SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2016, 07:36 AM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
[SOLVED] Android miniclient; fuzzy/corrupt video when remote transcoding

Update 9/21/2016: Solution: Checked the box "Animations Disabled?". More explanation below.

Hi,

I finally got around to trying out the Android miniclient on my Nexus 6P (still on marshmallow) connecting to my V7 server. Playback works great on my local lan when no transcoding occurs. However, I only get fuzzy video and corrupted overlays when trying to play remotely over LTE with server transcoding. Audio works fine.

It happens for both OTA mpeg2 and HDPVR H264. I've tried all combinations of both players, streaming mode, and "use native resolution". Nothing has any affect. I do see different transcoding parameters being used by "SageTVTranscoder" when I change the streaming mode.

I'm attaching screenshots from my phone.

Thanks,
Sean
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20160919-214925.jpg (759.9 KB, 112 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20160919-214932.jpg (558.0 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20160919-214954.jpg (663.9 KB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20160919-215004.jpg (551.8 KB, 73 views)

Last edited by redondo_se; 09-21-2016 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Found solution
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2016, 08:10 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 725
Hi,

Just wondering what remote you are using with the Nexus Player and how you have mapped the keys for the mini-client?

Thanks,
John
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2016, 08:11 AM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
Hi John,

I'm using my Nexus 6P phone, not a nexus player.

Thanks,
Sean.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2016, 10:38 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,591
I don't know of an easy way to test this... I certainly can't use my LTE data for testing ... I only have 500mb a month

I guess the first step would be to be see if the issue is what SageTV is producing (in terms of the video).

Until you play a video, is the UI ok? Or is the UI appearing messed up right from the start?

This almost looks like a GL viewport sizing issue... I think the screen dimensions on the Nexus 6p is quite large. I wonder is sagetv is sending me some screen resizing command that I'm not handling correctly.

Do you have issues on local lan using the 6p, or just over LTE?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2016, 11:10 AM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
Hi Stuckless,

The UI is fine before I start playing a video over LTE.

When I'm connected by WiFi at my house, the UI and video both work fine. I can tell that the server is not doing any transcoding by the absence of "SageTVTranscoder.exe" running.

I've always noticed that with the windows placeshifter client that if you connect in the local lan you don't have to log in with a placeshifter user and password. If you connect externally then you have to log in. The same holds true for the android client.

Is there a way to force sage server to do the log in and transcoding when connecting from the local lan? I suspect if I can do this the results would be the same, i.e. fuzzy video and corrupted UI.

I noticed that the output video is mpeg4, from the SageTVTranscoder parameters. I wonder if the results would be different with H264.

Thanks,
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2016, 07:41 PM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
I just connected by using an ssh tunnel through a microsoft azure VM and I get the same results as connecting over LTE from outside my network, i.e. fuzzy/corrupt video. So that rules out the LTE connection as the cause of the issue.

(nexus 6p on home wifi) --ssh--> (azure VM) --port forward--> (home sage server)

Thanks,
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2016, 07:56 PM
Korny Korny is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 87
To get remote video working for me I disabled native resolution and tmobile's bing on. Not sure which one was causing my issue on my nexus 6
__________________
Intel I7 4790k @ stock speeds, 32 GB of ram. 8TB of recording space.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2016, 07:37 AM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
Found Solution

So the only option I didn't try to tweak was the "Animations Disabled?" checkbox. The help text for that option led me to believe that it wasn't applicable to me:

"Enable this if Animations are disabled in SageTV. This is fix some rendering issues when Animations are disabled."

I interpreted that as only being applicable if you had animations disabled elsewhere, i.e. in the SageTV server, which I don't.

Checking that box fixed the problem for me and I can now stream over LTE.

Korny, I have t-mobile and it's working fine with bingeon enabled. It also works without disabling native resolution.

My only lingering problem is trying to resume a show from the last watched position usually results in a black screen. The only way to get it to play is to set it to watched, then unwatched so it starts over at the beginning.

Thanks,
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-2016, 05:40 PM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Question Same issue with Galaxy S5 / Tab A

Hi Folks:

Sorry to jump in, but this was the first thread I found that talks about the problem I am having with Samsung Galaxy S5 and a Tab A. Screen shots look just like what I get, although on the S5 I do get video with a "haze" over it - like every other pixel is white. The "animations disabled" is this a setting at the Sage TV server? or is this something particular fo the Nexus 6? Anybody got remote video working on the S5 or Tab A?(The UI works fine on both - just the video craps out)

Best regards, Dave Melnyk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-03-2016, 07:50 AM
redondo_se redondo_se is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmelnyk View Post
Hi Folks:

The "animations disabled" is this a setting at the Sage TV server? or is this something particular fo the Nexus 6?

Best regards, Dave Melnyk
It's a setting in the android miniclient software. Click the gear icon in the miniclient main screen before you connect to your sage server.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-10-2016, 08:53 AM
gprichardson1 gprichardson1 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 58
Similar problem on Nexus 7 (2013)

I hadn't used the mini client in a long while (since betas) and just installed it from the Market. On my local LAN it works fine, however if I'm on an outside network I get the same problems as the OP/Sean as you can see from my attached screenshot. The UI still works fine; playback is the problem.

I went into the settings and disabled the animation, and it got rid of that problem, but now when I play back a video I just get a black screen. So by fixing one problem I've apparently run into another problem. Or maybe it's the same problem showing itself in different ways.

I've tried playback from several outside networks so I don't think it's a restriction on the remote networks.

Is there anything on the server, or even the Nexus 7, I can look at that might clue me in on what's going on?

-Gary
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nexus7-screen.jpg (136.0 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-10-2016, 10:51 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by gprichardson1 View Post
I hadn't used the mini client in a long while (since betas) and just installed it from the Market. On my local LAN it works fine, however if I'm on an outside network I get the same problems as the OP/Sean as you can see from my attached screenshot. The UI still works fine; playback is the problem.

I went into the settings and disabled the animation, and it got rid of that problem, but now when I play back a video I just get a black screen. So by fixing one problem I've apparently run into another problem. Or maybe it's the same problem showing itself in different ways.

I've tried playback from several outside networks so I don't think it's a restriction on the remote networks.

Is there anything on the server, or even the Nexus 7, I can look at that might clue me in on what's going on?

-Gary
I assume that when something something other the Android MiniCient (ie, HD300, or placeshifter), that it all works well?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-10-2016, 12:14 PM
gprichardson1 gprichardson1 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 58
Yessir, everything on my home LAN works - HD200, HD300, SageClient on my Windows 7 laptop. Even my Nexus 7 on the LAN works. It's just when I get outside of my LAN that playback goes haywire.

Just for the heck of it I just installed the mini client on my LG G3 phone and it exhibits the same problem as the Nexus tablet when trying playback remotely.

UPDATE: I had forgotten to turn animation off on my LG G3. Once I did that I was able to play back recordings on my phone. So I guess that means there's something funky between the Nexus 7 and the mini client.

-Gary

Last edited by gprichardson1; 11-10-2016 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android MiniClient and Audio Passthrough stuckless SageTV Clients Development 10 11-30-2016 10:39 AM
Android MiniClient 1.0.5 - Released stuckless SageTV Clients Development 11 11-16-2016 01:32 PM
Android Miniclient Screen Orientation snorth87 SageTV Clients Development 3 08-02-2016 08:57 AM
[Android MiniClient] Now in BETA stuckless SageTV Clients Development 487 07-03-2016 03:55 PM
[Android MiniClient] Need a better start screen stuckless SageTV Clients Development 16 01-29-2016 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.