SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-22-2010, 08:57 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,835
Pix,

When you upgrade all of the "old STV" stuff is there. I did not want to spring a big change on my family so I upgraded but then made sure all of the "production TVs" used the old STV. So you end up using the updated Sage core with the old STV.

As far as I can tell the core is solid. So using the "old" system is as easy as switching back to the old STV.

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-23-2010, 06:32 PM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Pix,

When you upgrade all of the "old STV" stuff is there.
Are you saying that you can upgrade to V7 and still keep the original screen layout?

I am using Neims customizable screen, can I keep that if I upgrade?

Last edited by joe123; 05-23-2010 at 09:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:21 PM
Ericft Ericft is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 246
slow hd 100

i upgraded v7 over installation of v6 without a fresh install and my hd100 wired by gigabit network still scrolls through menus particularly slowly...upgraded hd100 firmware, server is c2d 2.93 ghz system. wondering if reinstalling clean sage7 would speed it up. any thoughts? or what else might be causing the slowdown...
also, i tried to put back old sage6 menu UI on media mvp but can't find the original sagetv3.xml file...what gives?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-23-2010, 08:24 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericft View Post
i upgraded v7 over installation of v6 without a fresh install and my hd100 wired by gigabit network still scrolls through menus particularly slowly...upgraded hd100 firmware, server is c2d 2.93 ghz system. wondering if reinstalling clean sage7 would speed it up. any thoughts? or what else might be causing the slowdown...
also, i tried to put back old sage6 menu UI on media mvp but can't find the original sagetv3.xml file...what gives?
A. Did you make sureyou upgraded to the latest BETA hd100 firmware?
B. when loading the old stv... navigate to \stvs\sagetv3\sagetv3.xml (up a level from where you are initially)
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:26 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe123 View Post
Are you saying that you can upgrade to V7 and still keep the original screen layout?

I am using Neims customizable screen, can I keep that if I upgrade?
Yes, and no. After upgrading you can select the old STV and all of the things you were using will most likely work. BUT if you do that you will not get many of the new things that were incorporated.

Remember that essentially Sage has two parts; a core that supplies much of the back end work and an STV that supplies the UI. If you upgrade and use the old STV you will be using the new core and the old UI.

Make sense?

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-24-2010, 09:28 AM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Make sense?

Tom
Yes, thanks Tom. So to make sure I understand, Neilm's customizabled UI will still work? I understand it will be slow, but I like to run the new core but keep the old UI in case the new UI is not for us.

Last edited by joe123; 05-24-2010 at 08:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-28-2010, 03:07 PM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
One more will this work post. I am moving to a new more modern server now that Sage V7 is out.

If I upgrade my current server to V7, I understand that it will write metadata for all my recordings into those files.

If I move the hard drives to my new server also running V7, will it find all my old recordings and display them correctly? I know I need to add the drives as recording directories. Is there any reason to copy the wiz.bin from the old server to the new one? I only have about 12 favorites and I can easily recreate them....
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-28-2010, 06:34 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 387
I have similar questions. I am probably going to install v7 on another faster machine and run them in parallel. I would like to not use the 21 day edition, but I am guessing if I purchase the v7 upgrade it won't help me run parallel for a few months while we work through the kinks. Any suggestions?

Also, If I copy the shows over will it read them.. I am guessing it won't, maybe mapping a drive and saying they are videos would make them accessable. Any other suggestions? Is there a wiz.bin export and import facility? Thanks, Bill
__________________
Sage Server: SageTV v9.2.1(64)
Hardware Dell T20 Mini Tower, 4th Gen Pentium, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64 bit, 3 x 4TB WD Green, 128GB SSD boot drive. Capture: 1 Quad HDHR, 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 2 @ STP-HD200's, 1 @ HD300, 1 @ Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 @ Mibox. TV's: 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris.

Motorhome Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8 Intel NUC6CAYH, HD200, Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 Dual HDHR 4TB Passport storage, Winegard BatWing RV antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-28-2010, 08:59 PM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Well, I tried just moving the drives and doing an imported media scan. It didn't work for me this way.

However, what did work was to copy my wiz.bin from the old server after it was upgraded to SageTV V7. Then I edited my sage.properties file as documented here. This worked! when I started Sage on the new server it took a few minutes to start, but all my recordings showed up just fine. I don't know if the upgrading the old server before I moved everything matters,but, this did work for me.

I'm up and running with the new server. I am even starting to like the new UI as well as SageMC. I am amazed how much quicker scrolling through my list of movies is on my extenders since the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrating To a new server.... PiX64 SageTV Software 2 03-24-2010 08:21 AM
Migrating to HD cumak Hardware Support 7 11-23-2009 06:58 PM
Migrating From XP to Windows 7 Jynxed SageTV Software 1 05-11-2009 08:31 AM
Migrating from XP to WHS logsvp SageTV Software 3 03-10-2009 03:38 PM
Migrating from BTV Khristopher General Discussion 30 08-27-2007 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.