SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:02 PM
blwegrzyn blwegrzyn is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
Savetv HD Support requirements

Hello,

Currently I have:
ASUS P4P800-E DELUXE 478 Intel 865PE ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 2.8E Prescott 2.8GHz Socket 478 Single-Core Processor
1G Memory
Rosewill RW5200-256D GeForce FX 5200 256MB 128-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Video

I just bought the LG Black Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner SATA Model GGC-H20L player and I was wondering if above system would have enough power to play blue ray. I know some of the questions may have been answered in in different posts but i will give it a try:

1. What is the minimum requirement for the Video Card to play blue ray?
2. Does the card have to have specific features to be able to play blueray?
3. Can sagetv play blue ray directly?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:09 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwegrzyn View Post
1. What is the minimum requirement for the Video Card to play blue ray?
I'd say an nVidia 8000 series or ATI 3000 series, ideally a 9000 or 4000 series respectively. You probably don't want the bottom model either (though much above that an you won't see any improvement).

Quote:
2. Does the card have to have specific features to be able to play blueray?
It needs HDCP/COPP drivers, but all of the above do.

Quote:
3. Can sagetv play blue ray directly?
No, Blu-ray can only be played in licensed, certified apps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2008, 05:53 PM
blwegrzyn blwegrzyn is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
thank you for your reply,
can sage control external player like windvd or cyberdvd?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2008, 05:59 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
There are plugins/customizations to launch external players, but it can't control them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QAM HD capture choice... Rezolution Hardware Support 4 10-30-2008 07:25 AM
VGA out support on the HD Extender moamoa SageTV Media Extender 2 09-05-2008 10:58 AM
SageTV V6.4.8 Release Candidate is Here! Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 0 08-14-2008 05:21 PM
HD Requirements for Server only (not displaying locally) swift_gti Hardware Support 4 06-23-2008 07:51 AM
Hate to say it, but DirectTV makes me use Sage much less... Shield General Discussion 27 01-03-2008 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.