SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:29 AM
fbures fbures is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 110
Colossus problems solved? (knock on the wood)

I might have solved the infamous Colossus problems. In the last two days I have not had any freezes, "fast forwards" or out-of-sync sound.
I disabled the "Cool and Quiet" functionality in BIOS, forcing my AMD-FX 8core 3.6GHz CPU to run at its max. clock rate all the time. No scaling down. Since then, so far so good.

Let's see what happens in the nearest future.

Cheers
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2013, 04:06 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Hmm I have look in to that one as well
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2013, 03:00 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Very Interesting so far it been a week and no reboot on my Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-D3H with AMD A10-5800K Trinity 3.8GHz

Last edited by SHS; 06-03-2013 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2013, 08:56 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,207
That doesn't make since. While USB is CPU driven, the slowest clock speed of modern computers can easily handle a USB 2.0 device at full speed.

It also throws out any kind of software or memory leak issue???? (which I thought was the latest theory)

If it keeps working, someone PLEASE report this to Hauppauge, and see if they can figure out why this would fix things!!!!! (and maybe a driver fix????)

BTW, did you also get the latest "Windows" driver update at the same time??? (Not at home, can't check version/patch, just remember getting one by Windows update)
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2013, 09:06 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
MattHelm the Colossus is 1x PCIe not USB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2013, 12:09 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
MattHelm the Colossus is 1x PCIe not USB
Oops, too early in the morning for me to post!!!

Still, the same applies to PCIe, except being CPU driven, only more so. Again, the CPU clock should never effect the PCIe bus.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2013, 12:15 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Maybe this will help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2013, 03:39 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Hmmm, wonder if this would also apply to the equivalent Intel technology...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2013, 04:02 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hmmm, wonder if this would also apply to the equivalent Intel technology...
Yes it has to do with SpeedStep or EIST that Intel technology that equivalent to AMD Cool and Quiet functionality in BIOS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2013, 01:14 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
What the ............

Going to check to see if my board have that feature ....

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-05-2013, 02:08 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
My board had "Cool and Quiet" set to Auto so I disabled it.

I also set my CPU fan to run at max setting since the server is in the basement and we cannot hear it.

Gonna disable the nightly reboot for a couple of night and see what happens now.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-05-2013, 10:06 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 474
that's great news.. I do hope it would work in Intel boards as well (I'm runing Intel) and that sounds like an easy fix.

I do remember Colossus had a longer tune time though.

HD-PVR seems to tune fairly quickly by comparison.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-05-2013, 10:46 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Give it a week TechBill let me know how it goes.
Yes I will talk to hauppauge about this, matter fact I have talk them about USB 3.0 Problem with HD-PVR 2 which seem be have problem starting a record some time it up to 3 mins before it starts.
Yes please try it sacrament055 and let me know how it goes.

The only thing I can think of is that sagetv doesn't support the new type power management or colossus is at fault here that I really don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-05-2013, 02:22 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Maybe that's why I never really have issues with the colossus? I've always disabled those features.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-05-2013, 06:55 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Give it a week TechBill let me know how it goes.
Yes I will talk to hauppauge about this, matter fact I have talk them about USB 3.0 Problem with HD-PVR 2 which seem be have problem starting a record some time it up to 3 mins before it starts.
Yes please try it sacrament055 and let me know how it goes.

The only thing I can think of is that sagetv doesn't support the new type power management or colossus is at fault here that I really don't know.

So far no problem but we haven't been using TV much lately.


Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-06-2013, 12:52 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
I had to restart SageTV today to fix my EPG but I had zero problem since I stop doing nightly reboots and not have rebooted server yet.

The server did not have a monitor and keyboard hook to it for years because I always use the remote desktop to fix or make changes on it.

So it was weird hooking up a keyboard and a monitor after all those years to the server to access the bios to change the settings.

There were dust and spider webs in the usb slot =P


Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-09-2013, 11:20 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
4 days now of no rebooting ......

Anyone else testing this too? Result?


Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-09-2013, 11:26 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
So far so good I hoping some one with intel post here to
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-10-2013, 08:24 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
So far so good I hoping some one with intel post here to
I don't ever reboot on my intel system. I've never had any of the power options enabled so I can't comment on whether that is everyone's issue. I do have to restart the sage service about once a week or video gets choppy. That's it though.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-10-2013, 11:21 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
you people are making me think about trying out my colossus again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to use my old wiz.bin from version 6 [SOLVED] bbig119 SageTV Beta Test Software 2 09-07-2010 09:12 AM
WIZ.BIN is insane; solved src666 SageTV Software 15 03-06-2010 06:19 PM
Old Direct TV box controller problems solved? Profcrab Hardware Support 4 01-05-2007 09:54 AM
PVR 350 Problems solved? Bathman Hardware Support 2 11-17-2004 03:04 PM
2.1 Please knock my socks off.. edbmdave General Discussion 7 10-12-2004 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.