SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:52 AM
BK_mss BK_mss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19
can't play youtube online content?

I just installed my new HD200, so my total experience is only about 2hrs and this is my first post. It's plugged into my LAN through a netgear GS108T switch and accessing media from an HP MediaSmart LX195 server. Output is through the component ports. Setup was seamless with the default settings, and I followed the instructions and updated the firmware as a first step. Overall I am very impressed so far! I also purchased SageTV server software, but I have not yet installed it and I'm initially using the HD200 just in standalone mode.

One issue I'm having is that I cannot play YouTube videos in the online content area. I can see the thumbnails and categories and get the lists, but when I attempt to play a specific video I get an error "unable to determine the video file to download."

In the case of many Google videos, the error is "Video does not have MPEG4, FLV or AVI file type."

Other online content seems to work fine for me.

Is there a solution for the youtube videos??

Thanks!

BK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:13 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Did you upgrade the firmware on the hd200 to the latest?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:54 AM
BK_mss BK_mss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Did you upgrade the firmware on the hd200 to the latest?

Gerry
Yep. I don't have the version number handy, but I updated the firmware as one of the first steps per the box insert, and then later I ran the "check" function again and it indicated that I was up to date.

BK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2009, 11:11 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Have you checked those exact same vids on the YouTube page? I have seen this happen quite often, and usually it's a result of the vids being removed by YouTube (usually DMCA violations and such). They still show up on video searches, just cannot be played. I think this is usually the issue.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2009, 11:38 AM
BK_mss BK_mss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Have you checked those exact same vids on the YouTube page? I have seen this happen quite often, and usually it's a result of the vids being removed by YouTube (usually DMCA violations and such). They still show up on video searches, just cannot be played. I think this is usually the issue.
Good point - I'll give that a try to confirm. I initially tried about 15 youtube videos through the HD200 and all of them failed with the same message.

BK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:45 PM
shill shill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
I've got the same problem.. Just hooked up my brand new HD-200's and got everything working off the server, upgraded to the latest firmware, and no love from youtube at all.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:53 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I also saw this issue today. My impression is that there is probably someone missing from the configuration telling Sage how to play or what types of files. Some of the messages I saw indicate that the video was not one of 2 or 3 types. I very seldom view on-line videos so I did not look into it. I was just curious about it.

I also encountered one video that said it needed to be downloaded before it would play. It stopped at 21% downloaded. I suspect the HD200 did not have enough memory to play it.

I did find some on-line videos that played fine.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:55 PM
shill shill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
I've been seeing it for the last week or so with my trial client that I was playing with while waiting for the HD-200's to arrive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2009, 06:06 PM
BK_mss BK_mss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19
I take some comfort in the fact that I am not alone in this!

BK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 11:54 PM
BK_mss BK_mss is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19
Setup the SageTV add-in on my WHS server...same issue with much of the online content, particularly youtube.

BK
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-15-2009, 08:16 AM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Online Services (youtube, Google) not Playing Online Videos Anymore

2 days ago, I tried to show off my system to a friend by downloading a couple of Online HD videos from Youtube. The HD 200 shows the video list after download using my search criteria. If does not matter which one I pick, I got the "ring of death" in the middle and very quick got the message "unable to determine the video file to download". I usually got the "video does not have an mpeg4, flv, or avi file type" on some videos but even the ones I use to watch online now are giving me this error! MY server is running version 6.5.9.204, java version 1.6.0_10 heap size 265/266. Extender is on firmware version 20090814 1. I can watch the online videos on the server via the web browser either in youtube and/or google. Thanks in advance fro all the support.

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-15-2009, 11:59 AM
davidjade davidjade is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 45
I just started seeing this as well. It has been working fine until the last few days. I now cannot play any YouTube videos at all. I have changed nothing on my setup. It just stopped working.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-15-2009, 01:47 PM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Same here. Although, a few days ago "some" videos would play, but most would not. Now it seems none will play. I'm running the latest version of SageTV and the latest firmware on my HD200.

UPDATE: Apparently some videos do still play but they are few and far between.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV

Last edited by TakeFlight; 08-15-2009 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-15-2009, 04:21 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
I agree with take flight. I opened a thread on the SageTV media extender forum early this morning. Same situation as other users above. I have made no changes to the system and just upgraded to the newer firmware today to no avail. the kids use to love this feature!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-15-2009, 11:05 PM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
I have the same issue right on my SageTV media player. I'm not using server mode, no clients, no extenders. Things that used to play I now get these errors. I'm using the latest version of SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:13 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
We know about the issue & will be looking into the cause & solution.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-17-2009, 03:56 AM
reeven reeven is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 125
same problem here, sagetv mc, tv-tuner.
For youtube 18 year content you need to sign in youtube ?

How Sage TV play these video with sexual content for exemple? You need to log in or something?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-17-2009, 09:04 AM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Thanks OPUS4 for looking into this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-17-2009, 10:31 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
An online video properties file update has been created which fixes this issue, or at least it works on my system.

Depending on when SageTV last checked for an update on your system, it could be downloaded to your PC any time over the next 24 hours. (SageTV checks for an update once per day after you jump to the Main Menu.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-18-2009, 12:08 AM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Working great so far. Thanks!
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
youtube


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"video does not have MPEG4, flv or avi file type" slimyosra SageTV Software 10 12-17-2008 12:58 AM
RE: "video does not have MPEG4, flv or avi file type" toony SageTV Software 1 12-11-2008 06:03 PM
"Play other video file" missing in 6.3.8 brewston SageMC Custom Interface 3 10-27-2008 09:00 AM
How to recognize "other" video file types wkoperwhats SageTV Software 2 03-04-2007 06:25 PM
Pure Video "Smart Mode" Polypro SageTV Software 4 12-09-2005 05:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.