SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-22-2021, 03:07 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
I'm not a lawyer so...... take with a grain of salt...

You're not stealing anything, you do need a legitimate account with any of the supported providers. As long as you're downloading for personal use and not to share on torrent sites and the lot.

I wouldn't expect the providers to be thrilled and overwhelmed that anyone is downloading from them rather than streaming. In many cases the video and audio quality is better than what the providers will allow you to download. It is not Blu-Ray quality but good enough for TV viewing.

My opinion, it is not all that different from ripping a DVD/BD to disk to watch. Much like one of their other products, .
Playon adds a watermark and this doesn't so not sure if the watermark/disclaimer makes a difference as far as legality.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-22-2021 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-22-2021, 04:04 PM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
They give you a 21 day trial with 10 downloads. So I gave it a try.

I am pretty sure that it is NOT a download. Their "download" takes just as long as it would to play the show. The one major difference is that it is 5.1 sound instead of stereo like PlayOn.
It is 100% download. In the settings there is an option to change the download speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Playon adds a watermark and this doesn't so not sure if the watermark/disclaimer makes a difference as far as legality.
Supposedly, some of the providers are adding some type of watermark as well.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.

Last edited by UgaData; 07-22-2021 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-22-2021, 04:19 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
It is 100% download. In the settings there is an option to change the download speed.



Supposedly, some of the providers are adding some type of watermark as well.
It is super fast. Tested a 2 hour movie took 5 minutes.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-23-2021, 03:43 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
It is super fast. Tested a 2 hour movie took 5 minutes.
You are right. I never went into setting to change the download speed.
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-23-2021, 05:49 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 413
I am just a user and have no idea how the program actually works but they have stated many times in their forum that it is a downloader.

below is link to a sticky in their forum:

__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-23-2021, 07:57 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
I am just a user and have no idea how the program actually works but they have stated many times in their forum that it is a downloader.

below is link to a sticky in their forum:
Maybe it uses the same logic that you use when you download a movie to a tablet for later viewing ... I noticed it post processes the movie probably to put it into a regular mp4.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-23-2021 at 08:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-29-2021, 11:54 AM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 165
SageTV forever

Antenna is my world. I'm preparing to move my SageTV to new hardware that supports enough RAM for up to date SAGE 9 64 bit and Java heap sizes. Before doing it I'm looking around at other options for Antenna DVR with Sage features supporting 6 tuners and not finding anything so far.

Also figuring out replacing Windows Home Server features I use daily so I can retire that box. My Sage TV runs on this WHS. It seems at the moment the solution involves a NAS with bare metal backup software such as synology with Active Backup. Supplies backup, data storage and remote access. I guess Sage TV has to run on a separate box. So I need two boxes to replace Windows home server.

Sage TV is simple to use, Always works, Always has way more than I have time to watch recorded and available when I want to watch.

So far Streaming via Nvidea Shield is horribly inefficient compared to using SageTV with HD300. Streaming on Shield or my phone seems to be a Pain in the a.. A zillion apps that are near useless without subscriptions and a pain to access things with horrible remote control features and ads that can't be sped up jumped or skipped. Friend using amazon fire encountered loads of frustration last time I was over. Couldn't get what he wanted us to watch which he paid for to play.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-29-2021, 12:21 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
Also figuring out replacing Windows Home Server features I use daily so I can retire that box. My Sage TV runs on this WHS. It seems at the moment the solution involves a NAS with bare metal backup software such as synology with Active Backup. Supplies backup, data storage and remote access. I guess Sage TV has to run on a separate box. So I need two boxes to replace Windows home server.
I think some of the newer NAS devices can run dockers, you might be able to run the SageTV docker and keep everything on a single box. Depending on the tuners that you are using, you might also have to run the OpenDCT docker, but it would still be all on the same box.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-29-2021, 12:51 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I think some of the newer NAS devices can run dockers, you might be able to run the SageTV docker and keep everything on a single box. Depending on the tuners that you are using, you might also have to run the OpenDCT docker, but it would still be all on the same box.
I believe I've seen mention of dockers in trying to understand the synology products and choosing one. I use the original white HDhomeruns. With the docker solution I'm wondering about ease of setup it and maintaining it over time vs putting sage on a separate windows box with recording drives in it to minimize nic traffic.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-29-2021, 01:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,191
IMO the way to go is SageTV on unRAID. unRAID is a NAS OS and you can more easily pick your own hardware. It requires less maintenance than Windows - I haven't updated mine in a few years which is probably both a good and bad thing. You can run SageTV in dockers and you can run all kinds of other stuff in dockers as well - Plex, Unifi controller, Torrent clients, etc. It works especially well if you are using HDHRs as tuners as they are network devices rather than needing drivers.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07-29-2021, 02:15 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
And if you use comskip and/or transcoding, a commercial NAS unit may run out of gas. With Unraid, you have a lot of options in terms of hardware power.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-29-2021, 04:53 PM
photon photon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 165
Yes I do use comskip. Good point. So an energy efficient NAS for mass storage, media, bare metal backup and remote access along with a second higher performance computer for Sage recorded TV and processing with comskip makes sense.

