SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 12:47 AM
stefam's Avatar
stefam stefam is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 19
Question New to Sage - Some Questions

OK, first post! I've been lurking the forums and learning all I can... But still have some questions while I wait for Sage to restock the HD Extenders...

I'm almost done with my 21-day trial and I'm loving it. After tinkering with Vista an XP MediaCenter for 3 years, Sage surpassed them in 4 weeks!

So... It seems obvious (after weeks of fumbling) that SageMC is the way to go. Lots of plug-ins, better WAF, etc.

1) Why isn't the default interface more like that one? You'd think they'd use the ideas, pay the fans who developed it, or something.

2) Why doesn't everyone use it? I'd imagine that would be the first thing most would do...

Am I missing something? Am I losing something critical (besides a full, very well written manual that comes with the OOTB solution)? Just seems you get a lot for just a little more effort and that these things would be rolled into the core product (well maybe not commskip and such... )

I'm testing on a PC with a PCI tuner, but:
Planning to roll out on a heavily modified HP MediaSmart home-server (model 475, 2GB RAM and a 2.6 GHZ processor) with two "stick" style digital tuners from hauppauge (HVR-950Q) in a USB2 hub, the HD-extender, old MCE remote (actually Logitec harmony with MCE profile), and only OTA ATSC signals (no cable or sat). My pioneer receiver will do the audio from the extender, and DVDs will be ripped or played from a DVD player (not Sage. An external eSATA DVD or Bluray may come later - as may the Wii Remote interface I'm tinkering with).

3) Am I missing anything? Suggestions before I plunge?

Probably shouldn't lump these in he same thread, but I will...
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:30 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefam View Post

1) Why isn't the default interface more like that one? You'd think they'd use the ideas, pay the fans who developed it, or something.

2) Why doesn't everyone use it? I'd imagine that would be the first thing most would do...

3) Am I missing anything? Suggestions before I plunge?
1. Only Sage developers know the answer ! Perhaps Sage V7 will have a better interface. Without SageMC I would not have purchased Sage myself, just too family unfriendly I feel.

2. I suspect most people do? Maybe someone did a poll sometime on the forum, haven't checked

3. Nope, as you have done mess with the trial and make sure it does what you want
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:46 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
1) Why isn't the default interface more like that one? You'd think they'd use the ideas, pay the fans who developed it, or something.
I can't speak for SageTV, but I would think that there are plenty of "fans" that use the default STV and prefer it over the SageMC. SageMC is pretty good, but the good thing about Sage is that you have the choice to install plugins to custom build your experience. Some people might say, why not have Comskip, imdb, webserver, etc, etc, etc as part of the default stv? I think that Sage is cautious to include anything into the default stv, since it just increases their support costs and maintenance costs. On the flip side, some developers, may not want Sage to "include" their plugin and "own" them. When that happens, they basically lose control over something that they built.

Personally, I'd rather that the Sage stv/plugin model was a little more "plugin" friendly, like the FireFox and Eclipse RCP plugin model, AND that they used a better MVC pattern so that the "View" was truly a view, and in being so, there could have been a lot more code reuse between SageMC and the default STV. Today, many plugins are SageMC specific, and it's shame that plugins couldn't have been more reuable between different STVs. I realize that Some plugins, that don't make ui contributions are compatible across different STVs, but most are STV specific.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:17 AM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I can't speak for SageTV, but I would think that there are plenty of "fans" that use the default STV and prefer it over the SageMC.
I agree. I suspect that the vast majority of SageTV users are using the default STV. Of the users I know personally, none use SageMC, although all of them have tried it. (none of them inhaled )

Discussion on any forums is always skewed as the contributors are generally only a small subset of the install base.

John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:24 AM
doc's Avatar
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I can't speak for SageTV, but I would think that there are plenty of "fans" that use the default STV and prefer it over the SageMC.
I am one of those fans.

I just don't like the Windows/Vista media centre interface. I never have done, from the first time I saw it. Yes its flash, but I prefer a good old fasioned menu system. Why wait for the whole screen to scroll round when all you want to do is move down one line on a menu!

I spend most of the time watching TV, not looking at the menu interface
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2008, 07:03 AM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
I find the original SageTV interface to be almost unsable; the way that it's organized just does not work with my brain.

Not really the main menu, but the sub menus, like how the different options are laid out in the Recorded TV screen. Also, I find the icons that they chose to be difficult to map to their actions.

Also, the "settings" menus are horribly organized, and unfortunately, SageMC doesn't help us evade them.

I agree that if SageMC didn't exist, I would not have bought a license.

Also, it might depend on whether people are using extenders. My feeling is that SageMC is much more extender-friendly than the original interface.

Todd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2008, 09:42 PM
rv73 rv73 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Ditto.
Original SageTV interface = unusable
SageMC = Awesomeness x 7. Main reason I bought Sage.

I love how you can change the rows and columns and font size of the Guide.
Very cool. No other media center can touch Sage at the moment.

Keep in mind though,
You can't play a CD from SageMC.
A user made plugin enables it in original Sage though.

Stupid ? Yes.

As my friend says when he came round to show his new CD to me:
"So you paid thousands for a computer and all this software, and it doesn't play a CD ?"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2008, 11:01 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by rv73 View Post
"So you paid thousands for a computer and all this software, and it doesn't play a CD ?"
To be fair, you didn't pay anything for SageMC. That's a freebie, so you can't really complain too much if it lacks some feature you want.

Also, nothing stops you from installing plugins into the stock STV and switching to that when you want to do things that SageMC doesn't support natively. So in fact your Sage system can play a CD if you take the trouble to set it up for that. Not the same as out-of-the-box support, I agree, but to say it can't do it at all is a bit of an exaggeration.

All of that said, I'm not a SageMC user myself. I'm not wild about the stock STV either, but I don't consider it unusable, just unappealing. Most of the time I use a custom STV I created myself, but I revert to stock for some things like setup and the music browser.

As to why the stock STV isn't more like SageMC, what would be the point of that? Choice is good, right? Given that SageMC exists, it would seem like a waste of effort for the Sage devs to imitate it instead of doing something different that might appeal to people who don't find SageMC compelling.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:53 PM
stefam's Avatar
stefam stefam is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 19
Thank you for the replies! its interesting to see that many people who know about both interfaces choose the stay ootb. Nothing wrong with that, but it does remind me that self != world.

Going ahead with my project and will use SageMC! After that's done I will be a paid user and entitled to whine about lack of windows mobile support on placeshifter!

Thanks again!

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2008, 11:07 PM
freedml freedml is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 549
Why doesn't SageTV embrace SageMC and other great modifications?

If SageMC is great (and it looks great, I just haven't been able to get it working yet) and so much better than the standard system, why doesn't SageTV embrace it and offer it as the standard system? Volunteers have spent countless hours making this thing spin like a top -- all SageTV has to do is get their permission to use it, beta test it, and make life SO MUCH EASIER on the rest of us, saving us countless hours and headaches!

* merged *
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
homeserver, noob, sagemc, setup


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with four TV Sage setup Nate SageTV Software 9 10-18-2006 11:54 PM
Sage Service Questions toricred SageTV Software 3 10-11-2006 08:06 PM
After Lockup - Sage Not working wolfpackmars2 SageTV Software 3 08-05-2006 10:23 PM
General Sage questions Donny Bahama General Discussion 13 06-07-2006 05:17 PM
How-To: Un-archive a Sage Recording... nielm SageTV Customizations 4 05-04-2005 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.