SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-23-2017, 09:31 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
AMD has beat Intel in performance/dollar for decades, and it hasn't really changed yet. Intel is just considered the 'premium' brand of the two, so the market lets them charge more. I don't worry about Intel's market share at all.
About 90% of my builds have been AMD over the years because they usually offered better value for the task. But in more recent time the performance gap has been getting too big for me to ignore. I bought a 6 Core FX-6300 and a 2 Core i3-4150 at about the same time in 2014 the AMD cost about $20 more. I had intended to use the i3 for a HTPC and the FX for my son's gamin rig. But to my surprise the 2 Core i3 ran games better. The FX is better for trans-coding but not as good as my 2 year older i5.

AMD can offer better value but it really depends on what you need. I am really looking forward to having AMD performance being close to Intel once again.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-23-2017, 10:11 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWKerr View Post
About 90% of my builds have been AMD over the years because they usually offered better value for the task. But in more recent time the performance gap has been getting too big for me to ignore. I bought a 6 Core FX-6300 and a 2 Core i3-4150 at about the same time in 2014 the AMD cost about $20 more. I had intended to use the i3 for a HTPC and the FX for my son's gamin rig. But to my surprise the 2 Core i3 ran games better. The FX is better for trans-coding but not as good as my 2 year older i5.

AMD can offer better value but it really depends on what you need. I am really looking forward to having AMD performance being close to Intel once again.
This has been my observation. Owning a good selection of AMD and Intel processors, the Intel processors more often than not out perform my AMD processors and I don't have crappy AMD processors. My observations on idle power usage have definitely not favored AMD either (and let's be honest your server is mostly idling). I did the math on this based on real world measurements 5 years ago because I was genuinely interested in reducing my electric bill and Intel was a much better value to run. The i5 processor that I still use today paid for itself in 2 years.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-18-2018, 07:51 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
So the Ryzen / Zen processors have been out for a while now. Has anyone used them for a Sage rig? I'm particularly interested in the APUs (2200G, 2400G).

I'd like to build a new computer for Sage soon. The other alternative for me would be an Intel Core i5 with integrated graphics. From what I can see the Intel options tend to be a little more expensive (both for the CPU and for the motherboard) and their GPU performance is much worse than Intel, but their single-core performance tends to be a little better than the "equivalent" AMD part. I haven't found many good articles comparing power consumption and the articles I did find seemed to have mixed results (some showed AMD more power efficient, others showed Intel better).

I would use this new PC for both Sage server and client (local playback) functions. I also want to be able to make recordings through Playon (my existing CPU can't handle the encoding). This computer would be pretty much dedicated to TV/DVR and related functions and would run Windows with FlexRAID/ tRAID for the recording drives. The UnRAID / Docker stuff is interesting, but I probably will not go that route.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-19-2018, 09:43 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 207
The unRAID/Docker route is great. This coming from a complete Linux illiterate. I'm serving to an HD 300 and Shield mini-client and am also running a Windows 10 VM for Playon & Avidemux to record and edit from Netflix & Amazon Video. But, I understand that the client aspects that you are planning could be a little tough with unRAID. Good luck.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-04-2018, 02:23 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
So the Ryzen / Zen processors have been out for a while now. Has anyone used them for a Sage rig? I'm particularly interested in the APUs (2200G, 2400G).

I'd like to build a new computer for Sage soon. The other alternative for me would be an Intel Core i5 with integrated graphics. From what I can see the Intel options tend to be a little more expensive (both for the CPU and for the motherboard) and their GPU performance is much worse than Intel, but their single-core performance tends to be a little better than the "equivalent" AMD part. I haven't found many good articles comparing power consumption and the articles I did find seemed to have mixed results (some showed AMD more power efficient, others showed Intel better).

I would use this new PC for both Sage server and client (local playback) functions. I also want to be able to make recordings through Playon (my existing CPU can't handle the encoding). This computer would be pretty much dedicated to TV/DVR and related functions and would run Windows with FlexRAID/ tRAID for the recording drives. The UnRAID / Docker stuff is interesting, but I probably will not go that route.
I'm really surprised no one has commented on this - no one has tried the Ryzen APU's with Sage yet?
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-04-2018, 03:20 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I'm really surprised no one has commented on this - no one has tried the Ryzen APU's with Sage yet?
It hasn't been 10 years since I built my last client, so it isn't time to build a new one yet. If they are still around in about in 2 years, I'll try one then.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-05-2018, 05:36 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I'm really surprised no one has commented on this - no one has tried the Ryzen APU's with Sage yet?
I just built a new server using the latest gen Core i5. I am using a motherboard with one of those new "internal drives" (not the SATA interface, the other kind, which I can't recall the name right now) and the thing flies. Boot time is almost instant.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I just built a new server using the latest gen Core i5. I am using a motherboard with one of those new "internal drives" (not the SATA interface, the other kind, which I can't recall the name right now) and the thing flies. Boot time is almost instant.
M.2 NVME? I am in the process of ordering parts to upgrade my Unraid server to an i5 8400. After I get the motherboard, CPU, and RAM I'm going to save up for an x4 NVME to replace my current SATA SSD cache drive. It's crazy that the interface (SATA vs x4 PCIe) actually constrains the speed of the flash that much. I'm looking forward to the day when flash is low enough in cost to completely replace mechanical drives.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-05-2018, 03:20 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
M.2 NVME?
Yes, NVME. It's amazingly fast.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-06-2018, 04:40 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,155
I first purchased and ran (3) OCZ Vertex 30gb drives in RAID 0 back in 2009. That was a mind blowing revelation of what's really been keeping PC's from snapping to attention. Then up to SATA III, better. Now NVME - needless to say, data throughput is no longer a bottleneck.

This was an interesting scenario. I had a relative a while back that I couldn't convince to ditch their ancient Windows XP laptop, a large brick. I think it was approaching a 10 minute bootup, and they were constantly running the 80GB drive out of space. Finally, I stumbled across an mSATA to ide adapter that had a chassis the size of a 2.5" hard drive. Popped a 250GB Samsung mSATA drive in it, imaged the system over, and brought even that old hardware back to life. Bootup in just over 30 seconds.

Solid State technology is one of the best things to happen to computer hardware in years.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.