SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:32 PM
srcurtis's Avatar
srcurtis srcurtis is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 116
PVR250 Audio Clipping

Hi

It may be some setting that I've unwittingly changed on the satellite receiver but after having upgraded my PVR250 drivers and Sage to 2.2.3/4 I'm experiencing audio clipping. I don't think it's a sage issue, but perhaps a PVR250 driver problem.

I've tried downgrading the Hauppauge drivers but that has not rectified the problem.

Can anyone give me some direction?

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:06 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
steve,

I have the same problem. No luck. I guess you have a digibox!

Frey report that it is a hauppage issue.

I run 2.0.20 for as long as I could because of this.
Last weekend, my 2.0 setup crashed due to corruption and I reinstalled everyting on 2.2.4.
What I did temporarily is run the digibox audio output through a tape deck, the use the recording level to reduce the audio level and all is fine.

For a more permanent solution, I found that keene electronics sells audio line level attenuators for 7GBP each. They have various versions, 3db, 7db and higher.

I haven't ordered yet since because I am not in the UK and the total cost would go to 40 pounds.
I believe that 3db would be about right although for safety I will go with 7db.

I will try to judge from the tape deck levels what the right amount of attenuation is.
If by any chance you have a keene store near you and you try them out to find out which one is the best then please pass on the experience.

Andrew.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:32 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
There is an audio level setting somewhere in the registry for the HP cards... This changed with recent driver versions... Amontillado's web site has some pointers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:37 AM
yoyoman yoyoman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Could you not just reduce the audio level from within your STB ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2005, 04:52 AM
srcurtis's Avatar
srcurtis srcurtis is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 116
Well the key certainly does adjust the problem and may well be the resolution, I'll let you know later on.

Thanks guys.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2005, 05:52 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Steve,

have you tried it and it works? Please let me know.

They key is mainly for the WinTV 2k application.
I tried them all without success for the particular combination ie SageTV 2.2.4 and latest Hauppauge drivers.

There is also an MSPAudio Setting for SageTV but at its lowest setting it is not enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.