SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2018, 07:55 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Lots of failed/incorrect recordings... Wish there was a better way to "scan" them.

Of course this stuff always happens when I travel, and never(rarely), when I'm actually at home

I spent the last 3 weeks in Australia/New Zealand for work, and got back last night, decided to watch a show, and the first show I hit was just a 1 hour recording of my satellite error screen telling me that the channel was invalid. On Bell, if you hit a channel that you don't have access to, it shows an error, and you have to hit up/down to get out of it. Entering a new channel, doesn't work. So, I have 3 weeks of recordings that are all just this error screen (this also tells me that SageTV doesn't really balance its tuners --
I have 2 tuners, but, sagetv rarely needs both. The second tuner was fine.)

Thankfully in BMT, I can go to the "Unwatched TV" view, and then go into to each show, an pull up the video thumbnails and easily tell which shows are good/bad (most were bad), and then delete the those episodes.

I encountered this a couple years ago, and I recall thinking, at that time, what if after a recording I could 'scan' the thumbnails (or a couple of random thumbnails) and somehow tell if I had a "bad recording". I never did do this, because it happens so infrequently, but it would be cool, if there was a way to 'validate' a recording. Maybe randomly pick 5-10 frames and then compare how similar they are (there must be an image library that can do this).

I had bad week before I left for travels, in that I had a bunch of recordings that all had a/v sync issues. I hadn't experienced that in a long time, but, in a span of a few days, everything recorded with a gradual drift, so that as you progressed, things got more and more out of sync. I thought it may have been the Android MiniClient, so I tried these in Plex as well, and plex also had the same a/v sync issues.

Not a good month for SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2018, 09:54 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,051
Could you use Compskip to recognize bad recordings? It spits out various things that may be useful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2018, 10:22 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Could you use Compskip to recognize bad recordings? It spits out various things that may be useful.
It would be interesting to explore that. I just don't know enough about comskip to understand what it spits out. You could, I guess, look the edl file and if there are few commercials 1 or less, then trigger an error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2018, 10:32 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
It would be interesting to explore that. I just don't know enough about comskip to understand what it spits out. You could, I guess, look the edl file and if there are few commercials 1 or less, then trigger an error.
There is a verbose mode that outputs all kinds of video frame information. Also, one of the detection options is “silence” so it can also see where the audio stream drops. Run it on one of your failed recordings and see what it produces that is different than a “normal” show. Maybe no audio at all is enough?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2018, 12:42 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
I thought someone made an app like this (maybe 2 or so years ago???) for cable box errors. It would be the same kind of thing.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageMC "My TV": Any way to display 5 items under "Recent Recordings" instead of 4? mkanet SageMC Custom Interface 1 09-21-2008 05:13 PM
Recordings not showing up in "MyTV" but in "MyVideos" jmv SageTV Software 1 05-23-2008 02:09 PM
Plextor M402U: recordings with "hiccup" and "flashes" GARDEN Hardware Support 5 04-29-2007 04:42 AM
"Failed setting infrared transmitter port" Hauppague 45 btn MCE Rollup nekogaijin Hardware Support 7 10-26-2006 10:54 PM
Can't use View in Channel Setup - get "Watch request failed. ERROR (-12)" jklenk SageTV Software 0 11-14-2005 01:01 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.