SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-01-2020, 05:51 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
I was never able to get an HD300 to connect remotely. Do you think this might now be possible with transcoding? I suppose there are better [newer] devices, but thought I'd ask.

Nice work by the way, Josh.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-02-2020, 10:18 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,899
What are the recommended hardware devices (for TVs) for running the Android client? Anyone have a list of the pros and cons of the various options. I have a MiBox that I used to use for this but it occasionally had issues with MPEG-2 playback so I haven't used it in a while.

Is the FireTV 4K the way to go, unless you don't mind paying more for the Shield?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-02-2020, 11:57 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
What are the recommended hardware devices (for TVs) for running the Android client? Anyone have a list of the pros and cons of the various options. I have a MiBox that I used to use for this but it occasionally had issues with MPEG-2 playback so I haven't used it in a while.

Is the FireTV 4K the way to go, unless you don't mind paying more for the Shield?
Both my FireTV's seem to work mostly ok. Occassionally they choke and sputter and need to be exited. Hard to say if it's dreaded, wireless internet, or the app itself
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-02-2020, 12:59 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Both my FireTV's seem to work mostly ok. Occassionally they choke and sputter and need to be exited. Hard to say if it's dreaded, wireless internet, or the app itself
Are they both 4K Firesticks? Or is one or both of them the older non-4K model?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-03-2020, 04:10 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is the FireTV 4K the way to go, unless you don't mind paying more for the Shield?
I have experience with the Amazon Firestick and Nvidea Shield devices - both older and newer versions..... (the original Firestick, the square FireTV, and now the 4k Firesticks, as well as a 2015 Nvidia Shield and 2019 Nvidia Shield Pro)

The "best" options is the 2019 Nvidia Shield Pro due to the AI-content aware upscaling. You can see a difference (especially text) when you A/B content, but it isn't "earth shattering" or a "must have" feature. If I had to walk into a room with a TV playing content from a 2019 Shield and tell someone if the AI scaling was turned on or not, I would not be able to do it and my answer would be a guess. All this to say that the difference that AI scaling makes is small, but it can make a difference.

The older Nvidia models don't have the AI upscaling and I see no point in getting one over the Firestick 4k device due to the higher cost.

Although I have the 2019 Shield Pro on my primary TV and use the AI-upscaling, I would not purchase more for my other TVs. They all have the 4k Firesticks and they are perfectly acceptable. I think the vast majority of people will be well served by the 4k Firestick devices. It is certainly fast enough to run the SageTV Mini Client well and costs a fraction of the Shield. Although the Shield can produce a slightly better result with the AI-upscaling, it isn't worth the $150 premium you have to pay to get it.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 09-22-2020 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-12-2020, 07:08 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 210
(OP) It sounds like folks are having success with the Firestick 4K - but I'm not. I am using the app from Amazon and 9.2.1 32 bit version of Sage. Recording with OpenDCT and a Prime. I'd be interested in the FS4K settings folks are using successfully.

I've tried a number of setting combinations....
  • Amazon app: Fixed and neither ExoPlayer or IJK, the app hangs when trying to connect. Had to remote in and cycle the service.
  • Exoplayer and any other combination the recording plays back with a black screen (just the timeline shows) for four seconds and then the entire screen becomes blank. Just recently, a waited a for awhile and the image slowly appeared, but audio is not synced.
  • With IJK, the playback starts pretty quickly but the audio is still out of sync.

Perhaps I need to update to the latest Sage version? I started to, but was presented with the (transcoder?) options in the install screen and have no idea which flavors to choose, and whether it would make a difference for my ultimate hope that I can use the miniclient to have playback at a quality equal to what I see with Emby playing Sage recordings.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-2400 @3.1GHz 4 cores Windows 8.1 Pro, Sage 9.2.1 with Comskip
Capture: OTA; Comcast to HD-PVR, HDHR, HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826 and OpenDCT version 0.5.13 beta
Storage: 1Tb HD on Server, 2Tb Buffalo NAS
Network: Gb Buffalo Router, Gb 8-port Netgear Switch connected to Server, HD-200, NAS, HDHR, Prime, LAN
Playback: HD-200, Server to HDTV; HD-300 and Emby for off-site playback
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miniclient+OTA - firestick looks better than Nvidia Shield? Telecore SageTV Clients Development 10 03-01-2020 05:36 PM
Nvidia Shield+Miniclient+OpenDCT=so close Telecore SageTV Clients Development 0 05-13-2019 05:34 PM
Miniclient, Nvidia Shield, Flirc and Logitech 650 Telecore SageTV Clients Development 2 09-22-2018 09:44 AM
Shield Miniclient performance ptaylor SageTV Clients Development 10 05-31-2018 12:58 PM
Sage MiniClient Issue on NVIDIA Shield JrClocker SageTV Clients Development 16 04-03-2018 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.