SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:26 AM
matterw matterw is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to matterw
WHS - To Pool or Not To Pool...

I am putting together a new server with a WHS O/S. There are a number of threads (e.g., like this great one http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37483) and have seen mixed messages about using the WHS Drive Extender (aka, storage pooling) for SageTV Recordings, specifically.

If you have experience using pooling, good or bad, I'd like to hear about it before I go in one direction or the other (btw, leaning towards pooling to take advantage of expansion).

Thanks,
Matt

Last edited by matterw; 02-15-2010 at 08:27 AM. Reason: Add in Pooling for Sage Recordings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2010, 10:58 AM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
I currently use WHS with 2 HD-PVRs and 1 Silicondust HDhomerun recording 2 OTA streams with 4 drives pooled. There have been times when the system could not keep up with DiskIO. This on a quad-core system with 4 gigs of ram.

I believe Sage does a good job with drive management and would suggest keeping some drives separate for SageTV recordings. (This may not work for you but, I could care less if I lost all my recorded TV shows because those are pretty easily recovered)

I am currently working to remap my drive structure so that Sage records its files to its own drives and keep my DVD rips, images, and music on the clustered drives with duplication on, so I do not lose that data given the hours it would take for me to recover.

WHS is fairly modular. You can add and remove drives from the clustered drives pretty easily. (Depending how full the drive is dictates how long it takes to remove the drive) So you can play around to find whatever works best for you.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by JetreL; 02-16-2010 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2010, 11:47 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I use pooled drives. All except the system OS drive are in the pool and formatted to 64k. I do NOT do file duplication. I don't care if I lose TV recordings and I own the DVDs and CDs that are ripped. Photos are also on another PC (as well as music). I have 4 drives varying from 500 GB to 1TB and to 1.5 TB. I add drives as I need them and just connect a 500GB USB drive and tell WHS I want to remove one of the internal 500GB drives. When the files are done moving I just pull out the old drive and stick in the new one. (Either a 1.5TB or 2 TB drive this time.) And then tell WHS I want to remove the external drive from the pool. All the files are transferred back and mostly to the new drive. (I'm usually at 80% full when I get a new drive so that most files transfer back to the new drive.) That is my main reason for using pooled drives since I don't do the folder duplication. I don't have any playback issues with the HD recordings. I'm not doing BlueRay yet so I haven't tested that. But it shouldn't be an issue. I have had 4 HD recordings at once while watching a HD recording on 2 extenders with no issues.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2010, 12:40 PM
farscapesg1 farscapesg1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
I use the pooled drive method... but I'm seriously reconsidering now that I started buying GP drives. I love the drive pool for the reason gplasky mentioned (easy to add space, replace drives, etc.) but I've been unhappy with the performance on my 15EADS drive I added to the drive pool. Of course, since it has the most space available everything is being recorded to it. Considering I run Showanalyzer as TV shows are being recorded, that is a lot of IO traffic on the drives. Running more than one instance of Showanalyzer and trying to watch the Olympics in HD w...a...s....s...t...u...tt...e...r...ing for example I think I've improved the performance by moving the 15EADS to the motherboard SATA port (instead of the Supermicro AOC-SATA-MV8 I'm using in a PCI slot), but that is going to cause problems as I add more drives...

I'm seriously considering picking up another 1.5TB drive to replace two 500 GB RE2s and move them out of the drive pool and do all my recording to them. Sorta defeats my purpose of replacing drives with GP ones to cut down on heat and power though Of course I'm also toying with the idea of replacing the SATA card with a AOC-SASLP-MV8 to take advantage of the higher bandwidth of the PCIE slot... I'm just worried about the GP drives still not being able to handle the IO from multiple recordings/showanalyzer/playback/etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2010, 03:11 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by farscapesg1 View Post
I use the pooled drive method... but I'm seriously reconsidering now that I started buying GP drives. I love the drive pool for the reason gplasky mentioned (easy to add space, replace drives, etc.) but I've been unhappy with the performance on my 15EADS drive I added to the drive pool. Of course, since it has the most space available everything is being recorded to it. Considering I run Showanalyzer as TV shows are being recorded, that is a lot of IO traffic on the drives. Running more than one instance of Showanalyzer and trying to watch the Olympics in HD w...a...s....s...t...u...tt...e...r...ing for example I think I've improved the performance by moving the 15EADS to the motherboard SATA port (instead of the Supermicro AOC-SATA-MV8 I'm using in a PCI slot), but that is going to cause problems as I add more drives...

