SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:34 PM
freedml freedml is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 549
Global vs. Local Sage.properties

When I change a Sage.property, it only applies to that station. I always have to remember and take the time to make the same change to each tv, placeshifter, etc. When I forget to update one, it is irritating to the family that they don't all work the same way.

Solution: Basic functional property changes should have a dialog with choices like

"Apply change to all setups on this server?"
"Apply change to all Media extenders on this server?"
"Apply change to all Placeshifters on this server?"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2009, 07:05 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The sage.properties file only applies to SageTV when it runs as a server. Sageclient.properties file is used on PC clients and when the server is also used as a client. 000xxc53xxxx.properties (MAC address of the device is the name of the file)is used by HD100, HD200 and placeshifter.

For my extenders I just setup one and then copy and rename it to the clients directory. I remote desktop to the server or map a drive that directory and do it from a PC.

It sounds like a nice feature but I'm not sure how practical it is to implement. If the file is in use by an extender then the changes won't be written to the file.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:08 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedml View Post
Solution: Basic functional property changes should have a dialog with choices like...
I'm not sure exactly what you're proposing, but I certainly would not want to have an "Apply to all?" dialog pop up every time I fiddle with the sort order or filters on the recordings list. Nor would I want every options dialog cluttered with extra items to define the scope of the change.

The problem you're trying to address is real, but I don't think this is an appropriate solution. What I'd rather see is some sort of separate admin tool for setting up mirroring rules on a per-property basis (e.g. property X should be mirrored to clients A, B, and C). My feeling is that you'd want to set up these rules once and not have to tinker with them very often. Personally I could live without a GUI for this and would be happy to edit a text file (in .properties or .xml format, say) for setting up the rules.

That said, you'd want to be careful which properties you set up for mirroring and when the mirroring should actually be enforced. It would be weird to be browsing a recordings list and have it spontaneously re-sort or re-filter itself, or to have disk bars and other UI widgets popping in and out before your eyes because somebody at another client is fooling around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
It sounds like a nice feature but I'm not sure how practical it is to implement. If the file is in use by an extender then the changes won't be written to the file.
You'd need to enforce the property changes through the API rather than just overwriting the file, but there are existing tools for making remote API calls on a designated client.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Favorites global settings? Flash69 SageTV Software 1 01-05-2008 09:28 PM
DisplayIndex as a global variable? Crashless SageTV Studio 2 12-30-2007 11:01 AM
Difference between SageClient.properties and Sage.properties? morfinx SageTV Software 1 12-30-2006 09:01 AM
Exiting global forked threads that loop Opus4 SageTV Studio 1 12-18-2006 04:35 PM
When are the Win.bin, Win.bak, Sage.properties, and Sage.properties.autobackup saved? zubblwump SageTV Software 3 01-16-2005 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.