SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2019, 10:31 PM
Jackass Jackass is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
Amazon FireOS & Placeshifter Mini-Client

There have been several random discussions in the forums the past 2-3 years, but haven't seen a consistent workable solution yet. Has anyone had any luck fighting the Sage login screen and the Amazon keyboard for the placeshifter client?

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65990
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...t=63637&page=3
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65915

Fire Tablets
- the login screen pops up and immediately the Android/Amazon keyboard appears
- I can type in my username just fine
- I cannot advance to the password field without dropping the keyboard
- Once keyboard is dropped, it doesn't come back and therefore can't type password

FireTV/Stick
- the login screen pops up and immediately the Amazon keyboard appears
- once the keyboard appears, there is no way to escape, enter, tab, etc
- only option is to exit Sage at that point

We take our FireStick with us on vacation and it would be awesome if we could access Sage from it. Currently we can only access Sage if we bring a full laptop or use an Android phone. Bring our MiBox won't be nearly as handy dandy, especially since it kind of sucks for access to HBO and Prime.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2019, 06:58 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
+1

I think the issue is cause by the fact we can not advance to the next field to enter the password. I have not found a way around it.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2019, 11:33 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
I don't suppose Amazon lets you load another keyboard. I had this problem when using a third-party virtual keyboard on my tablet. I switched to the Google keyboard just for this and it worked.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2019, 07:23 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,256
I also think loading another keyboard will make it work. I realize Amazon makes that hard to do, but I've used this toolbox to make changes.

The toolbox does not require root and it is plug and play. It's super easy to install Google Services which includes the Play Store app which will then give you the ability to install apps like other keyboards (including the Gboard).

You can also remove (or restore) any of the installed Amazon apps too as I'm sure there are a few that you don't use.

In fact, I'm writing this response from an HD10 that I have used the toolbox with to install the Google Services. Im using Nova Launcher instead of the FireOS launcher and Brave instead of the stock browser. I also installed the SageTV Miniclient from the Google store (even though it is available from the Amazon app store). I don't recall having to do anything special to log into the Miniclient and it works just fine.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (32bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Charter cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 07-23-2019 at 07:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2019, 12:48 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
I also think loading another keyboard will make it work. I realize Amazon makes that hard to do, but I've used this toolbox to make changes.
It looks like the Toolbox is just for Fire Tablets, not Fire TV.

Compatibility:

Amazon Fire HD 8 (2017).
Amazon Fire HD 8 (2018).
Amazon Fire HD 10 (2017).
Amazon Fire HD 8 (2016).
Amazon Fire HD 7 (2015).
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2019, 12:55 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
I don't suppose Amazon lets you load another keyboard. I had this problem when using a third-party virtual keyboard on my tablet. I switched to the Google keyboard just for this and it worked.
I connected the Harmony Bluetooth keyboard to my FireTV Stick and was still not able to jump to the password to login.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2019, 09:08 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 257
Would putting the FireTV app on a phone or tablet work? That allows using the phone's keyboard. In some test runs (NOT with Placeshifter, though) I've found that you often need to use the FireStick remote to position the cursor in the appropriate fields, but can then enter text via the app and it goes into the field. It's kind of clunky and often takes a few tries to get it working. I find that connecting a BlueTooth keyboard works better. But again, I haven't tried with PlaceShifter since I'm only using it from home so far.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2019, 02:58 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
But again, I haven't tried with PlaceShifter since I'm only using it from home so far.
You can test from home, just create a Placeshifter entry and fill in the Locator ID. Placeshifter will ask for the userid/passwd when you go to connect.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2019, 03:32 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
Would putting the FireTV app on a phone or tablet work?
I just tested with the FireTV app on an Android phone. I got a message that the app was not using the standard FireTV keyboard. But it would not even send any keystrokes to the login screen.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2019, 11:52 AM
motoman666 motoman666 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Has anyone figured the credentials thingy out?? I have these on every tv in the house. Now that i have better internet i would like to take firestick with me on Vaca and get sage. If we could only put in the credentials.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-29-2019, 03:02 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
One the login information is entered, the mini-client remembers it.

If we knew where that was stored, we might be able to create an entry so it does not prompt next time.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amazon, fireos, firestick, firetv, placeshifter


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini Client and Kitkat bmh SageTV Clients Development 10 12-31-2017 02:56 PM
Mini-Client vs Full Client vs HD300 NetworkGuy SageTV Clients Development 5 09-12-2016 06:11 PM
SageTV 7 WHS, client on Mac Mini? radiopaque SageTV Mac Edition 6 08-17-2010 04:21 AM
G4 Mac Mini as SageTV client? jbarr Hardware Support 2 06-28-2007 02:54 PM
Mac Mini as Sage HD client mikesm Hardware Support 3 01-05-2007 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.