SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2020, 10:48 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Lost CW Sound

Well this is strange. I have two HDHomeRuns (Connect Quatro and Connect Duo) and they both connect up to Sage but on the local CW affiliate main channel (32.1) they don't have sound. The sub channels (32.2, 32.3, etc.) do have sound and other channels work w/o issue. I've removed and re-added the tuners with the same result. If I connect to the tuner directly with VLC I get sound. If I connect with Channels.app I can also get sound.

Thoughts?

*Edit* Both are running the latest FW. SageTV is running the latest docker. I'm watching this on a nvidia shield with the latest client.

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2020, 12:20 PM
markvl markvl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
The last few weeks our CW 32-1 (Portland, OR) channel has stopped broadcasting 5.1 channel surround sound, they are only broadcasting 2 channel stereo. There are two audio channels in the broadcast, both are marked as English, but only one of the audio channels has sound. SageTV might be defaulting to the wrong channel. I would try manually selecting the audio channels to see which one has sound.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2020, 06:47 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Same channel. How can I switch the audio on SageTV? Can I specify a channel use a specific audio channel?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2020, 12:07 PM
markvl markvl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Well what I suggested did not work for me. In SageTV it's showing English and Spanish audio channels, both had no sound on play back on the mini-client.

I have been editing out the commercials and moving the recording to Plex for long term storage. That is where I have been watching the CW shows.

I played around the different players in the mini-client on the Shield. The only one that play's the sound is the Exo Player, but the video is choppy since it is an mpeg recording.

I used SageTV convert option on the CW recording and that fixed the sound issue on the Shield. When you select a recording, you have the option of Basic Options or Advanced Options. On the Advanced Options menu there is a Convert option.

For the "Format:", I choose "MPEG4 HDTV".
For the "Quality:", Tried both "Good Quality H.264 MVK", "High Quality H.264 MKV".

"Good Quality" option looked fine to me.

i would recommend leaving the "Delete Original When Done" option unchecked.

After clicking on the "Convert Recording" it took about 15 mins to convert the recording on my windows system. You end up with two recording, the original and the converted.

I hope channel 32-1 will change their audio broadcast back to 5.1 channels.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2020, 07:22 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 374
F.W.I.W. - I had some similar issues with recordings from The CW.

These recordings were made during the of Jan 13-17. My Sage Server is a Windows x64 machine and my provider is Xfinity (Comcast).

In my case, I did have some sound (background music) but no voices. Both audio tracks that were recorded had this issue. I had 4 recordings on The CW that week and 3 of them had audio issues.

I didn't try to watch any of these recordings until last evening. I have not tried to play these in VLC or any other player, as yet, may not. I downloaded the effected episodes through PlayOn.

The episodes recorded the following week (Jan 20-24) seem fine, at least for the little I played back.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2020, 10:01 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
I'll need to debug some more. I did see the Spanish and English options but neither had sound. I haven't tried the Exo player but in the past I ran into issues using it.

Fortunately I've been testing Channels as a possible alternative and it captured the CW shows w/o issue. While my preference is for SageTV I might have to switch unless I can get it working.

Ben
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost sound part way through recording on extenders wayner SageTV Media Extender 0 05-06-2013 08:54 PM
Lost my sound on OTA HD menace SageTV Software 0 11-11-2008 11:38 AM
Intermittant sound lost talonmike SageTV Software 1 01-08-2007 12:28 PM
Lost sound on WintTv pvr2 USb jphhughes Hardware Support 0 08-05-2005 08:34 PM
Sound Synchronization being lost cragis SageTV Software 4 05-20-2005 05:00 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.