SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:40 PM
burtonpark burtonpark is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 58
Recommend a PCIE x1 S2 Tuner Card For Sage

Using 3 NOVA s2 HD Cards , and found them to be rock solid
Would like to add more but mobo only has PCEx1 slots left!

Dual would be great!
__________________
Clients:4xHD300, 1 HTPC Server: Case Lian Li B71 Hot swap, Supermicro X8 mobo, Xeon E5506 2.13Ghz,6Mram,24x2TB Disks, Software: WHS 2011 64 bit OS, SageTV 7.19, Digiguide,XML Importer, DVBLogic, Oscam,mymovies 4.02
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2010, 01:39 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Well I can't recommend it as I don't have one but see the TBS 6980 now seems to be supported and is dual tuner PCIe.

Looks like a few forum members have these.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners

Last edited by starfire; 09-13-2010 at 01:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:42 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
Well I can't recommend it as I don't have one but see the TBS 6980 now seems to be supported and is dual tuner PCIe.

Looks like a few forum members have these.
Is there somewhere more local to purchase from? That website is in China.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:29 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
I've only seen them pop up on eBay occasionally but still from China I think.

Maybe wait for a reply from someone who has one on here or try PM'ing them.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2010, 12:11 PM
Bacon2002 Bacon2002 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 267
Hi,

I have one of these cards but I do not currently use it at the moment as I had problems with it's reliability, also only one of the tuners worked consitently with good reception quality from within SageTV.

No doubt other will have had better experiences, my problems may be related to me using Windows 7 64 bit and that my SageTV server runs 24/7.

I have had better experiences with the Technotrend S2-3650, it is usb so you can continue using your existing cards or the Technotrend S2-3200 is a good ISA card.

Hope this helps,

David
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2010, 08:09 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon2002 View Post
the Technotrend S2-3200 is a good ISA card.
It's actually a PCI card but those slots are getting almost as rare as ISA slots were 5 years ago. I own one of these cards & it is very reliable which was actually the first DVB-S2 tuner on the market over 4 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2010, 04:18 PM
Bacon2002 Bacon2002 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 267
Hi,

Yes of course you are right the S2-3200 is a PCI card not ISA, I must of had somekind of a flash back to the days of ISA cards. I also used to really like the TT-2300, a great card.

I have had my S2-3200 for many years and have found it to be reliable with good reception. I have recently added a couple of S2-3650 which seems to be equally reliable and they also have a CAM interface.

Ta,

David
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2010, 05:39 AM
burtonpark burtonpark is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 58
So if there arn't any dual cards PCIex1 cards around, Does anyone use the firewire FireDTV products and find them reliable and fast to tune?
__________________
Clients:4xHD300, 1 HTPC Server: Case Lian Li B71 Hot swap, Supermicro X8 mobo, Xeon E5506 2.13Ghz,6Mram,24x2TB Disks, Software: WHS 2011 64 bit OS, SageTV 7.19, Digiguide,XML Importer, DVBLogic, Oscam,mymovies 4.02
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2010, 09:41 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by burtonpark View Post
So if there arn't any dual cards PCIex1 cards around, Does anyone use the firewire FireDTV products and find them reliable and fast to tune?
Yes I do. I use a couple of FireDTV-S2 cards & have previously used the older FireDTV-S cards. My only issue with them now is that the manufacturer (Digital Everywhere) sadly went out of business as these were definitely the best tuners for use with a CAM. The drivers have been updated and appear to work properly with Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2010, 04:02 PM
Bacon2002 Bacon2002 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 267
Hi,

I had several of these tuners but I sold them because the Windows 7 (64 bit) drivers did not work properly causing crashes and the tuners would lock up.

Have the drivers been updated?

Thanks,

David
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-25-2010, 01:18 AM
MCE-Refugee's Avatar
MCE-Refugee MCE-Refugee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon2002 View Post
Hi,

I had several of these tuners but I sold them because the Windows 7 (64 bit) drivers did not work properly causing crashes and the tuners would lock up.

Have the drivers been updated?
Yes it appears that even though the company went out of business that their software engineers updated the drivers on their own time. Of course what will happen when Windows 8 ships is another matter perhaps they will Open Source the drivers?

I am using the latest November 28th 2009 drivers & they work perfectly with Windows 7 32-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:21 AM
Bacon2002 Bacon2002 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 267
Hi,

It does look like Digital Everywhere updated the driver from 5.6 to 5.7 as per:-

http://www.digital-everywhere.com/en...sid=1186575943

Although it does go on to say that no further development will be completed and that these drivers are "as is", also there is no reference to fixing the 5.6 driver errors which caused crashes/lock ups in Windows 7 64 bit.

I will try to track down a FireDTV-S2 and give it a go in Windows 7 64 bit and see if the new drivers have fixed the problems.

Ta,

David

Last edited by Bacon2002; 09-27-2010 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2010, 04:53 AM
Bacon2002 Bacon2002 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 267
MCE-Refugee,

I got hold of a FireDTV-S2 tuner and to my surprise and great relief the new drivers seem to work fine with Windows 7 64 bit, whilst I have only been using the tuner for a couple of days so far all seems well.

This is both great news and a little frustrating, it's great because at last I again have a reliable cam solution when used with Diablo Wifi's and fausto but at the same time it is a little frustrating as I sold four of these tuners earlier in the year (for far less than they were worth) as at the time they did not work with win 7 64 bit and I wrongly assumed that the drivers would be left unfinished.

Still I have managed to get hold of a couple of FireDTV-S2's and I am very please.

Thanks for mentioning the new drivers,

David
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIE dual tuner card with COMPONENT in and DIVX hardware capture!!! antisoshal Hardware Support 15 01-07-2010 10:48 AM
Avertv Combo PCIe M780 Tuner Card Supported? ARMYB77 Hardware Support 28 01-27-2009 10:36 AM
Recommend a Sage 6.0 friendly DVB-S Card? AtariJeff SageTV Beta Test Software 30 06-12-2007 02:55 PM
What's the highest quality dual tuner PCIe card? mkanet Hardware Support 11 05-31-2007 03:33 PM
Please recommend me a good tuner card archcommus Hardware Support 35 01-18-2007 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.