SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1061  
Old 04-25-2022, 06:57 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 803
Hi All,

I am about to do a new release and I wanted to get some feedback before I pull the trigger. This release will install along side of the production version, so you do not have to worry about it messing up your current setup up. It has a different name with "(DEBUG)" on the end of it.

Link: https://nextcloud.joshandmonique.com...Rg46PBBXQkGSFQ

Here is the changelist

- Made exoplayer playback error message more descriptive
- Added retry on recoverable playback error
- Disabled remux settings when stream mode is not fixed
- Changed the method for getting version name and version code
- Modified Jenkins local copy to publish changelist and name to directory
- Added code for a Subtitle/Closed Caption selection list from the Navigation window
- Rewrote the Android Media Session logic so that it can control playback for ExoPlayer and IJKPlayer.

Note: The closed captions only work if the livetv is not transcoded/remux or altered in anyway. ExoPlayer is very particular about how the closed captions are presented and seems to not work if everything is not perfec :/
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #1062  
Old 04-26-2022, 07:04 AM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Hi All,

I am about to do a new release and I wanted to get some feedback before I pull the trigger. This release will install along side of the production version, so you do not have to worry about it messing up your current setup up. It has a different name with "(DEBUG)" on the end of it.
Thanks for the update. I started testing last night. The retry works great....previous I had to FF/RW to get it to retry. Also the descriptive error can be helpful for future troubleshooting. I still see audio sync problems sometimes when you do large jumps like a commercial skip. To get it back in sync I have to FF/RW. This happens both using dynamic and fixed transcoding.

No matter what I tried I could not get the CC to display. I have tried tunning using native SageTV HDHR support and OpenDCT copy tuner with all MiniClient transcoding off. Both tunning methods will show CC with a HD200. I can get CC working with OpenDCT by extracting CC and using subtitles but the display in SageTV is not the same as native CC. It show subtitles in smaller font and in the middle of the picture compared to CC. Does anyone know how to adjust appearance of subtitles?
Reply With Quote
  #1063  
Old 04-26-2022, 11:54 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 387
I will try the debug version when I can, but in the meantime I just discovered that Exoplayer is now working on my Fire TV 4K sticks. In the past I had to run IJKplayer, but I pulled a new stick out of the box and gave it a shot and Exoplayer works fine.

This is with app v1.10.1 and Fire OS 6.2.8.1 on one stick and 6.2.8.7 on another.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #1064  
Old 04-28-2022, 07:01 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 803
Version 1.11.0 is live in Amazon and Google.

Changelog is accessible here: https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv...r/CHANGELOG.md

Thanks,
Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #1065  
Old 04-28-2022, 12:54 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Version 1.11.0 is live in Amazon and Google.

Thanks,
Josh
Just tried this version on Firestick with ChannelsDVR as a source, playing back a recording that was having seeking issues yesterday and this one seems a little better; I am still seeing FF presses jumping forward and them immediately back to where the press started from, and no 'large button' short press action. Long press seems OK, but not predictable.

Is there some magic combination of settings that might affect this? Another issue may be the signal level that Channels (with TV Everywhere) sees on their experimental local TVE channels; could this affect FF/RW?
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #1066  
Old 05-02-2022, 07:56 PM
Eternal Eternal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 76
is it possible to add the newer transcoding options such as higher bitrate and resolution into the placeshifter client?

since its still stuck at 2000kbps and 480p
Reply With Quote
  #1067  
Old 05-18-2022, 07:00 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
This has been a "problem" that I have had with the MiniClient. Whenever I exit the program by going to the "home " screen of the Android software, if I go back into the SageTV Miniclient, about 75% of the time the menus will have garbled characters. The core of the software works and videos still play (if you can figure out the menu to select them), but the menus are totally unreadable. I have to "force close" the app and reopen it to fix this issue.

If I "exit" sage TV via the SageTV main menu, this problem never appears.

Obviously there is some sort of corruption occurring when the app is not closed properly. Does anyone else experience this bug? Any chance that this bug can be tracked down and fixed? I'd be happy to provide logs or other information.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #1068  
Old 05-22-2022, 04:18 PM
jqweber jqweber is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Revert to previous version?

Running several Nvidia Shields. Updated to 1.11.0, and started having some occasional issues. The previous version 1.10.2 worked much better for me.

Would the following work?

Uninstall current version
Sideload 1.10.2

or would there be stuff "laying around" from 1.11.0 that might mess up 1.10.2?
Reply With Quote
  #1069  
Old 05-22-2022, 04:41 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqweber View Post
Running several Nvidia Shields. Updated to 1.11.0, and started having some occasional issues. The previous version 1.10.2 worked much better for me.

Would the following work?

Uninstall current version
Sideload 1.10.2

or would there be stuff "laying around" from 1.11.0 that might mess up 1.10.2?
I think I might have found the issue causing the random crashes. I think that there is an issue with the Media Session object in Android that is causing the crashes. I enhanced media sessions in the last version. It does not like when I update the playback state to often. This is my theory at least. When it crashes there is not info at all on why it is crashing, so I am left making a best guess to what might be causing it. I have a fix I am testing, but it is hard to reproduce since it is random. Hopefully in a week or two I will have a new version out.

If you uninstall and install 1.10.2 you should be fine. You will most likely loose any settings changes you made.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.