I'm seriously considering picking up another 1.5TB drive to replace two 500 GB RE2s and move them out of the drive pool and do all my recording to them. Sorta defeats my purpose of replacing drives with GP ones to cut down on heat and power though Of course I'm also toying with the idea of replacing the SATA card with a AOC-SASLP-MV8 to take advantage of the higher bandwidth of the PCIE slot... I'm just worried about the GP drives still not being able to handle the IO from multiple recordings/showanalyzer/playback/etc.
Did you download and run the Drive Balancer utility I told you of in the other thread? Running this will move files among all the drives so that they have approx. the same amount of files on each one including your new one. This should fix your issue with the new drive being mostly empty and being used for all new recordings. Plus WHS will be trying to balance the files slowly in the background and adds to your issue.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2010, 03:26 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
I'm currently using pooled drives. I have 1 x 1TB, 4 x 1.5TB, and 2 x 2TB. They're all formatted to 64K. I use 4 x HDPVR and 3 x HDHR (total of 10 HD tuners). For playback I have 3 x HD100 and 1 x HD200. I have SAV1 doing live detection up to 3 shows at once.

I've had problems in the past caused by one drive in the pool, but it turned out to be a combination of a firmware upgrade for the drive and a marginal SATA cable.

I use Drive Balancer once in a while, but after running it the first time my drives tend to stay more or less balanced. This configuration is working incredibly well as long as I watch out for problems with the drives themselves (like a drive dieing). I need to upgrade the 1TB drive to a 2TB drive soon, but other than that things are great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:13 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I'm also running all of my drives in the drive pool and am quite content with the performance. I currently have 6 WD10EVCS drives and 4 Samsung HD103UJ drives, all in the pool and formatted to 64k. I have 2 HD-PVRs and 4 HDHRs for OTA, as well as run a max of 3 comskip instances on my quad core in the WHS box. Even maxed out, I have never had an issue with disk IO. If you want to see how everything is connected and all the specs, check out my blog linked in my signature.

After saying all that, I will add that I intend to steer clear of any "green" drives in the future because I don't see a benefit to using them. The power "savings" is minimal and may never actually be realized, so I don't see any cost savings ever coming from their usage and, hence, no benefit to the green drive's added cost.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:17 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,379
IMHO, the only reason to pool the drives in WHS is to utilize the duplication function. Personally I do not care to have my recorded shows duplicated. Therefore I do not run my recording drives in the WHS pool. I have these two drives outside the pool.

Sage does a fine job of handling the drives and basically acts as if the drives are pooled anyway. After all, Sage handles which drive it will record to, it scans the drives for media, and it is a seemless experience for the end user. They do not ever need to know the drive letter once it is inputed into the SageTV setup.

For all these reasons, I feel that putting recording drives into the WHS pool is at best a waste of my time and energy, and at worse a potential issue due to the heavy i/o. I'd rather not have these recordings tying up WHS resources.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:33 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
64k is a must but there is no issues with mine having recordedtv in the pool. I don't duplicate it but I want it in the pool so it has all the storage avaliable to it. I have recorded 4 HDTV feeds while running two instance of showanalyzer without any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:55 PM
Spartan's Avatar
Spartan Spartan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 109
I have 3 500GB Seagate drives in the pool. I have duplication active on some shares, but not the recordings directory. I have NOT formatted to 64k blocks because it seemed to risky to try and pull off.

I have a Sage Client & and a HD200, and only see stuttering when I move files (large files) while both clients are running and something is being recorded. This doesn't happen very often.

Normal use is one playback device and 2 HD recordings (perhaps an analog recording too), each with it's comskip and that works just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2010, 09:17 PM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
I have 3x1TB GP dives, 1x1.5TB GP, and 2x1.5TB Seagate drives. I pool all of them and formatted to 64k without issue. Simply follow the guide and it works. I agree that 64k cluster size is a must in order to have trouble free pooled drives.

My main source of data are movie rips and tv recordings. I have 1 HDPVR and 1 HDHR. I serve up 2 HD200s at once and a PCH-A110 thrown in for fun. Flawless operation with 64k cluster and as the author of Drive Balancer, I use that tool on a regular basis to move files around and even up the data utilization.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:15 AM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
I'm with SIC0048 on this one. When I set up my WHS server I just left the recording drives out of the pool. One they were already properly formatted and had recordings on it, so it was easier to add them outside the pool than to try and add them to the pool, and as SIC said Sage doesn't care or show drive letters and file paths.

