SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-07-2018, 06:11 AM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 106
The port you need to open in the firewall is the \SageRemote\SageRemote.config with the line
key=""HostName" value="http://localhost:8686" so "8686" would be the one you would have to open.

I actually have 2 installs on separate sub nets with one 8686 and one 8786 so I must have copied wrong for the "doc". Thanks for pointing it out!

One of my installs is using java 7 _079 which "I think" is the lowest version supported by sage 9 and the other install is using Java 8 so you should be fine there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
Also... you mention in your docs that the port is 8786, but in the sagerremote.ini itís set to 8686. Which port should I be opening thru the firewall?

On another note - I have java 8 installed and have it pointed to that version. Can I point to that java version? Or do i need to install 7 ?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-07-2018, 06:45 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,463
I played around with this a bit more. One question - is there any reason why SageRemote has to be installed on the SageTV server itself? Doesn't it access information via Sagex which should be able to work without being on the same hardware as it uses a URL to get the media, guide and whatever other data it needs.

And the files themselves on my servers are all using network mappings - ie \\carnoustie\movies\ so what does that matter if they are local to the SageRemote machine or not, and they may not be anyhow as I am pretty sure that Sage lets you store your media files on external media.

In other words, why couldn't SageRemote on a Windows PC be the "host" for my unRAID SageTV server?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-07-2018, 07:00 AM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 106
I actually started writing the code just that way! My development machine was a higher end machine than my server so I was developing and running SageRemoteHost on my machine and connecting to my Sagetv machine. About 70% of the way through development I installed a much higher end machine on my SageTV side. After that I moved the project to the SageTV machine and just use remote desktop to it. I haven't done any testing since then to confirm it still works. I plan on testing it on separate machines after the plugin and live tv support is added. I will make any changes needed to make it work and document how to set it up that way.

David

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I played around with this a bit more. One question - is there any reason why SageRemote has to be installed on the SageTV server itself? Doesn't it access information via Sagex which should be able to work without being on the same hardware as it uses a URL to get the media, guide and whatever other data it needs.

And the files themselves on my servers are all using network mappings - ie \\carnoustie\movies\ so what does that matter if they are local to the SageRemote machine or not, and they may not be anyhow as I am pretty sure that Sage lets you store your media files on external media.

In other words, why couldn't SageRemote on a Windows PC be the "host" for my unRAID SageTV server?

Last edited by davidb; 08-07-2018 at 07:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-07-2018, 09:21 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 295
Yep, got the server side up and running using Java 8 and after I poked a hole in the firewall for 8686.


I see I just got the email for the App.


Thanks for making this another option to connect to Sage!



Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb View Post
The port you need to open in the firewall is the \SageRemote\SageRemote.config with the line
key=""HostName" value="http://localhost:8686" so "8686" would be the one you would have to open.

I actually have 2 installs on separate sub nets with one 8686 and one 8786 so I must have copied wrong for the "doc". Thanks for pointing it out!

One of my installs is using java 7 _079 which "I think" is the lowest version supported by sage 9 and the other install is using Java 8 so you should be fine there.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.0.12.506, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-08-2018, 07:11 PM
skier1 skier1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
I can play all of my dvd rips but none of my Blu-ray rips show up. Are there any plans to support Blu-ray?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Hulu client for WIN+Mac flavius The SageTV Community 1 05-29-2009 05:02 AM
cant get beta client samson SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-05-2005 06:45 PM
Beta Client Lockup flyingdog SageTV Beta Test Software 0 10-22-2004 11:18 PM
beta 14 client error bigDvette SageTV Beta Test Software 8 03-27-2004 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.