SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2010, 09:16 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Stepping into new territory

Hey guys. I've been using a stand alone SageTV pc as my main "media center" in my theater room. I have one other TV, but I never watch it so I never had any use for clients or extenders. I love the way my current setup works, however I want to go to a client server setup so I can get a few HD-200's to use around the house.

The trouble I see myself running into is the fact that I have sage running in service mode and everything works fine. I have lots of customizations and am unsure how to configure them on the client PC I will soon be building.

Problems I am trying to prevent.

Fanart. Does it have to be on the server and the client pc?

Customizations in general. Do I have to install sage client the same way I install sage and install all of the stvi's, or will the cient pull the config from the server?

I just want the client server setup to perform the same way it does now with the exception of the server doing the recording and file storage while the client is connected to the tv for media playback including blu-ray discs. I will also be using the client to automate the room with eventghost. I have nearly every aspect figured out except the client configuration with customizations.

Any thougth or advise for my near future project?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2010, 09:28 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Clients are independent for the most part so all stvi's and such must be extracted on and installed on the client seperately from the server.

Any menu.xml and such you have can easily be copied from the server to the client. As well as the current stv you are using but you must have everything extracted it requires.

Extenders are a mirror of the server conifguration (since they run locally on the server anyhow) but they will have their own property files.

good luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2010, 11:17 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Clients are independent for the most part so all stvi's and such must be extracted on and installed on the client seperately from the server.

Any menu.xml and such you have can easily be copied from the server to the client. As well as the current stv you are using but you must have everything extracted it requires.

Extenders are a mirror of the server conifguration (since they run locally on the server anyhow) but they will have their own property files.

good luck
Exactly the info I needed. Is there a place to find out configuration of clients and such? I was just going to copy my sagetv directory and install the client over the current install. I already use the sageclient.properties so that part should be pretty straightforward.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.

Last edited by panteragstk; 05-09-2010 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2010, 11:54 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Exactly the info I needed. Is there a place to find out configuration of clients and such? I was just going to copy my sagetv directory and install the client over the current install. I already use the sageclient.properties so that part should be pretty straightforward.
For the most part, I think that would probably work.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2010, 12:13 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I was just going to copy my sagetv directory and install the client over the current install.
I would not recommend this. The server install includes a ton of stuff that clients don't need and that could actually impair the proper functioning of the client. You'll get a much cleaner end result by doing a fresh install of the client into a new directory and setting up any client-side plugins from scratch. Yes, it's more work up front, but if you run into problems, it will simplify troubleshooting tremendously to know you started from a blank slate and did everything by the book.
__________________
-- Greg

Last edited by GKusnick; 05-09-2010 at 01:54 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2010, 01:08 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,850
I second Greg's comment. Don't copy the server stuff to the client.

As for Fanart, that only needs to be in one place which is probably the server. When you configure the STVi's that use Fanart just point them at the Fanart directory on the server (which needs to be setup as a share.)

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2010, 01:31 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Are you actually planning on running clients (SageTV Client on a PC)? Because your OP only mentions extenders (HD200). If you're only running extenders it's a bit easier because you've got everything installed already (on the server) you just need to reconfigure the GUI settings (which should actually inherit from the server IIRC).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2010, 04:05 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Are you actually planning on running clients (SageTV Client on a PC)? Because your OP only mentions extenders (HD200). If you're only running extenders it's a bit easier because you've got everything installed already (on the server) you just need to reconfigure the GUI settings (which should actually inherit from the server IIRC).
I am going to have one client. There are things I need a client for that an extender just can't do. The rest will be hd200's.

Since the client pulls the fanart from the server I won't need to copy the directory. So I basically need to set up the client from scratch. I wanted to do that anyway to get a nice clean install. I'm trying to get my client to be as fast as possible when moving through menu's so I thought the fanart was stored locally.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2010, 04:24 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
the fanart CAN be stored locally.. you can put it pretty much where-ever you want, as long as you point it there. Each client CAN store it's fanart locally to itself. Just need a mechanism for syncing them all across.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2010, 04:59 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
the fanart CAN be stored locally.. you can put it pretty much where-ever you want, as long as you point it there. Each client CAN store it's fanart locally to itself. Just need a mechanism for syncing them all across.

You will also get better performance with local fanart. Especially true of extenders do not use network location for your server fanart.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2010, 07:48 PM
robmich robmich is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Fan Art

How do you store fan art locally for an extender such as the HD200??

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2010, 08:02 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by robmich View Post
How do you store fan art locally for an extender such as the HD200??

Rob
As long as the fanart is local to the server it is local to the extender.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-10-2010, 08:57 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
the fanart CAN be stored locally.. you can put it pretty much where-ever you want, as long as you point it there. Each client CAN store it's fanart locally to itself. Just need a mechanism for syncing them all across.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
You will also get better performance with local fanart. Especially true of extenders do not use network location for your server fanart.
I think getting the fanart synced would not be that hard. I think I'll try storing it locally to see what kind of speed I will get. I'm going to be using an ssd for the OS drive that will also have the fanart stored on it. That with the rest of the system I plan to build should be a pretty impressive client speed wise. Thanks guys.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"stair-stepping" on diagonal lines? Insyte SageTV Linux 10 02-16-2006 02:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.