SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:09 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
not so randome crashes

So I just updated my graphics card from an ATI2600 XT to an AMD 6560. I also changed from a VGA cable to an HDMI. My wife immediately noticed a difference in the video quality, especially on the animated DVD's we have on the server (Wall-E, Cloudy w/Meatballs, Horton Hears a Who, etc.).

Initially I had an issue where lines were really jagged, but I fixed that my disabling Edge-enhancement. Believe it or not, lowering it made the quality better.

Anyway, my issue now is that Sage shuts down when I watch particular movies. It seems to work great for almost all DVD's that I have ripped and put on the server. But Sage crashes every time I put on any of the Hermie Caterpillar movies. we have three of them.

These are pretty lo-def DVD's. When we first got one, it would not play at all in Sage. We had to watch them in the DVD player.

Well, with the new card they were all viewable for a while. Now, whenever I try watching one that we have ripped on the server, it freezes and I get a windows notice saying that SageTV has shut down.

Any ideas?

Just to clarify. I run SageTV on the HTPC. The movies in a server that is basically a file share. SageTV is NOT running as a server.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2011, 08:19 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
So no one else is having issues with any DVD's crashing sage.

It's only particular DVD's. Right now we are watching Finding Nemo with no problems.

I can re-rip them 'cause we own them.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2012, 05:10 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
DVDs on server crash during playback

I've posted this before but no one really answered it.

Sage is crashing hard when we play DVD's (on a werver). Usually it happens on some of the cheaper kids DVDs (i.e. the ones produced by low tier production studios), but now it is happening more on upper end productions (like Pixar and Dreamworks). Today it wouldn't even play back the Olympics we recorded last week; the olympics are recorded locally to the machine.

When we hit play, the DVD or show will play and then Sage crashes with the message "SageTV has stopped working"

Originally I thought it was the network, so I upgraded the mobo and switch to gigabit speed; the server already had gigabit. I went from an Athlon X2 on a Gigabyte GA-M61SME-S2 to a AMD A6-3500 on a Gigabyte A75-UD4H (more info down in the signature).

I'm using the SageTV3.xml because my wife doesn't like all the flashiness of the new interface.

I don't have any other things running, not even comskip.

I don't run it as a service. The HTPC runs sage and is use to display the video to our TV (using the built in video processor of the A6).

Java is version 1.7.0_05
AMD video driver is 12.8, updated on Jul 8.

It could be the video driver; I seem to remember that at one point the driver fixed the constant crashes...but it always seems to come back. It won't play my son's current favorite...the Gruffalo and the Gruffalo's Child.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2012, 06:24 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Does it crash the server playing the DVD in some other media player? Have you tried playing it with the SageTV7.xml? You should check those out first.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2012, 04:47 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
@Big Gerr, the server doesn't crash, the sagetv program crashes on my HTPC (below the TV). the server isn't running sage, it's just a file share.

As for other programs, I can play them fine in Windows Media Player.

How should I change the SageTV7.xml file?

I am going to try to play one (or some) of the culprits locally from he HTPC. I am going to copy them over to the desktop and then map it as a location for videos.

But I'm really intrested in what changes to make to the .xml file.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:59 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 483
The first I would do is to play DVD directly from your HTPC (ie. move a ripped dvd folder to the HTPC and play it from there). Take the file server out of the equation to determine if this is truly a SageTV issue.

If it still crashes, then I would start looking at my codecs. Can you play recorded tv without issues?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2012, 08:33 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
Yeah. that's been my goal, but family time has prevented me from messing with anything.

Recorded TV was crashing for a while, but that seems to have gone away; I didn't do anything to fix it.

Wife's sick tonight, so maybe I'll have some alone time to try stuff out before I crash.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UI crash on playback if service is running tombailey SageTV Software 0 12-11-2010 10:03 PM
Server crash, wiz.bin questions pat_smith1969 SageTV Software 1 09-03-2009 11:52 AM
Server causes crash but not extenders. EdPhotoguy SageTV Software 2 11-22-2008 01:23 PM
Server crash mattdcknsn Hardware Support 6 08-25-2008 10:12 AM
repeatable crash bug again.. (playback) jimbobuk SageTV Software 5 05-15-2003 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.