SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2011, 04:39 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Plugin: WIcons - enables Day/Night Weather Icons for default SageTV STV

Version 1.005 - NO CHANGE to the plugin - API still in use by DIAMOND Legacy so it was relocated from Google Code to BinTray
Version 1.003 - UI Mod removed from repository as it no longer works (has not for 3 years )

Version 1.003 - WIcons API change only. (WIcons UI still at 1.001)
- added missing icon for NWS
- NWS Forecasts now use the night icons for night forecasts


This small plugin enables the updated SageTV weather system to use the original icons including different icons for Day and Night. This works for both the Google weather as well as the extended forecast using NWS.

By default day starts at 7am and ends at 7pm but this is configurable in the Weather Screen under options (set to 16 (4pm) for the captures below).

Please let me know if you discover any issues or any of the Google or NWS icons are displaying (as they will show if WIcons does not find a mapping to an image icon).

Note: to report an incorrect icon please have debug on and copy the url from the debug log after the text "WIcons: unhandled url - please report".

Note: this Plugin is NOT compatible with Diamond. A Diamond update will be out soon which enables the Day/Night icons.

k



Attached Images
File Type: jpg WIcons1-medium.JPG (59.5 KB, 1009 views)
File Type: jpg WIcons2-medium.JPG (76.1 KB, 492 views)
File Type: jpg WIcons3.JPG (11.7 KB, 966 views)
File Type: jpg WIcons4-medium.JPG (62.9 KB, 762 views)

Last edited by jusjoken; 10-17-2015 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2011, 05:01 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Awesome - I am a Diamond user so I guess I have to wait a bit. It looks like you are the only one still developing new plugins as I think the last two plugins released were yours - this one and ADM.

Keep it coming!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2011, 05:15 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Thanks. Much nicer looking
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2011, 07:16 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
How do you force SageTV to update its list of plugins available? The newest plugin I show is dated 11/22.

Thanks in advance for this effort, though! Looking forward to getting rid of the sun at night.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2011, 09:54 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Love the plugin. Have an idea that you might consider. If you use this class and have the user enter the info for the constructor (longitude, latitude and get time zone) then you would be able to use this class or a custom version to tell if it is before or after sunrise and sunset instead of the options properties for times. Just an idea I thought you might want to think about.

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 11-28-2011 at 09:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2011, 12:21 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Love the plugin. Have an idea that you might consider. If you use this class and have the user enter the info for the constructor (longitude, latitude and get time zone) then you would be able to use this class or a custom version to tell if it is before or after sunrise and sunset instead of the options properties for times. Just an idea I thought you might want to think about.
Thanks for the feedback and idea... I will look into this further.

k
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2011, 10:58 AM
DMT DMT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Thanks for this. Using Google weather so this is a nice improvement!

Regards
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 on Win 7 Ultimate x86; Intel DH67CF, i3-2100T, 4GB DDR3, 60GB SSD, 8TB Drive Bender storage pool, blu-ray. 2x HD PVR (SA 4250HD firewire channel change), 2x HD200 extenders (external IR receiver mod, HD300 remotes).
Plugins: Custom Main Menu, Enable/Disable Favorites, Stock Manager, Web Interface, Mobile Web Interface, PlayOn
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2011, 01:15 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
How do you force SageTV to update its list of plugins available? The newest plugin I show is dated 11/22.

Thanks in advance for this effort, though! Looking forward to getting rid of the sun at night.
No one answered me <sniff>, but a restart of the SageTV service caused an update. Looks great so far! Thanks for doing this.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2011, 08:46 AM
cyberlewis cyberlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greenwood, IN USA
Posts: 38
Hi jusjoken,

Loving WIcons and the cleaner look that the original weather icons provide! As per your original post, I have been keeping track of some conditions that aren't mapping to icons using your plugin. I will contine to report additional unmapped conditions as (if) I notice any. Is there any additional information that you require? Thanks so much!

Google:
Overcast
Mostly Sunny
Rain

NWS:
Light Snow Fog/Mist
Partly Cloudy
Sunny
Mostly Cloudy
Showers Likely
Rain Likely
Chance Rain
Slight Chc Rain
Slight Chc Rain/Snow
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2011, 07:34 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberlewis View Post
Is there any additional information that you require? Thanks so much!

Google:
Overcast
Mostly Sunny
Rain

NWS:
Light Snow Fog/Mist
Partly Cloudy
Sunny
Mostly Cloudy
Showers Likely
Rain Likely
Chance Rain
Slight Chc Rain
Slight Chc Rain/Snow
Actually what I need is the URL that failed. If the UI displays a non sage icon directly from the URL it also writes a log entry with the URL. It is that entry I would need so I can create a mapping. You would need to have debug turned on and then have the issue occur and then send me the URL or the log itself.

As you can imagine I certainly covered generic conditions such as sunny etc so either we are getting an odd URL for your location, the condition URL is actually not sunny or something else is wrong.

