SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2016, 01:52 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Open Source Windows Installer

Latest release available for testing (Release Candidate Installer).

Windows Files

Linux Files

Notes:
  • The Release Candidate version type refers to the installer and not the contents/exe in the installer
  • If upgrading from the same version level - 9.0.4.xxx to 9.0.4.xxx you will need to run the installer a 2nd time and select repair to insure ALL files get installed


I have started a Indiegogo campaign for my work on SageTV OS - Windows Installer and Gemstone 2 - see here if you would like to contribute

Last edited by jusjoken; 02-26-2016 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2016, 02:05 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Currently: I have a virtual environment created and have completed clean installs of Server, Client and Placeshifter. Server and Client were also completed with the PVR and Provideo options to capture the differences. Each install was done with install monitoring software to identify files, services and registry changes made during the installs. Java was aborted in every case as that will be handled differently.

Approach:
- discover file system changes from each install - complete
- fork SageTV repo and download and build VS2015 environment - complete
- discover registry changes from each install - in progress
- install WIX toolset - complete
- learn the WIX toolset - in progress
- determine installers to build - in progress (likely a combined Server/Client install and a separate Placeshift install)

Java
- incorporate a Java 32 bit 1.7 install IF Java 32 1.7 or greater is not already installed

Scope/Removal
- I plan to NOT include the SageTV3 STVs folder
- I likely will remove the Provideo and PVR 150/...etc options.
  • Provideo - this installs 1 driver and 16 parameter files. Not difficult to include if there is a need.
  • PVR 150 etc - this installs a single "irremote.ini" file in the windows folder. Again, simple to include - not sure if it's used often

Comments and suggestions welcome

k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2016, 11:28 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,490
Awesome - thanks a million for doing this!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2016, 05:20 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,297
Nice work...I've been hoping someone would take this on.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:51 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Regarding Placeshifter: An installer might not even be 'required', as it's a pretty portable program. Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
Can we make it work over port 80? I can install software at work but almost all ports are locked down.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2016, 04:02 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Can we make it work over port 80? I can install software at work but almost all ports are locked down.
That might not work. A lot of ISP's block incoming requests on port 80 of their residential service so that people can't run commercial web sites out of their home. Cox Cable does this.

But, having the ability to easily change the Placeshifter port would be helpful. Is there currently a way to do this from the properties file?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2016, 04:32 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
That might not work. A lot of ISP's block incoming requests on port 80 of their residential service so that people can't run commercial web sites out of their home. Cox Cable does this.

But, having the ability to easily change the Placeshifter port would be helpful. Is there currently a way to do this from the properties file?
You can change it - I think it might be in Settings Menu of the Sage UI - or also in the properties file. Actually 8080 would work for me as well although that is where I currently host my Sage Web server.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2016, 05:14 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Yes, and since placeshifter uses UPnP for router configuration, changing the remote port in the sagetv server settings creates a proper map on the router. for instance, I've set my remote port at 8083, which results in sage registering a TCP forwarding of incoming port 8083 to my sagetv server's port 31099 (the standard Placeshifter port).


EDIT: You can, of course, set up the port forwarding yourself as well, but the advantage of having sage do it is then sage knows the external port, and registers that with the Locator service.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2016, 07:23 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Regarding Placeshifter: An installer might not even be 'required', as it's a pretty portable program. Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
I am open either way. A Placeshifter MSI likely is very simple however I started with the complex Server/Client one first to learn WIX.

Someone could also test out a zip clean install and see if that is enough without the need to register any DLL's or set registry settings (I have not reviewed Placeshifter registry yet).

Placeshifter installs Java as well as the following files...

