SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:08 PM
gibsonpa gibsonpa is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: STL, Mo
Posts: 202
Talking SageTV 7 beta starts on Thursday May 20, 2010!

Wow!

http://www.geektonic.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:09 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Check the geektronic blog, the announcement is up now... With screenshots....

SageTV 7 Releases tomorrow??!?

All I can say is WOW..

I'll be using the default UI again, at least for the time being .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by heffe2001; 05-19-2010 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:12 PM
webwalker's Avatar
webwalker webwalker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 193
Aaaahhh. Nice to know I hadn't bought in to a dead platform.
__________________
SAGE Server 7.0.23 | Java 1.6.0_23
HW: XP32 @ 2.4Ghz Core2Duo/4gb RAM
PVR150 + SAT | HDHR | 1x HD200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:20 PM
gibsonpa gibsonpa is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: STL, Mo
Posts: 202
Looks like some really great things in V7 !! I for sure will be upgrading!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:23 PM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
Now I'm both impressed & depressed That feature list is a little too much. What the heck am I going to complain about now? Hmmm, back to the drawing board, they must have forgot something ...
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) JavaRE 1.6.0_37 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) Win7 x64 Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz 16GB PC3-10600 ECC ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) APC Back-UPS RS 800 STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:37 PM
pedz25 pedz25 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
That looks amazing! And the list of new features is incredible.
Can't wait to install it!!

Great work Sage!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:41 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
here is something to keep you occupied while waiting for the next
beta

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...84&postcount=1
wow, the day i choose to beg for help (since everyone is bored and have enough time on their hands to populate this thread) is the day they announce the long awaited beta...........

hooray for the beta but i'd still appreciate any help you can spare
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:44 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
That was my thought too. I hope it's a sign
Guess you were right! :-)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:49 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Looks like we're paying an upgrade fee again too, 39.95 unless you bought your license since 12/01/09.

To be honest, with all the changes & upgrades, I don't mind a 40 upgrade fee on this one. Just would have to come out while the wife's out of work .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:55 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 463
Something not mentioned that I'm still holding out hope will be included in v7 is support for using better compression through place shifter or multi-thread capability. It would be nice if you could use ATI or Nvidia gpu acceleration to compress to H264 in order to get a better picture out of the same bandwidth in a placeshifter setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:18 PM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by voidpt View Post
Now I'm both impressed & depressed That feature list is a little too much. What the heck am I going to complain about now? Hmmm, back to the drawing board, they must have forgot something ...
I'll refer you to my top 10 list
Quote:
7. Without the UI to use as an excuse SageTV detractors will resort to sabotage
.
.
.
2. The new UI and features comes with high WAF out of the box. With nothing to do, tweakers secretly revert back to V6
Also, I was wrong oh so very wrong about this one, eh? Seems like SageTV V7 can be XBMC
Quote:
8. It won't be 7MC, Boxee, XBMC, etc... so someone will always find something to compare it to
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:24 PM
David G David G is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 126
I'll be the party poopper - sorry

One of the biggest issues with the Sage UI was NOT its skin. The reason it 'looked' antiquated was because of how busy and confusing it was. And it looks like that hasn't changed in the slightest! Look at that first screenshot, OMG, what a freaking mess!

I'm certainly looking forward to the new functionality, but it looks like the high out of the box WAF won't be at the party. How disappointing. I'll reserve final judgment until I see it in action I guess, but my expectations were brutally brought back to Earth with these screenshots.
__________________
D.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:37 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
I think the first screenshot is ok, but the Dr. Who listing looks really busy and can be probably improved with some layout changes.

Overall I am pretty excited about this announcement. The online plugin system is what I was looking for since it will hopefully make experimenting with Sage much less time consuming.

I can't wait to see if there are any improvements to Photos/Music/Online. The announcement doesn't mention much about those and thats where was the biggest lack of polish/usability.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:58 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
I love it!

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:05 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bastafidli View Post
I think the first screenshot is ok, but the Dr. Who listing looks really busy and can be probably improved with some layout changes.

Overall I am pretty excited about this announcement. The online plugin system is what I was looking for since it will hopefully make experimenting with Sage much less time consuming.

I can't wait to see if there are any improvements to Photos/Music/Online. The announcement doesn't mention much about those and thats where was the biggest lack of polish/usability.
Look under News on http://www.shspvr.com/ there are a few screenshot
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:14 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
http://www.shspvr.com/perview/sage7/sagetv7_shot.html

This is excellent, my main suggestions were completely addressed. The top 3 lines from current GUI were compressed to just two which are much more meaningfull. The left side toolbar is gone. The music setup in your screenshot is very similar to my current setup, one column list of artists with albums on right. The list of songs on the far right is nice bonus. Can't wait to get my hands on it to see how is the actual navigation.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:20 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by David G View Post
One of the biggest issues with the Sage UI was NOT its skin. The reason it 'looked' antiquated was because of how busy and confusing it was. And it looks like that hasn't changed in the slightest! Look at that first screenshot, OMG, what a freaking mess!
What are you using currently - the default STV or something else? I'm sure the powers that be are open to constructive suggestions. What exactly don't you like and how would you prefer it to look?

The UI is actually pretty good imo, but there is no question that UI is something of a personal preference thing. The more feedback on the things you like, things you don't like etc - the more chance you'll see something you like down the road whether its from SageTV or a 3rd party developer
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:30 PM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
So for online content I see Launch Hulu Desktop, I assume that's on PC only?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:31 PM
gibsonpa gibsonpa is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: STL, Mo
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by heffe2001 View Post
Looks like we're paying an upgrade fee again too, 39.95 unless you bought your license since 12/01/09.

To be honest, with all the changes & upgrades, I don't mind a 40 upgrade fee on this one. Just would have to come out while the wife's out of work .
I agree 100%. I am glad to pay $40....Sage is such an important part of my family, it is worth that easily.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:35 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by aflat View Post
So for online content I see Launch Hulu Desktop, I assume that's on PC only?
Yes, Hulu Desktop is for computer HTPC clients only. (and is in v6)

Hulu, Netflix & other online videos are available to extender through the PlayOn UPnP plugin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foxtel and SageTV 2010 - Anyone got a working setup? iannbrown SageTV Australia/New Zealand 33 04-26-2011 10:15 PM
SageTV Launcher - Green Button starts VMC once, then SageTV dksagetv SageTV Customizations 4 04-28-2009 04:39 PM
System hang every Thursday without fail... jaminben SageTV Software 18 12-20-2007 07:18 AM
No Data - Just prime time Thursday HD channels Kimper SageTV EPG Service 0 12-07-2006 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.