I have a lot of catching up learning to do if not installing on windows. Looking at troubleshooting posts here about configuring to use sage on docker I'm not immediately seeing how this will be simpler than installing sage on say, a desktop Linux os or windows.

And yet I read here that there is a docker with sage and comskip already setup... But I don't find it. Wish there was (maybe there is?) a general outline of the steps to do to setup sage on unraid and docker. I'd have no problem downloading and installing sage on windows. I've installed various Linux distros and then not really used them except to poke around and install a few packages. Installing unraid looks similar. I notice unraids limitation with regard to the parity disk being your largest disk and you can never add a disk larger than the parity disk thus I would not want to use it as a NAS. That seems like a huge disadvantage compared to my Brothers experience upping storage on his Synology. There ends my non windows knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-29-2021, 06:47 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
Yes I do use comskip. Good point. So an energy efficient NAS for mass storage, media, bare metal backup and remote access along with a second higher performance computer for Sage recorded TV and processing with comskip makes sense.

I have a lot of catching up learning to do if not installing on windows. Looking at troubleshooting posts here about configuring to use sage on docker I'm not immediately seeing how this will be simpler than installing sage on say, a desktop Linux os or windows.

And yet I read here that there is a docker with sage and comskip already setup... But I don't find it. Wish there was (maybe there is?) a general outline of the steps to do to setup sage on unraid and docker. I'd have no problem downloading and installing sage on windows. I've installed various Linux distros and then not really used them except to poke around and install a few packages. Installing unraid looks similar. I notice unraids limitation with regard to the parity disk being your largest disk and you can never add a disk larger than the parity disk thus I would not want to use it as a NAS. That seems like a huge disadvantage compared to my Brothers experience upping storage on his Synology. There ends my non windows knowledge.
In the end, you need to make whatever choice is best for you. For the record though, I just wanted to mention a few things:
  • Most commercial NAS products run a Linux operating system, with a web gui that you access for configuration and settings.
  • Unraid is built around the Slackware distribution of Linux, with a web gui that you access for configuration and settings. So the user experience for Unraid is not going to be dramatically different from a commercial NAS user experience.
  • You are correct in stating that the parity disk needs to be your largest disk. However, if you want to use an even larger disk in your system, you would simply replace your parity disk with the larger disk and rebuild parity. Then you would add the drive that you replaced to the storage array, thus increasing overall storage space. There is a risk that if a drive went down during the rebuild, you could lose data. I went with a 10TB parity disk, and have yet to need to upgrade to anything larger.
Finally, there is a 30-day free trial, if you want to give it a shot.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-29-2021, 07:43 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Oh, and I forgot one other very important point. I have been using a NAS at home for well over 20 years, I am currently using a seven year old 4-bay QNAP device. I have three bays setup in a RAID-5 configuration, the fourth bay is used for a weekly backup of the RAID-5 array. Now here's the important part: since I have irreplaceable files (e.g. home videos of my children growing up) stored on the NAS, in the event of hardware failure, I can take that single disk out of the fourth drive bay and access all of the files from any Linux workstation. I can have full access to any of those files within 15 minutes or so after the NAS hardware failure. I'm not sure how long it would take me to access files off the disks in the RAID array, nor do I want to find out.

As far as my Unraid server, since I only use it for media files, I am not as concerned about data loss. But, if the parity drive dies, I still have access to all of the files in the storage array. If one of the drives in the storage array dies, I still have access to all of the files in the storage array due to the parity protection. If two drives fail simultaneously, I lose only the data on those two drives, the data on the other drives remain accessible. If the hardware fails, I can either swap in new hardware, or connect the storage array drive(s) to a Linux workstation and I immediately have access to all of the data on that drive.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wow - It's been 3 years... SteveW General Discussion 26 07-03-2014 08:43 PM
Who will still be using SageTV in five years? briankeys The SageTV Community 48 07-10-2013 02:19 PM
After 7 years with SageTV, It may just be over mightyt SageTV Software 51 06-19-2011 05:49 PM
SageTV - 2 years - 4 versions - better off? michaeldjcox SageTV Software 53 04-27-2009 12:17 AM
Stable for years now hard crashing Kimper SageTV Software 11 10-27-2007 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.