SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2012, 09:04 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904
I need a longer IR receiver cable

The supplied external IR receiver cable isn't long enough as I need to run the receiver from the front of the TV back to my HD-300 on a shelf. This unit uses a 2.5mm plug which is smaller than the standard mini headphone jack.

Taking a quick look at Monoprice they don't seem to have extension cables that are 2.5mm so is my best option to get a 2.5->3.5mm and a 3.5->2.5mm set of adapters and a 3.5mm extension cable?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2012, 04:33 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Look at smarthome.com they are more focused on home automation and might have what you're looking for.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:27 AM
pukka pukka is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 83
you could cut the cable and add a bit in the middle. soldering it back together.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2012, 09:24 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Taking a quick look at Monoprice they don't seem to have extension cables that are 2.5mm so is my best option to get a 2.5->3.5mm and a 3.5->2.5mm set of adapters and a 3.5mm extension cable?
Maybe you didn't see this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:54 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904
Thanks Keith, I missed that which may be because - the category it is listed under is Audio Cables - RCA & 3.5mm". They only seem to have the extension cables (Male on one end and female on the other) in 3ft lengths so I may need two of them or use the adapters and a longer cable.

I realize I can just cut and extend a cable but when you can buy one for <$3 it is hardly worth the effort.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:59 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Thanks Keith, I missed that which may be because - the category it is listed under is Audio Cables - RCA & 3.5mm". They only seem to have the extension cables (Male on one end and female on the other) in 3ft lengths so I may need two of them or use the adapters and a longer cable.
Well, there's this one too:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...n=&s=&v=glance
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2012, 02:33 PM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 250
FYI: place to find IR stuff;
http://www.hometech.com/hts/products/infrared/emitters/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2012, 06:54 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904
All of the emitters at Hometech seem to have 3.5mm plugs. Can you use an emitter with the HD-300 as it is actually working as an IR receiver, not a transmitter. And I also believe that the wiring is somewhat non—standard. I think I am just going to go with two of the 3 ft extenders as I need a total length of around 9 ft.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:00 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I think I am just going to go with two of the 3 ft extenders as I need a total length of around 9 ft.
Did you see the 6 foot long extender cable that I posted three posts up?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:26 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904
Yes, I did but I need a bunch of other cables as well so I think I will just go with Monoprice - as shipping to Canada isn't always so cheap. That store on Amazon seems more expensive for other types of cables like HDMI, etc.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 external IR receiver cable options? LehighBri SageTV Media Extender 8 12-07-2010 04:02 PM
3rd Party Cable Receiver Boxes mdnttoker Hardware Support 2 10-18-2008 06:25 PM
Splicing a Hauppauge IR Receiver cable jbarr Hardware Support 3 02-16-2007 09:21 AM
serial cable connect to sattelite receiver jca27 Hardware Support 2 01-20-2004 10:53 PM
longer cable for remote of PVR250/350 Sotto Hardware Support 0 10-08-2003 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.