SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:47 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Hauppauge 1600 Audio Clipping?

I have two HVR-1600's which capture via S-Video and stereo audio. I recently changed back to cable from DirectTv. Previously(D-Tv) once in a while would have the audio clipped. Since I switched back to cable using a Samsung SMT-C5320 STB, the audio always clips ~80% of the time.

I have HD300's for playback, and the stereo out on all (4) of my clients sounds sort of like rumbleing, which I interpret as the audio clipping, it happens on both cards. I shoud add that I have the latest drivers "18drv_28243" and my OS is 2008 R2 Server Standard edition, if that matters.

Is there any way of limiting the input signal with the properties file or registry?
Has anyone else encountered anything like this?

Thanks,
Skybolt

Last edited by Skybolt; 10-21-2011 at 07:51 AM. Reason: Added OS and Driver info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:51 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Does the stb have a volume option? Some of them are able to control the output volume of the stereo outputs. I use directv with my 1600 and don't have that issue. That's pretty strange.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:20 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
I had looked for that option, right now I have it set to "Fixed" and that made no differance. I agree this is very strange but it is so bad at times it almost mruins a show. Watching a dvd or other stored media (not redorded by Sage) works fine, which is why I believe it's the 1600. I also use an HDHOmeRun Prime and that is fine. So I need to believe ffDShow is set up correctly as well. The WAF is declinning quickly ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:59 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 669
I've had this problem too, I fixed it with a registry tweak: http://www.shspvr.com/smf/index.php?topic=10762.0

It might take a few tries before you find a satisfying volume level.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:50 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
I've had this problem too, I fixed it with a registry tweak: http://www.shspvr.com/smf/index.php?topic=10762.0

It might take a few tries before you find a satisfying volume level.
Thanks! Did you use the 5345Gain2 & 3 for the analog in as well? My reg key are 5005 - so I will try this number insted of 5345? I guess it will take some trial and error. Thanks again!

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:09 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 669
You need to create the 5345Gain2 and 5345Gain3 values (as it says in the instructions). I'm not sure what 5005 value you are talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:16 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Ok Thanks, I created the DWords and a value of ~75% (BF), the value of 5005 is what preceeds all of the existing keyvalues instead of 5345. I'll give both a try, and thanks again.

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:43 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
You need to create the 5345Gain2 and 5345Gain3 values (as it says in the instructions). I'm not sure what 5005 value you are talking about.
Yep - the 5345xxxx prefix definetly is the key, even though the other keys start with 5005.

That did the trick, definetly takes lots of tweaking.

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2011, 07:26 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
From Tech Support

I ended up contacting tech support on this issue as the values did not seem linar in the audio response, and I also found scattered information on this but no one had ever posted the tech support information. So here goes:

The Reg Key:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\hcw18bda\Parameters

The DWord parameters names:

dword:"5345Gain2" //BackPanel
dword:"5345Gain3" //FrontPanel
dword:"5345Gain4" //FM

Values for for all:

0x0 = 0dB
0x3e = -1dB
0x3c = -2dB
0x3a = -3dB
0x38 = -4dB
0x36 = -5dB
0x34 = -6dB
0x32 = -7dB
0x30 = -8dB
0x2e = -9dB
0x2c = -10dB
0x2a = -11dB
0x28 = -12dB

all of the above values are in hex so you would enter 28 for the 0x28 value, but make sure Hexidecimal is selected when you enter the dword value.

Also it seems that there are no "in between" values, meaning all values are absolute 0 = 0dB and 3e = -1dB there is no value for say -.5 dB.

I hope this helps some one, as this was a real pain in the *ss for me.

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added 2nd tuner (Hauppauge HVR-1600), no audio on analog, no digital tuner jtimmes SageTV Linux 4 02-02-2010 10:22 PM
audio stream in video is clipping Belgrath SageTV Software 0 10-29-2009 01:01 PM
PVR500 Audio Clipping on 2 Channels sfisher Hardware Support 0 11-28-2005 01:17 PM
Misc probs: DirectX filters, audio clipping, Windows Media Encoder SageFL Hardware Support 4 04-04-2005 12:21 PM
PVR250 Audio Clipping srcurtis Hardware Support 5 01-25-2005 05:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.