SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:47 PM
teknubic's Avatar
teknubic teknubic is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
Question To 64bit or not to 64bit

I decided to drop the bomb on a pair of Vbox 151s and an aerial last week so that I could get more out of my projectors' capabilities. What I found out, however, was that the Sage client hooked up to the projector needs to have more than a P3 1Ghz processor with 512MB of memory. I get lots of stuttering and the CPU is pegged. It handles SD with ease. My Sage server is a P4 3Ghz with 1Gb of memory and it plays HD beautifully (but on a 21" monitor )
I'm wondering if anyone is using the AMD 64bit processor on their Sage machine and if so, the 32bit XP or the 64bit? Are there plans to release a 64bit version of Sage? Perhaps there's another alternative I'm not seeing....
I've started ordering parts for the new computer but am holding out on the rest for a confirmed kill on the processor. Let me know your experience.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:07 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
AMD64 processors work great in 32-bit XP, they are powerful as heck and very cool running. Definitely the way to go right now. You really shouldn't worry about upgrading stuff to 64-bit just yet. Currently the only thing you'll gain from going 64-bit XP is a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:18 PM
cummings66 cummings66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 281
Considering the lack of device drivers for many cards you need I'd say it's a major headache that he'll be gaining.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:21 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Sage should/will run on XP64 because there's a 64bit Java available, that's not the problem. Your problem will be drivers for your tuner cards. AFAIK, hauppauge hasn't released drivers for XP64 yet, and hasn't said they're going to.

Unless you're doing some serious work that requires XP64, the slight speed difference probably not worth the concessions you'd have to make.

My $.02, YMMV.
__________________
Give the Meekell STV a try!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:36 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Get an Athlon 64 and then run XP Pro until the drivers/software catch up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:41 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Get an Athlon 64 and then run XP Pro until the drivers/software catch up.
That's the ticket!

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:44 PM
Kanati's Avatar
Kanati Kanati is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 567
ditto
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:12 PM
RedR's Avatar
RedR RedR is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 204
Heya,

As I understand it, Hauppauge is working on the 64bit drivers just hold on they'll be out sood as I hear. I'd think the rest are in the works too as far as other hardware driver support.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:35 AM
Kanati's Avatar
Kanati Kanati is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 567
You won't see that significant an increase in speed by going WinXP64 though regardless of drivers. Not in an HTPC setting anyway. Just stick with WinXP and an AMD64. It'll be plenty fast enough.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:07 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
I'm wondering if this topic should be revisited?

I am looking at this as a Client PC with NO tuners. I just want to run SageTVClient and some 64bit encoding applications.
I would definitely like the speed improvements of encoding in a 64bit OS

Would I just install SageClient and the 64bit Java?
Would I have a problem installing SageClient since it is bundled with the 32bit Java?
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:44 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Considering the lack of device drivers
Not any more there are now drivers for the WinTV PVR 150/500 check out shspvr.com forum

Last edited by SHS; 12-28-2005 at 03:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:47 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,202
Be careful.
I would install dual boot and test for awhile. Boards that have SATA and/or RAID built in can be an issue. Some people just get blue screen. I would start with what works, 32 bit Sage and java and see how it works on 64 bit XP before moving to 64bit java.
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:22 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
This will be on a new PC so I'll just install WinXP 64 and test. If it doesn't work then I'll just wipe it and go 32bit.
Has anybody tried installing SageTV 4 on WinXP 64bit version yet?
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:49 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvd_maniac
This will be on a new PC so I'll just install WinXP 64 and test. If it doesn't work then I'll just wipe it and go 32bit.
Has anybody tried installing SageTV 4 on WinXP 64bit version yet?
I've run the 32-bit version on it, but not with 64-bit java. If you'll give me a bit of time I'll give it a go tho .

(Having trouble pulling down the 32-bit java, soon as I get that sorted I'll give it a shot).
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by heffe2001; 12-28-2005 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:16 AM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
If it works with the bundled Java then I'll be fine with that. I just want Sage to work and be able to encode video.

Thanks
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:17 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Oh it definitely runs on XP64, have had no problems with that at all. I'm still going to try to and see if it'll run with the AMD64 version of Java tho (I'm going to guess that it won't, as the core software expects 32bit java, and it seems that if the program is 32 bit, it runs completely in emulation, without any hooks into the 64-bit parts of XP).
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:03 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Just to let you guys know, I got my expected results, 32-bit SageTV can't use 64-bit Java (doesn't seem to find it there at all). I thought I had read that 32-bit apps can't talk to 64-bit apps, so until Sage has a 64-bit client, it's a no-go. Aside from that, client works just fine on a 64-bit computer with 32-bit Java...

As a side note, there are NO remote control drivers for XP64 currently (even the media center one), so you can't really use XP64 for a regular remote-controlled client (YET, may end up pulling the remote drivers out of Vista64 and see if they work on XP, if so, I'll report back later ).
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by heffe2001; 12-30-2005 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-05-2006, 02:17 PM
etrigan63's Avatar
etrigan63 etrigan63 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 58
64-bit update

I have SageTV 5 running on Windows 2003 server x64. 32-bit java loaded up fine and I have drivers for an ATI Theater 550 PCIe and the USB-UIRT to control my DirectTV D11. SageTV 5 Client runs smoothly on my XP x64 box.

I do not use a remote as the server is pretty much headless and I program it via the client using a mouse.

ISSUES: for some odd reason the server loses connectivity to the tuner card. I do not know if this is a driver issue or that I have a flaky card. I have a PCI Theater 550 to try with and a Hauppage PVR-150MCE (Hauppage's 64-bit drivers have been released). I'm contemplating upgrading to a PVR-500MCE if the Hauppauge drivers work. At this point I'm more interested in stability than picture quality (which is amazing with the Theater 550).

Also is there a file compression module (ala BeyondTV) that will re-encode my recordings as DivX automatically?
__________________
Carlos
Server: HP MediaSmart EX487 + SageTV WHS + HD-PVR
Client 1: Mac Pro (Jan 2008) 2.8GHz Dual Quad Core Xeon + 12GB RAM + nv8800GT video card + SageTV Client & PlaceShifter
Client 2: Alienware Laptop 2.2GHz Core2 Duo + 2GB RAM + SageTV PlaceShifter
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:54 AM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
64bit Sagetv

Is there any chance Sagetv will provide a 64bit version of application?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:57 AM
etrigan63's Avatar
etrigan63 etrigan63 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 58
64-bit update

The weirdness with my ATI 550 turned out to be a flaky card. I replaced it and it works flawlessly.
__________________
Carlos
Server: HP MediaSmart EX487 + SageTV WHS + HD-PVR
Client 1: Mac Pro (Jan 2008) 2.8GHz Dual Quad Core Xeon + 12GB RAM + nv8800GT video card + SageTV Client & PlaceShifter
Client 2: Alienware Laptop 2.2GHz Core2 Duo + 2GB RAM + SageTV PlaceShifter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.