SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2016, 07:42 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Ubuntu 64 Install

Any post a reg install doc for SageTV Server Install 64x with latest ver with out all using the GitHub from stuckless ?.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2016, 05:15 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Any post a reg install doc for SageTV Server Install 64x with latest ver with out all using the GitHub from stuckless ?.
Not exactly sure what you are after... to just "install" sagetv, you can download the BinTray deb package and then install it, and you are done.

Setting up IR blasting and comskip, etc, these are all somewhat tedious, and not really a part of the install, but rather the post installation configuration (if you need/want them).

You can also run the Docker image directly on ubuntu and it would come with the added benefit of having comskip configured. Configuring IR blasting would still require some effect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2016, 09:49 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Never mind I guest I miss the v2 (Basic Linux V9 Build and Walkthrough - V2) as ver 1 from SageWizdom was jump all over place
So from look of it look like I have fellow step3, 5 thur 8 and just update commands to ref the latest ver of sagetv deb
I just for test WinTV-quadHD

Last edited by SHS; 11-21-2016 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2016, 09:54 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
You can also run the Docker image directly on ubuntu and it would come with the added benefit of having comskip configured. Configuring IR blasting would still require some effect.
I realize this isn't really a sage question, but what's the (estimated) performance hit for this? Running docker + sage must consume more resources than just running sage alone. Is it generally a small hit?
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2016, 10:21 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
I realize this isn't really a sage question, but what's the (estimated) performance hit for this? Running docker + sage must consume more resources than just running sage alone. Is it generally a small hit?
In short, you likely can't tell the difference... but here's a much better explained response

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...cker-container
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2017, 06:02 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
You can also run the Docker image directly on ubuntu and it would come with the added benefit of having comskip configured.
Just saw this... This may be the solution for my brother as getting unraid isn't an option.

Could you help me with some of the commands? from here: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63165


docker run -d --name sagetv-server \ <- so that names it so it's not some random named container right?
-v /home/seans/unRAID/mnt/user/sagemedia:/var/media \
-v /home/seans/unRAID/mnt/user/mediaext:/var/mediaext \
-v /home/seans/unRAID/mnt/user/apps/sagetv3:/opt/sagetv \
-v /home/seans/unRAID:/unraid \
--net host \
--env PUID=1000 \
--env PGID=1000 \
--env VIDEO_GUID=19 \
--env OPT_GENTUNER=Y \
--env OPT_COMMANDIR=Y \
--env OPT_COMSKIP=Y \
--env JAVA_MEM_MB=768 \
--env VERSION=latest \
--env OPT_SETPERMS=Y \
--privileged \ <- This gives it more access to the system? for remote access as far as I can tell?
-t -i stuckless/sagetv-server-java8

I'm most puzzled by the -v command I bolded - what would the equivelent be for ubuntu? btw the ubuntu user is 'sagetv9'

Thanks all

Edit: presently looking through the 11 page post i referenced, maybe it's in there
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300

Last edited by ThePaladinTech; 05-31-2017 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2017, 02:11 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
the -v option is used to map an actual host folder to a folder within the container. What that bolded one does, is map actual folder /home/seans/unRAID to /unraid inside the container, so sagetv could find any file under the /home/seans/unRAID folder beneath it's own /unraid folder... Technically, the only volume mapping (-v option) that would be required for sagetv would be mapping the server folder (/opt/sagetv) and a share used to access recording and import folder locations (/var/media).

Internally, I believe sage defaults to the following paths:
/opt/sagetv -> SageTV main folder
/var/media/tv -> SageTV Recordings folder
/var/media/videos -> Video Import folder
/var/media/pictures -> Picture Import folder
/var/media/music -> Music Import folder
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2017, 04:50 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
You can ingnore -v unraid option since I use that to better mimic what an unraid filesystem looks like when I doing testing.

--priviledged is used so that it can expose the necessary ports with mapping them (it is required)

And yeah, that first bolded part is so that you give it a good name which makes it easier if you need to run docker logs etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: Install SageTV PlaceShifter on Ubuntu 10.10 Desktop 32-Bit bcjenkins SageTV Linux 5 10-26-2012 09:42 AM
Moving sage install to Ubuntu 11.10 amd64. kbyrd SageTV Linux 5 11-14-2011 08:43 AM
Install fails w/ ubuntu thegodfaza SageTV Linux 2 01-10-2010 09:19 AM
64 bit Ubuntu install problem. marcusjohn SageTV Linux 0 10-04-2008 12:53 AM
Install Sage on 64bit Ubuntu (7.10) uggie SageTV Linux 2 11-13-2007 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.