SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2021, 05:44 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,158
HDHR won't show up

I've been using SageTV since 2008 for all the reasons but mainly as an OTA DVR. I've used HDHRs the entire time. I use two dual-tuner units, and they always just worked. When one would suddenly stop working, I would find a fried wall wart power supply, replace it, and be back in business. Maybe 3 or 4 times in 13 years I had to reboot the HDHR and/or my network switch and/or my server, but everything always came back online. One eventually died and was replaced with a new model, but the other is original, 13 years old.

Yesterday while watching NFL games (live), suddenly my signal disappeared. I tried rebooting the above items to no avail. I ran out of time to investigate but am trying again this evening. It appears the other original HDHR has given up the ghost (not just the power supply but the whole unit). That's understandable, but...

SageTV can not find signals in the one unit that is still working. I used the HDHR utility and confirmed the unit still working, getting channels, and I can open them and play them (through VLC) on my server. But Sage just gets "no signal". I rescanned the channels in Sage and got no channel signals found.

Anyone ever seen this happen? And anyone have any ideas how to fix it?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2021, 07:59 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 394
Did you try letting the HDHR setup program rescan the channels, then have SageTV scan? I believe there's a dependency on the HDHR configuration being set properly in the Setup program.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2021, 07:57 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,158
Following up, I did the scan in the HDHR software (I had forgotten that there was an interface for management of the HDHR separate from the UI for viewing channels and such). That made the working HDHR show up again in Sage.

The other one appears dead though it might be the power supply. I have a new one ordered and on the way (I thought I had a spare... dang...).

If the HDHR is actually dead, I was sad to find that SiliconDust has killed off all their "plain old tuner" devices (which were lower cost) and apparently are only selling the newer models with DVR capabilities built in, etc. EBay time, I guess.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2021, 09:30 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Following up, I did the scan in the HDHR software (I had forgotten that there was an interface for management of the HDHR separate from the UI for viewing channels and such). That made the working HDHR show up again in Sage.

The other one appears dead though it might be the power supply. I have a new one ordered and on the way (I thought I had a spare... dang...).

If the HDHR is actually dead, I was sad to find that SiliconDust has killed off all their "plain old tuner" devices (which were lower cost) and apparently are only selling the newer models with DVR capabilities built in, etc. EBay time, I guess.
I have an original HDHR that I'm not using anymore, if you want it.

I got a Quad for less cabling and the tuner is a bit better, which helps since I'm in a fringe area.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2021, 01:02 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
I have an original HDHR that I'm not using anymore, if you want it.

I got a Quad for less cabling and the tuner is a bit better, which helps since I'm in a fringe area.
PM sent. Thanks.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HDHR device unveiled HDHR Prime 6 wayner Hardware Support 22 01-22-2018 05:39 AM
HDHR Quatro Performance vs. legacy HDHR texneus Hardware Support 10 01-15-2018 07:47 AM
SageTV shows rating as TVM for kids show imported as TV show sacrament055 Batch Metadata Tools 0 03-01-2016 08:24 PM
HDHR Dying - Is HDHR Prime any differnt for OTA other then 3rd tuner personalt Hardware Support 2 11-19-2012 03:50 PM
Issue with HDHR (HDHR works fine) -=Jeff=- Hardware Support 1 05-03-2009 10:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.