SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2018, 10:10 AM
Guyverix Guyverix is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Monroe, Wa
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Guyverix Send a message via Yahoo to Guyverix
Old SageTV user trying out the system changes

I am trying to find out about the OEM keys in particular. The forums are stating 32 characters for the key entry, but my old SageTV key from Version 3 (2005) is 70 characters. Is this key no longer valid at all, or is there are conversion?

(or am I outa luck?)
__________________
Never be afraid to try something new.
Remember: Amateurs...built the Ark.
Professionals...built the Titanic

Last edited by Guyverix; 08-09-2018 at 10:11 AM. Reason: wrong year purchased
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2018, 10:13 AM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 265
SageTV v9 shouldn't require a key, but it's been overy a year so what it needs instead (if anything) is fuzzy. Are you installing v9?
__________________
Server: Asrock C236WSI, Xeon E3-1225, 32GB RAM, NAS4Free (FreeBSD) 11.1 w/Ubuntu VM for SageTV
Tuners: HD Homerun Quatro (OTA), Hauppauge Colossus HDMI capture (CATV)
Clients: SageTV client on Windows 7 HTPC, NVidia Sheild
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2018, 10:48 AM
Guyverix Guyverix is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Monroe, Wa
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Guyverix Send a message via Yahoo to Guyverix
Yes, I was going to install V9, server and one or two clients and see some of the changes from when I used it last.
__________________
Never be afraid to try something new.
Remember: Amateurs...built the Ark.
Professionals...built the Titanic

Last edited by Guyverix; 08-09-2018 at 10:48 AM. Reason: removed redundant blathering
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2018, 01:48 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guyverix View Post
Yes, I was going to install V9, server and one or two clients and see some of the changes from when I used it last.
You don't need a key for v9. Before v9.1.x you would use a v7 key for guide data access but since non-paid-for guide data is gone there is zero need for a v7 or earlier key.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250, 2 Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVRs, 1 Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SageTV User? jer29_11_13 SageTV Software 7 05-25-2009 01:25 PM
Sage system for inexperienced computer user toby Hardware Support 8 12-03-2008 02:37 PM
New User - Planning System BFisher Hardware Support 32 10-03-2007 02:01 AM
New SageTV user jwilson56 Hardware Support 7 12-14-2006 09:06 PM
Multi-Tuner Multi- User System Question mightyt SageTV Software 2 09-11-2004 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.