SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2010, 07:29 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 882
Oopsie- installed win sage instead of whs add-in- how to fix?

That's pretty much it. Wasn't thinking clear;ly when downloading the newest beta version, and wound up installing the desktop one instead of whs. I am now having some issues that may or may not be related, but probably should fix this somehow. How do I gracefully back out of this?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2010, 07:37 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
My guess would be to uninstall the windows version, and then install the WHS version...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2010, 08:41 AM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 566
Ouch. You might need to uninstall the standard Windows version from the Add/Remove Programs in the Windows Control Panel first, and then try to uninstall the WHS SageTV Addin from the WHS Console->Settings->Add-ins->Installed tab. If it won't let you uninstall the SageTV add-in, use the WHS Addin Cleanup Tool from http://www.asoft.be/prod_addincleanup.html to remove the add-in from the WHS Console to prevent two SageTV addins from being listed there after installing the new beta. Once it's cleaned up, install the new beta.

My SageTV upgrade procedure for WHS:

1. Download SageTV for WHS.
2. Stop SageTV Service from WHS Console SageTV tab.
3. Make a backup copy of the C:\Program Files\SageTV directory.
4. Uninstall the SageTV Addin from WHS Console.
5. Check/Install Java updates from Java.com
6. Install the new SageTV Addin from WHS Console.
7. Stop SageTV Service from WHS Console SageTV tab.
8. Delete the C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\jre folder.
9. Restart SageTV Service from WHS Console SageTV tab.

To downgrade if new beta is broken:

Do upgrade steps 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 9. Step 6 would then be to install the previous working version of SageTV for WHS. Assuming you notice things are broken right away and quickly decide to revert, just add one step between step 7 and 8 to ensure your previous setup is fully restored... add step:
7a. Restore backup of SageTV directory made in upgrade Step 3.

Step 7a should not be used if you have been using a new beta for more than a day or two, since it will revert your wiz.bin and you may lose data. If you have run for more than a day before deciding to downgrade, do the downgrade, and then restore everything except the wiz.bin file from the backup. If the wiz.bin format has changed and the downgraded SageTV doesn't recognize it, it wll likely mark it as corrupted and start a new wiz.bin. If that happens, your recordings should be repopulated using the metadata stored in the recording file, but any manual changes you made that weren't stored in the file will be lost and any recordings that do not have metadata in them will end up in the imported videos list instead of recordings list. And it may take several minutes for the media scan to reimport all of your music, movies, and pictures before all of the files show up in the SageTV UI.

If the rebuilt wiz.bin isn't satisfactory (recordings showing up as imported videos or too many items that lost manually customized metadata), stop SageTV Service, copy the wiz.bin from your backup to the SageTV directory, and restart SageTV. All previous changes should now be restored, but any recent changes to metadata that weren't stored in the recording and any manual changes using plugins like the BMT Web interface, while you were using the previously installed upgraded SageTV, will be lost.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 2.83GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u241, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters

Last edited by robogeek; 08-07-2010 at 08:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage v7: WHS vs. Win 7 Pro ohpleaseno General Discussion 7 06-04-2010 11:33 AM
Questions about going from WHS to Win 7 for SageTV server crarbo1 SageTV Software 20 04-07-2010 05:15 PM
Win 7 client, WHS server, hdpvr issues? toony Hardware Support 7 03-16-2010 03:38 PM
WHS Add-ins Tab Showing Old Versions of Sage dibs SageTV Software 2 12-04-2008 07:19 AM
When are the Win.bin, Win.bak, Sage.properties, and Sage.properties.autobackup saved? zubblwump SageTV Software 3 01-16-2005 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.