SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2021, 06:17 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
10 Years - Hard to Believe

Ten years ago today, the acquisition of SageTV by Google was announced. There's been a few bumps in the road along the way, but the fact that there are still quite a few of us using the software and hardware highlights what a great solution Jeff (and others) created. I've purchased numerous products over the years that have not lasted 10 years cradle to grave. We'll see what the next ten years brings. Happy anniversary!
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2021, 09:29 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,191
Wow, hard to believe that was ten years ago. I doubt there will be many people left in the community in ten years.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2021, 11:57 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 67
I'm still here. Not a contributor at all but a dedicated user.

I've since switched from HTPCs to Shields and Firesticks for my clients.

Still going strong!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2021, 02:50 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 747
I just came over here to check out the forum because I got an email from Schedule Direct to confirm that I did not want to renew my subscription. I am now using Youtube TV as well as Channels (but I'm not using that much of Channels). While I appreciate that STV was opened source, that we got to use it for another 10 years, the work that the community as put into it to make it work with updated technology, unfortunately, it was just time to let my server go. I just couldn't do it anymore. It was a tough and sad decision. However, it is awesome that I can now use YTTV anywhere by just logging into the app or website.

I will always have fond memory of STV and the joy its given my family and myself. But the way technology is today, the cost of technology, it was unfortunately time to move on.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2021, 10:07 AM
w4rh4wk's Avatar
w4rh4wk w4rh4wk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36
still going strong here with my 5 PC clients... I really hope we'll be able to use sagetv with ATSC 3.0
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Ryzen 9 3900; Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AC; Win 10 64bit; Nvidia GTX 1050TI; 32GB; 2 HVR-1250 (OTA HD)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2021, 11:52 AM
Mark57's Avatar
Mark57 Mark57 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OKC
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by w4rh4wk View Post
still going strong here with my 5 PC clients... I really hope we'll be able to use sagetv with ATSC 3.0

Agreed. I've been here since 2007. I lurk and read virtually every post weekly and use SageTV every day. I also hope it survives ATSC 3.0. Sage just works and I've never found anything I like better. Not sure what we'd do if I had to find something different.
__________________
Mark
____________________
Server: Scratch built server, 16GB RAM, Nvida GeForce 8600 GTS, 6 HD Homeruns, 32 TB Storage, Windoz 10 64 bit, Sage 64 bit 9.2.1, Sage HD-100 & 200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2021, 10:56 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
I'm still here. Not a contributor at all but a dedicated user.
Ditto. Been here since 2006. Too lazy to write software these days.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2021, 01:38 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,339
We still use SageTV on a nearly daily basis.

I've been lucky enough that my cable company still offers virtually every channel over cable card service. Once that is gone, I'm not sure what I will do and there is a much greater chance that my SageTV system will go away. But right now I save a ton of money by having a single 6 channel cable card tuner and either HD-300s or Android Firesticks at every TV for local control/playback. I don't have a single cable box in my house and therefore don't pay any rental fees which now adays seem to start at about $12/mo per TV and go up from there.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2021, 02:21 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 347
Been using SageTV since 2010 - started out with two STBs and HD-PVRs. I have been fortunate to have completely DRM free cable tv via cablecard (no STBs) for a few years (Frontier), preceded by mostly DRM free (Verizon) cable tv, but have just cut the cord anyways. Frontier was dropping channels and raising prices.

I started using Channels DVR a few months ago and now have moved to Youtube TV. Channels DVR records YTTV content via TVEverywhere. It has access to all the channels I am interested in and can skip commercials with comskip.

YTTV has its own cloud DVR. The only downside is that the audio for both YTTV in the app or TVE is stereo only. I have two HDHR Quatros, one assigned to Channels DVR, and the 2nd assigned to SageTV, so now, SageTV has been relegated to a backup OTA DVR only.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370/OpenDCT/HDHR-Quatro (OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8)
Channels-DVR:Win10/i3-4340/HDHR Quatro 4K/TVE(YTTV)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2021, 11:54 AM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 165
SageTV forever

Antenna is my world. I'm preparing to move my SageTV to new hardware that supports enough RAM for up to date SAGE 9 64 bit and Java heap sizes. Before doing it I'm looking around at other options for Antenna DVR with Sage features supporting 6 tuners and not finding anything so far.

Also figuring out replacing Windows Home Server features I use daily so I can retire that box. My Sage TV runs on this WHS. It seems at the moment the solution involves a NAS with bare metal backup software such as synology with Active Backup. Supplies backup, data storage and remote access. I guess Sage TV has to run on a separate box. So I need two boxes to replace Windows home server.

Sage TV is simple to use, Always works, Always has way more than I have time to watch recorded and available when I want to watch.

So far Streaming via Nvidea Shield is horribly inefficient compared to using SageTV with HD300. Streaming on Shield or my phone seems to be a Pain in the a.. A zillion apps that are near useless without subscriptions and a pain to access things with horrible remote control features and ads that can't be sped up jumped or skipped. Friend using amazon fire encountered loads of frustration last time I was over. Couldn't get what he wanted us to watch which he paid for to play.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-29-2021, 12:21 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
Also figuring out replacing Windows Home Server features I use daily so I can retire that box. My Sage TV runs on this WHS. It seems at the moment the solution involves a NAS with bare metal backup software such as synology with Active Backup. Supplies backup, data storage and remote access. I guess Sage TV has to run on a separate box. So I need two boxes to replace Windows home server.
I think some of the newer NAS devices can run dockers, you might be able to run the SageTV docker and keep everything on a single box. Depending on the tuners that you are using, you might also have to run the OpenDCT docker, but it would still be all on the same box.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2021, 12:51 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I think some of the newer NAS devices can run dockers, you might be able to run the SageTV docker and keep everything on a single box. Depending on the tuners that you are using, you might also have to run the OpenDCT docker, but it would still be all on the same box.
I believe I've seen mention of dockers in trying to understand the synology products and choosing one. I use the original white HDhomeruns. With the docker solution I'm wondering about ease of setup it and maintaining it over time vs putting sage on a separate windows box with recording drives in it to minimize nic traffic.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2021, 01:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,191
IMO the way to go is SageTV on unRAID. unRAID is a NAS OS and you can more easily pick your own hardware. It requires less maintenance than Windows - I haven't updated mine in a few years which is probably both a good and bad thing. You can run SageTV in dockers and you can run all kinds of other stuff in dockers as well - Plex, Unifi controller, Torrent clients, etc. It works especially well if you are using HDHRs as tuners as they are network devices rather than needing drivers.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2021, 02:15 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
And if you use comskip and/or transcoding, a commercial NAS unit may run out of gas. With Unraid, you have a lot of options in terms of hardware power.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wow - It's been 3 years... SteveW General Discussion 26 07-03-2014 08:43 PM
Who will still be using SageTV in five years? briankeys The SageTV Community 48 07-10-2013 02:19 PM
After 7 years with SageTV, It may just be over mightyt SageTV Software 51 06-19-2011 05:49 PM
SageTV - 2 years - 4 versions - better off? michaeldjcox SageTV Software 53 04-27-2009 12:17 AM
Stable for years now hard crashing Kimper SageTV Software 11 10-27-2007 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.