Plus I felt it was just easier to manage that way. Those drives are for recordings only and Sage can use all of them as it needs to. The pool is for all my other storage with folder duplication for the important stuff (pictures, etc.).

When I finally decide to start ripping my DVDs/BD/HD DVDs to the server I will probably put that in the pool since those drives are easier to share across the network and the content is much more static.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:32 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djc208 View Post
I'm with SIC0048 on this one. When I set up my WHS server I just left the recording drives out of the pool. One they were already properly formatted and had recordings on it, so it was easier to add them outside the pool than to try and add them to the pool, and as SIC said Sage doesn't care or show drive letters and file paths.
Yeah but to me that kind of ruins the purpose of WHS in the pool aspect. By adding the recording drive to the pool you get full access to the entire pool for recordings and if you every time you add more space everything gets access too it (videos,recordings,pictures etc). otherwise if you recording drive is outside the pool and gets full you either have to replace it with a bigger drive or add another drive outside your pool again. To me seems to ruin the purpose of the pool my that is my 2 cents to each his own.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:01 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Yeah but to me that kind of ruins the purpose of WHS in the pool aspect. By adding the recording drive to the pool you get full access to the entire pool for recordings and if you every time you add more space everything gets access too it (videos,recordings,pictures etc). otherwise if you recording drive is outside the pool and gets full you either have to replace it with a bigger drive or add another drive outside your pool again. To me seems to ruin the purpose of the pool my that is my 2 cents to each his own.

I guess I can understand that arguement, especially if your machine has limited space/capacity for hard drives. If it difficult to add a new drive, but easy to replace an existing smaller drive, then I can understand the attraction to pooling those drives. Then you only have to unpool the small drive, wait for WHS to rebalance everything, and then replace the small drive with a large drive.

But I'm lucky enough to have built a relatively new machine that has 8 onboard SATA plugs. I currently have 6 drives hooked up. Two outside the pool dedicated to SageTV (1tb and 750gb) and four drives that I used for the WHS pool (2x 500gb drives (one is the OS drive), 1.5tb, and 1tb). That gives me about 3.5tb of pooled space and 1.75tb of recording capacity for Sage.

I do a pretty good job of deleting shows after I watch them and generally don't archive any shows (but I do have the entire Jericho series saved which takes up a little bit of room). I only recently added the 2nd SageTV drive to ensure enough space to record the Olympics. Since I don't put recorded shows on the pooled drives, my total used capacity of the 3.5tb WHS pooled drives is still pretty low too.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:51 AM
bsquarewi bsquarewi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
An added benefit of using a non-Pooled drive for Sage Recordings (for me anyhow) is that I also use a single 750gb non-pooled drive (64k) to install any additional programs or utilities which I want running either as part of the Sage system or otherwise so as not to crowd up that tiny 20GB C:\ drive.
__________________
Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel E8400 3.0GHz CPU, 2GB RAM, 1xHVR2250
12TB Server Storage: 4x750GB Segate7200, 2x2TB WD, 2x1.5TB WD, 1x1TB WD, 1x1TB Samsung
Server Software: WHS PP3 OS, SageTV v7.0.23, PlayOn
Clients: HD300, HD200
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:25 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsquarewi View Post
An added benefit of using a non-Pooled drive for Sage Recordings (for me anyhow) is that I also use a single 750gb non-pooled drive (64k) to install any additional programs or utilities which I want running either as part of the Sage system or otherwise so as not to crowd up that tiny 20GB C:\ drive.
What does that 750GB drive have to do with recordings? Oh... okay, I think I get it. You ALSO use that drive for recordings, so you have to manage the space yourself and ensure that you continue to have room for recordings and any programs you decide to install on it, right?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:30 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
I guess I can understand that arguement, especially if your machine has limited space/capacity for hard drives. If it difficult to add a new drive, but easy to replace an existing smaller drive, then I can understand the attraction to pooling those drives. Then you only have to unpool the small drive, wait for WHS to rebalance everything, and then replace the small drive with a large drive.

But I'm lucky enough to have built a relatively new machine that has 8 onboard SATA plugs. I currently have 6 drives hooked up. Two outside the pool dedicated to SageTV (1tb and 750gb) and four drives that I used for the WHS pool (2x 500gb drives (one is the OS drive), 1.5tb, and 1tb). That gives me about 3.5tb of pooled space and 1.75tb of recording capacity for Sage.

