SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2006, 11:39 AM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Help ! Can't 'search' in Studio any more

The weirdest thing: the search function in Studion ceased to work in my development STV. If I load the default STV, the search works fine. Here is the exception I get in the log:

Code:
java.lang.UnsupportedOperationException
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.208     at tv.sage.b.j.j(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.209     at tv.sage.b.e.a(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.210     at sage.e.void(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.210     at sage.StudioFrame.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.211     at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.212     at javax.swing.AbstractButton$ForwardActionEvents.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.214     at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.215     at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.216     at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.217     at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.217     at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$ClickAction.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.219     at javax.swing.SwingUtilities.notifyAction(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.220     at javax.swing.JComponent.processKeyBinding(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.220     at javax.swing.JMenuBar.processBindingForKeyStrokeRecursive(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.221     at javax.swing.JMenuBar.processBindingForKeyStrokeRecursive(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.222     at javax.swing.JMenuBar.processBindingForKeyStrokeRecursive(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.222     at javax.swing.JMenuBar.processKeyBinding(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.223     at javax.swing.KeyboardManager.fireBinding(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.224     at javax.swing.KeyboardManager.fireKeyboardAction(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.225     at javax.swing.JComponent.processKeyBindingsForAllComponents(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.225     at javax.swing.JComponent.processKeyBindings(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.226     at javax.swing.JComponent.processKeyEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.227     at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.227     at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.228     at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.228     at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.228     at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.229     at java.awt.KeyboardFocusManager.redispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.230     at java.awt.DefaultKeyboardFocusManager.dispatchKeyEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.231     at java.awt.DefaultKeyboardFocusManager.preDispatchKeyEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.232     at java.awt.DefaultKeyboardFocusManager.typeAheadAssertions(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.233     at java.awt.DefaultKeyboardFocusManager.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.233     at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.234     at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.234     at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.235     at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.235     at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.236     at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.236     at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.237     at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.238     at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
Thu 12/7 12:34:07.253     at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Any idea what this could be ?

Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:56 PM
millers_35 millers_35 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vonore, TN
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to millers_35
This may not have anything to do with what your talking about (cause ur in studio) but last night I was watching a recording on my server/service mode on. And I get the "Connection to the server was lost" screen so I hit the Menu button and in a few seconds it comes back up and the recording starts playing again. So I stopped playback and went to copy the logs just in case you know. I just got thru reviewing them and I seem to be getting similar errors. Not asking for help cause it seems to be working fine now, Just thought I'd point that out.

Miller
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_0a.txt (63.6 KB, 326 views)
File Type: txt sagetvclient_0a.txt (594.8 KB, 286 views)
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+, 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 6400 Ram, 1 X Hauppage PVR-150MCE, HDHomerun, 500GB HD + 1TB HD.
STX-HD100 connected to a Sammy HLT-6187S and Placeshifter.
Software: Vista Business(Server), SageTV 7.0.9, Java 1.6_20.

Last edited by millers_35; 12-07-2006 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:43 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Dirk, my guess is you've got a malformed widget somewhere in your STV that the Search command is choking on. You could find out which widget by binary search: Delete half your code; search; if it succeeds, undo and delete the other half; delete half of what's left and search again; etc.

Have you tried the Search function in my Studio Tools plugin? If that breaks too, then you could use the "Search selection" option instead of deleting to streamline the binary-search process.

Do you have a backup version of your STV that doesn't have this problem? If so, doing an STV Diff might be worth a shot to see if that turns up anything interesting.

Miller, about the only thing your errors have in common with Dirk's is that they happen as a result of pressing keys on the keyboard. Otherwise they're in a completely different part of the code.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:59 PM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Hi Greg,

Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick
Dirk, my guess is you've got a malformed widget somewhere in your STV that the Search command is choking on. You could find out which widget by binary search: Delete half your code; search; if it succeeds, undo and delete the other half; delete half of what's left and search again; etc.
Yeah, that's what I was afraid of ...


Quote:
Have you tried the Search function in my Studio Tools plugin? If that breaks too, then you could use the "Search selection" option instead of deleting to streamline the binary-search process.
I usually only use your search function , that's why I didn't notice this until I now, probably the first standard search I did for weeks... Your search works fine so it's not a huge deal right now (it would be if I couldnt use your tools), but if it's some kind of malformed widget I'm still concerned


Quote:
Do you have a backup version of your STV that doesn't have this problem? If so, doing an STV Diff might be worth a shot to see if that turns up anything interesting.
Yeah I found an older version which does not have the problem, but I made so many changes in the code since then that it will be quite impossible to see anything from the diff. So I guess the binary search approach seems to be the only option right now.


Thanks !

Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2006, 07:41 AM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick
Have you tried the Search function in my Studio Tools plugin? If that breaks too, then you could use the "Search selection" option instead of deleting to streamline the binary-search process.
Greg, it actually did break too, I just forgot to switch to 'search whole file' when I initially tried it. And this was actually good news, since it made the 'binary search' much easier. I found a theme widget reference that didn't reference anything, defined by corresponding "<Proxy...> " defintions in the XML. No clue how they got there, but after deleting those entries everything is fine again.

I say it once again - after installing your plugin Studio work is not the same as it used to be, I could not do without it any more. Especially the safe subtree selection saved me hours and hours of time when porting default STV code to SageMC or doing code cleanup. This really has to make its way into the product at some point. I just wished I had more time for trying to actually make use of the framework and extend the functionality (lots of ideas ) instead of just using the plugin ...

Thanks again,
Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2006, 10:21 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,614
Did you mention this to SageTV? If you still have a copy of the bad STV, they might be interested in seeing it, in case they can figure out what happened & how to prevent it.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.