SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2020, 05:41 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
SageTV transcoding - kickstarter?

Getting our media remotely seems to be more and more important as time passes. SageTV placeshifter was pretty extraordinary in its day, some of the first of its kind. Of course with remote viewing skyrocketing since Sage was sold, it's pretty rough at this point. The transcoder needs a complete overhaul I imagine.

I'd be willing to dump some cash on any developer that's interesting in taking a shot at this. I would see up front if Jeff has a few tips to at least get you pointed in the right direction. I've never done it before, but I'd be willing to create a kickstarter to keep everything public in regard to paying the developer(s).

Anyone interested in SageTV Remote?

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 08-15-2020 at 12:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2020, 05:43 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 612
I think this is the one area that would really help bring SageTV forward. Being able to transcode media in our libraries to newer formats as well as being able to transcode at higher resolutions for placeshifting would really be a big step forward. I am willing to throw my hat in the ring, but I need a lot of help.

Depending on the approach taken, my expertise is more in the Java side, not in the C/C++ side. I can hack together some C code.

I definitely would be willing to make any necessary changes to the Android Miniclient to accommodate any changes in how transcoding might work in the future.

Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2020, 09:44 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,906
I am in as well for financial support. Isn't the main issue the version of ffmpeg used and Jeff had to do a lot of customization to it to make it work for SageTV. So to use a more modern version of ffmpeg you need to redo all of these customizations.

The current version doesn't even work properly for 1080i files in PlaceShifter on your local LAN.

FYI - to play files remotely I use Plex and AirVideoHD (an iOS app). My unRAID server has dockers running Plex, AirVideoHD and SageTV. For movie and TV series files I use Plex. But for sports and other newer recordings that may not have metadata I use AirVideoHD to watch on my iOS devcies.

The other option that should work, although I don't know that I have tried this, is to use a VPN connection back to your LAN (I also have OpenVPN server running in a docker on unRAID). Then you should be able to use any video file player, even SageTV Placeshifter, assuming that it works for that type of file on your LAN.

Of course the downside to transcoding is that it wouldn't be as easy to skip forward through files. SageTV is better at this then pretty much any other software and I use this all the time as I primarily use SageTV for watching sports.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2020, 07:13 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Of course the downside to transcoding is that it wouldn't be as easy to skip forward through files. SageTV is better at this then pretty much any other software and I use this all the time as I primarily use SageTV for watching sports.
I did not consider that. This might be quite a project, both at the server and client end. I suppose it's at least worth kicking around.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2020, 12:08 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
I honestly thought there would be more SageTV users interested in seeing something like this move forward.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2020, 03:49 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I honestly thought there would be more SageTV users interested in seeing something like this move forward.
I too use AirVideoHD and Plex for remote viewing, and while I don’t have any objections to donating a few bucks to ongoing support issues, I’m not sure how much I’d gain from this. For things I want to keep long term, I generally use Handbrake to convert stuff. The benefit of this development would be for the use of the Miniclient away from the home, yes?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-15-2020 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2020, 04:41 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I honestly thought there would be more SageTV users interested in seeing something like this move forward.
I guess if some are interested it is worth looking into it ... I personally do not need it use EMBY for remote access.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 08-15-2020 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2020, 12:44 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I am in as well for financial support. Isn't the main issue the version of ffmpeg used and Jeff had to do a lot of customization to it to make it work for SageTV. So to use a more modern version of ffmpeg you need to redo all of these customizations.

The current version doesn't even work properly for 1080i files in PlaceShifter on your local LAN.

FYI - to play files remotely I use Plex and AirVideoHD (an iOS app). My unRAID server has dockers running Plex, AirVideoHD and SageTV. For movie and TV series files I use Plex. But for sports and other newer recordings that may not have metadata I use AirVideoHD to watch on my iOS devcies.

The other option that should work, although I don't know that I have tried this, is to use a VPN connection back to your LAN (I also have OpenVPN server running in a docker on unRAID). Then you should be able to use any video file player, even SageTV Placeshifter, assuming that it works for that type of file on your LAN.

Of course the downside to transcoding is that it wouldn't be as easy to skip forward through files. SageTV is better at this then pretty much any other software and I use this all the time as I primarily use SageTV for watching sports.
I second that. I've been unable to transcode 1080i.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-dualHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2020, 06:55 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I second that. I've been unable to transcode 1080i.
I have been able to transcode 1080i content to the SageTV Android client without any issues. It looks flawless. This may be more an issue with MPlayer and the Placeshifter.

But yes the FFMpeg is very dated and needs to be updated. I am getting a lot more out of it than I expected. I was actually shocked.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2020, 04:53 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
But yes the FFMpeg is very dated and needs to be updated.
If FFMpeg just an executable that's buried within the code, and easily to update, or is it far more complicated than that?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV miniclient - transcoding? dmelnyk SageTV Clients Development 1 10-02-2016 05:01 AM
SageTV & HDHomeRun PLUS w/ Transcoding h.264 bigbill Hardware Support 12 06-03-2014 06:33 AM
SageTV 7 and h.264 transcoding thegodfaza SageTV Software 1 11-25-2010 12:12 AM
Info on SageTV transcoding MrFusion SageTV Software 4 11-09-2009 07:07 AM
SageTV Transcoding ptaylor SageTV Software 0 02-17-2007 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.