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with channels added automatically DaveS SageTV EPG Service 5 08-27-2014 03:53 PM
New channels not getting added to lineup dvd_maniac SageTV EPG Service 2 11-10-2009 11:35 AM
How Quickly are New Channels Added? darcilicious SageTV EPG Service 2 09-30-2009 10:05 AM
Added Fusion5 USB, no channels White94Cobra SageTV EPG Service 2 06-17-2006 11:56 PM
From where 368 channels added by Sage TV? Registry? I think not .... wieb SageTV Software 5 05-06-2005 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.