K
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:39 PM
The Truth The Truth is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 154
Good Job, But what about 50% Precipitation!!!? LoL it still has an old image.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:41 PM
The Truth The Truth is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 154
If you put in the zip code 07424 and look at wednesday night you can see what I am talking about. and all my nights have a better looking icon, but the sun is still there for the night.

I guess that is for NWS... Sorry i just installed this now....

Last edited by The Truth; 12-18-2011 at 03:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-18-2011, 06:40 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Truth View Post
If you put in the zip code 07424 and look at wednesday night you can see what I am talking about. and all my nights have a better looking icon, but the sun is still there for the night.

I guess that is for NWS... Sorry i just installed this now....
Good catch... WIcons 1.003 now has the missing icon AND thanks to you as I had not thought about it before... the NWS Forecasts for the Night entries will now display the Night icons (when they differ).

k
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-23-2011, 04:31 PM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Good catch... WIcons 1.003 now has the missing icon AND thanks to you as I had not thought about it before... the NWS Forecasts for the Night entries will now display the Night icons (when they differ).

k
Did 1.003 get released? When I look in the plugin manager, I still only see version 1.001.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-23-2011, 08:40 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecadet View Post
Did 1.003 get released? When I look in the plugin manager, I still only see version 1.001.

Thanks!
It's there... the tricky part is that the main plugin - the UI part - called WIcons did not need updating. The API that it uses was updated and should indicate as updated. It will be listed under WIconsAPI and under ALL or Library.

That one should show as having an update.

Perhaps in the future if this is too confusing I could update the UI plugin too which would then force the API to update... I guess we will see - I see that 89 users have updated so far but that is a small number of the original users that downloaded it.

k
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-23-2011, 11:04 PM
OneThomas OneThomas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 102
Woo Hoo! Nice!!
Thanks for creating this - Weather indicators look MUCH better with these icons instead.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-24-2011, 06:32 AM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
It's there... the tricky part is that the main plugin - the UI part - called WIcons did not need updating. The API that it uses was updated and should indicate as updated. It will be listed under WIconsAPI and under ALL or Library.

That one should show as having an update.

Perhaps in the future if this is too confusing I could update the UI plugin too which would then force the API to update... I guess we will see - I see that 89 users have updated so far but that is a small number of the original users that downloaded it.

k
Ok. You are right I found the library update under the All Plugins view. It's definitely a non-intuitive experience - since you don't get a system message telling you about the update and the date on the library plugin is still 11/28.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:50 PM
cyberlewis cyberlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greenwood, IN USA
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Actually what I need is the URL that failed. If the UI displays a non sage icon directly from the URL it also writes a log entry with the URL. It is that entry I would need so I can create a mapping. You would need to have debug turned on and then have the issue occur and then send me the URL or the log itself.

As you can imagine I certainly covered generic conditions such as sunny etc so either we are getting an odd URL for your location, the condition URL is actually not sunny or something else is wrong.

K
Hi jusjoken,

OK, I apologize for the lag in getting you a response, but I kept forgetting to enable debug logging before I experienced a WIcons issue. I had debug logging enabled over the weekend and got a hit. Tho following is an example of what I am seeing in the debug logs with regards to the failed mapping for the Google condition of 'Sunny'. There are many instances of the error in the log, but I only included a couple since the differentiating factor is only the time of occurrence and the bracketed text:

Sun 2/5 12:36:53.731 [MiniUIServerConnection@fbd9c8] WIcons: unhandled url - please report 'http://www.google.com/ig/images/weather/sunny.gif'
Sun 2/5 12:36:53.752 [Fork-BASE-71232@cb27ab] WIcons: unhandled url - please report 'http://www.google.com/ig/images/weather/sunny.gif'

As you previously stated that you have mappings for these common conditions, it seems strange that I would be seeing the Google weather icons for things like 'Sunny' rather than the WIcon version. What makes things more bizarre is that sometime a restart of the SageTV service fixes/breaks the icon mapping.

Thanks,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-03-2012, 09:58 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
WIcons Update

I have updated the WIcons API to support the change NWS did (around July 1st I believe) to use png icons in their URLs. So the code needed a slight adjustment to ensure the Sage Icons still replace the NWS ones.

This only affects those using NWS forecasts.

k
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-05-2012, 05:44 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,154
Can you add a new icon to represent "relentlessly, unmercifully, ridiculously, unbelievably HOT"? I've needed one of those for the past two weeks.

(YMMV depending where you live but it seems like most of the US has had the same weather)
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weather Icons saltlyck2 SageTV Customizations 3 06-05-2006 11:51 AM
SageTV v4 default weather report mattdcknsn SageTV Software 0 12-29-2005 08:54 AM
Weather Icons DIBU SageTV Customizations 0 02-27-2005 08:14 AM
Weather Icons spike5884 SageTV Customizations 7 07-31-2004 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.