SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2681  
Old 09-25-2019, 06:29 PM
CarlR's Avatar
CarlR CarlR is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Hi - I'm looking to add 2 WinTV-DCR-2650 boxes for use with SageTV.
These connect to the PC via USB, not over the network, so do I need to use OpenDCT?
I'm a little confused as I've seen a few (very old) threads talking about using OpenDCT with the WinTV-DCR-2650, but it seems like OpenDCT is just for tuners that are connected over ethernet (like the HDHomeRun OTA tuners I have)
Reply With Quote
  #2682  
Old 09-25-2019, 08:03 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlR View Post
Hi - I'm looking to add 2 WinTV-DCR-2650 boxes for use with SageTV.
These connect to the PC via USB, not over the network, so do I need to use OpenDCT?
I'm a little confused as I've seen a few (very old) threads talking about using OpenDCT with the WinTV-DCR-2650, but it seems like OpenDCT is just for tuners that are connected over ethernet (like the HDHomeRun OTA tuners I have)
I have never tested with that tuner, but as I understand from others descriptions, it presents itself as a network device via the USB port and it uses the HDHomeRun protocol. If that's the case, you should be able to use OpenDCT to interface with it.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2683  
Old 09-26-2019, 01:36 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Quote:
The best way I dealt with these channels was to actually use FFmpeg to transcode just music stations. I created a profile specifically for this purpose (ultrafast_mc) that only picks up stations that look like music stations. All other stations are just remuxed like normal. By transcoding, it's basically just adding all of the interframes that don't exist normally on music channels and makes them much more compatible.
Thanks for the note. How do you use the ultrafast_mc profile?

Change
Quote:
consumer.dynamic.channels.ffmpeg=
consumer.dynamic.channels.raw=801-850
To:
Quote:
consumer.dynamic.channels.ffmpeg=801-850
consumer.dynamic.channels.raw=
Will that tell it to use the ffmpeg on my music channels 801 to 850?

How will it engage/use the ultrafast_mc profile?

What would I look for in the opendct logs to see that the ultrafast_mc profile was being used?

Sorry for all the questions, haven't really tried doing anything with opendct except for using the defaults.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #2684  
Old 09-26-2019, 05:56 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,508
Set the software transcoding profile by changing sagetv.device.<unique_id>.transcode_profile to one of the available profiles are stored under C:\ProgramData\OpenDCT\config\transcode on Windows and /etc/opendct/conf/transcode on Linux. See profile_example.properties for help on how you can create your own. Do not include the .properties extension when setting the profile.

So you would change set the transcode_profile profile per device. Unfortunately, I never set it up to have profiles per channel. It's an interesting idea, but I think I never did it because I thought it would be better to have the profiles identify content instead of putting that burden on the user.

e.g.
sagetv.device.<unique_id>.transcode_profile=ultrafast_mc
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2685  
Old 10-11-2019, 08:54 PM
technazz's Avatar
technazz technazz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
Posts: 474
Recordnings that don't play until finished

Iv'e Been using the generic pipe with IPTV streams for a while. If you can play certain recording until they are finished use the following setting in the sage.properties file

skip_internal_format_parser=true

I found it here

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...hed#post620783

Chris
__________________
SageTV V9.xx 2 x HD300's, 2 x Nvidia Shields Running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #2686  
Old 10-15-2019, 07:02 PM
CarlR's Avatar
CarlR CarlR is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Originally Posted by CarlR
Hi - I'm looking to add 2 WinTV-DCR-2650 boxes for use with SageTV.
These connect to the PC via USB, not over the network, so do I need to use OpenDCT?
I'm a little confused as I've seen a few (very old) threads talking about using OpenDCT with the WinTV-DCR-2650, but it seems like OpenDCT is just for tuners that are connected over ethernet (like the HDHomeRun OTA tuners I have)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I have never tested with that tuner, but as I understand from others descriptions, it presents itself as a network device via the USB port and it uses the HDHomeRun protocol. If that's the case, you should be able to use OpenDCT to interface with it.
Hi - Thanks for the reply. I've managed to configure SageTV and OpenDCT and have 2 WinTV-DCR-2650 connected via USB.

Recordings seem to work ok for a while, but eventually I will get a System Message in SageTV saying that "device input <one of the DCRs> stopped producing data while recording ...". It is not always the same recording unit or the same channel.

Rebooting the DCR does not fix the problem. The last time I tried restarting the OpenDCR service and then rebooting the DCRs, and that worked. Not sure what this means, but just offering it as a data point.

Do you have any suggestions for further debug? I've looked through the windows error logs (running W7) and nothing jumps out at me, but I don't really know what I am looking for. I'm not sure it makes a difference, but I have 3 HDHR dual OTA tuners that are connected to the same PC using ethernet - and they are not being managed by OpenDCT. I'm using the HDHR software for them. Could that be causing a conflict?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Carl
Reply With Quote
  #2687  
Old 10-19-2019, 11:11 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Just an FYI in my area they did the repack I was getting no signal on most of my OTA channels on my connects .. A rescan in the web page fixed this.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 10-19-2019 at 11:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner & SageTV nyle Hardware Support 4 02-17-2009 10:12 PM
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner rajczi Hardware Support 4 01-14-2008 08:24 PM
ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner dadams Hardware Support 4 01-09-2007 10:55 AM
Digital Cable - one guide - need HD on one tuner reg tv on other Kimper SageTV Beta Test Software 14 11-27-2006 08:15 PM
Multi-tuner Digital Cable mlbdude SageTV Software 0 06-26-2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.