SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #481  
Old 05-09-2021, 03:19 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
Returning to what to do about the images... There are a few considerations:

1) Have the types of images changed since the EPG grabber was originally written? I thought I saw some types in the samples I was sent which are not covered in the code.

2) SageTV now can handle more than just 1 series image and its thumb. We should figure out what is supported and whether we want any other images for series info.

3) For #2, if we add additional series images, I could add an option in Detailed Info, or somewhere, that would allow looking at the larger images, like is done for the pictures of the cast.
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 05-10-2021, 06:28 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,648
I was not aware the size was such an issue. I wasn't sure what the different sizes would be needed for and erred on too big since I assumed it would be scaled and cached if it was too big which shouldn't have been a big deal performance-wise. If they are not being scaled before they hit the extender, I guess we should make some code changes.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 05-10-2021, 06:31 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Returning to what to do about the images... There are a few considerations:

1) Have the types of images changed since the EPG grabber was originally written? I thought I saw some types in the samples I was sent which are not covered in the code.

2) SageTV now can handle more than just 1 series image and its thumb. We should figure out what is supported and whether we was any other images for series info.

3) For #2, if we add additional series images, I could add an option in Detailed Info, or somewhere, that would allow looking at the larger images, like is done for the pictures of the cast.
If we can gather the changes desired and open an issue on github, I'll get working on them and hopefully have something in a few weeks.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 05-10-2021, 09:45 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
If they are not being scaled before they hit the extender
This is just speculation as I don't know know if the images are scaled at the server or the extender. Even if the server was scaling all of the images before sending them to the extenders, if the images are really large then it could still result in a slow down (scrolling through the guide quickly doesn't give a lot of time to scale each image down).
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 05-11-2021, 04:35 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
This is just speculation as I don't know know if the images are scaled at the server or the extender. Even if the server was scaling all of the images before sending them to the extenders, if the images are really large then it could still result in a slow down (scrolling through the guide quickly doesn't give a lot of time to scale each image down).
If they are being cached post scaling, this would be a one time issue. I was trying emphasis the caching.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 05-16-2021, 07:14 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
BTW: It was mentioned to me that perhaps the smaller thumbs and full sized images should default to fit with the extender's UI size, 1280x720, but base the sizes it looks for on a property which could then be adjusted in the UI for anyone using a much larger UI size. The thumbs would be a fraction of the UI size & the larger ones would be no larger than the UI window size.

I could easily add options to adjust the desired size(s) in the STV.
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 05-16-2021, 06:53 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is online now
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 404
I like that idea, and thanks for the recent help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Schedules Direct EPG (not for v9) Slugger SageTV v7 Customizations 851 07-19-2017 07:48 AM
Schedules Direct Plugin Issue rickgillyon SageTV v9 Customizations 20 09-25-2016 12:03 PM
Schedules Direct EPG Plugin: Call for private beta testers Slugger SageTV v7 Customizations 11 01-19-2013 11:59 AM
Schedules Direct EPG Plugin PoC Completed Slugger SageTV EPG Service 71 12-04-2011 12:12 PM
Schedules Direct or what? Ryel SageTV EPG Service 6 01-25-2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.