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\EULAplaceshifter.txt
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\ImageLoader.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\Microsoft.VC80.CRT.manifest
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\MiniClient.jar
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcm80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcp80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcr71.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcr80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\pthreadGC2.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVDX93D.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVInfraredReceive.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVPlaceshifter.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVPlayer.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVWin32.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\swscale.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\ThirdPartyLicense.txt
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\Win32ShellHook.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\WinKeyboardHook.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\WinRawInput.dll
In theory if there are variable settings we want to collect during an MSI type install we should be able to have the installer ask for those and write them out....in theory . Still learning this !

k
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-05-2016, 07:26 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Question for those in the know...

SageTV7, Client and Server, install the following files....

SageTV\SageTVPlayer.exe
SageTV\SageTVTranscoder.exe

Are either/both of these required ? I noticed NEITHER are built by the current windows native build process under VS2015.

Thanks
k
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-05-2016, 11:53 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Question for those in the know...

SageTV7, Client and Server, install the following files....

SageTV\SageTVPlayer.exe
SageTV\SageTVTranscoder.exe

Are either/both of these required ? I noticed NEITHER are built by the current windows native build process under VS2015.

Thanks
k
Sagetvtranscoder.exe is definitely needed (it's basically ffmpeg) and used when place shifting. I believe it's also used to scan properties of media when it's added to your library.

Sagetvplayer.exe I don't know much about but I think depending on the player one chooses when sage is in client mode this could be used. I could be wrong on this though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2016, 01:59 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Question for those in the know...

SageTV7, Client and Server, install the following files....

SageTV\SageTVPlayer.exe
SageTV\SageTVTranscoder.exe

Are either/both of these required ? I noticed NEITHER are built by the current windows native build process under VS2015.

Thanks
k
They aren't built by the native build process, as they are the sage-modified versions of ffmpeg.exe and mplayer.exe. SageTVTranscoder (ffmpeg) is certainly required and used - SageTVPlayer (mplayer), I'm not sure if it is used for anything anymore, other than placeshifter.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2016, 06:55 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Sounds good I will leave the v7 versions in the installs for these.

k
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-06-2016, 07:31 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Sounds good I will leave the v7 versions in the installs for these.

k
I think someone was looking at updating them to newer versions - but not sure how that's been progressing. I'd hope they'd be updated in the github repo when it gets to that point.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-06-2016, 12:17 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Another question as I work through this....

Do we need the Register/Unregister Extender/Placeshift menu links any longer ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\SageTV\SageTV.exe" DMAREGISTER

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\SageTV\SageTV.exe" DMAUNREGISTER

Thanks
k
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2016, 01:37 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Another question as I work through this....

Do we need the Register/Unregister Extender/Placeshift menu links any longer ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\SageTV\SageTV.exe" DMAREGISTER

"C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\SageTV\SageTV.exe" DMAUNREGISTER

Thanks
k
No, the code that actually checks the number of keys has been removed.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-06-2016, 02:10 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,490
@jusjoken - Over the weekend I plan to install SageTV9 to a new PC build with Win10. Do you want an alpha tester? Or should I just install SageTV7 and manually override the sage.jar file?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-06-2016, 05:31 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
@jusjoken - Over the weekend I plan to install SageTV9 to a new PC build with Win10. Do you want an alpha tester? Or should I just install SageTV7 and manually override the sage.jar file?
If the timing works then yes. I am close....or at least I think I am

Depends on how much time I get on it but I do have a full install completed that installs all the files, as well as Java 1.7, VC runtimes for 10 and 14 as well as the menu shortcusts. Still need to get the registry in place and then some UI adjustments on the installer.

I will keep you updated over the coming days.

k
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-06-2016, 09:29 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
If the timing works then yes. I am close....or at least I think I am

Depends on how much time I get on it but I do have a full install completed that installs all the files, as well as Java 1.7, VC runtimes for 10 and 14 as well as the menu shortcusts. Still need to get the registry in place and then some UI adjustments on the installer.

I will keep you updated over the coming days.

k
You may not even have to do any registry additions in the install. Save may actually populate it with details on first run.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
SageTV Open Source FAQ Opus4 SageTV Software 5 11-11-2015 02:57 PM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.