I do a pretty good job of deleting shows after I watch them and generally don't archive any shows (but I do have the entire Jericho series saved which takes up a little bit of room). I only recently added the 2nd SageTV drive to ensure enough space to record the Olympics. Since I don't put recorded shows on the pooled drives, my total used capacity of the 3.5tb WHS pooled drives is still pretty low too.
Can't say that I agree. I have 10 drives as part of the pool, which are used for recordings, photos, music, DVDs, and general file storage (financial data, among everything else). Many of these folders have duplication turned on, except for the single recording directory I created. I have plenty of room in my case for more drives, but the ability to add and remove drives via WHS is so simple, it seems silly to manage them all myself. I don't want to know, nor do I care, which drives my files are stored on. I'm happy to let WHS figure all that out for me.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:44 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Can't say that I agree. I have 10 drives as part of the pool, which are used for recordings, photos, music, DVDs, and general file storage (financial data, among everything else). Many of these folders have duplication turned on, except for the single recording directory I created. I have plenty of room in my case for more drives, but the ability to add and remove drives via WHS is so simple, it seems silly to manage them all myself. I don't want to know, nor do I care, which drives my files are stored on. I'm happy to let WHS figure all that out for me.
Agreed I have over 16tb and still growing I don't want to worry what goes where.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:50 PM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Yeah but to me that kind of ruins the purpose of WHS in the pool aspect. By adding the recording drive to the pool you get full access to the entire pool for recordings and if you every time you add more space everything gets access too it (videos,recordings,pictures etc). otherwise if you recording drive is outside the pool and gets full you either have to replace it with a bigger drive or add another drive outside your pool again. To me seems to ruin the purpose of the pool my that is my 2 cents to each his own.
True but the reverse also applies. If you set Sage to leave X GB free then if you rip a new DVD to the drive, or come back and upload 2GB of pictures (with duplication). Sage now needs to go delete 4GB worth of shows in order to meet the above space requirement. Hopefully they're shows you don't want.

Neither way is wrong, just shows the benefits and weaknesses of both options.

Maybe I treat my recordings differently, or just don't record as much stuff, but I don't need any more space for recordings. I have two Sage drives totaling about 1.75 TB. Of that probably 40% is stuff I've watched and have Sage set to just delete as more space is needed. The remaining 60% is still almost 400 SD and HD shows (both favorites and IRs) I have yet to watch, and a lot of the IR stuff are older series that play often enough deleting them isn't really a big deal.

My pool is much smaller but still more than sufficient for all my photos (with duplication), music, personal files, and archived recordings and the odd video file.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:58 PM
bsquarewi bsquarewi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
What does that 750GB drive have to do with recordings? Oh... okay, I think I get it. You ALSO use that drive for recordings, so you have to manage the space yourself and ensure that you continue to have room for recordings and any programs you decide to install on it, right?
Yeah, sorry about that. I meant to say that the NON-Pooled drive I use for Sage recordings I ALSO use to install programs on outside the system drive partition.

Each person has different priorities when it comes down to what is it you want your WHS to do. For me, SageTV is just 1 small part of what I use my WHS for and pretty much the only thing I record is Football or use Sage for pausing live TV so the disk space need is minimal. Just a single HVR2250 tuner, not one of the 6+ tuner types. In my drive pool, however, I have several TBs of family home video and photos and DVD/BluRay rips.
__________________
Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel E8400 3.0GHz CPU, 2GB RAM, 1xHVR2250
12TB Server Storage: 4x750GB Segate7200, 2x2TB WD, 2x1.5TB WD, 1x1TB WD, 1x1TB Samsung
Server Software: WHS PP3 OS, SageTV v7.0.23, PlayOn
Clients: HD300, HD200
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drive extender, pooling, storage pool, whs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS Storage Pool Access toricred General Discussion 1 12-07-2009 06:22 PM
WHS, Drive Pool, and 64k cluster size Beefcake550 Hardware Support 27 12-06-2009 06:53 PM
Strange WHS Pool Hard Drive Issues voorhees General Discussion 8 09-18-2009 09:46 PM
WHS and drive pool question -=Jeff=- Hardware Support 2 03-30-2009 07:53 AM
adding full drives to WHS pool, just making sure toony Hardware Support 5 02-25-2009 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.