SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2009, 04:28 PM
Linkin_Logs Linkin_Logs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 24
A couple of questions before I buy

I'm looking to buy the HD200 in the next couple of days but I have a few questions.

1. What's the preferred method of ripping for DVD (Iso or folder) and BD (Iso or folder)? The reason I ask is that I'm aware that there is no quality difference but was wondering if one method works better with the HD200. I'm not going to re-encode/shrink/compress/tmux etc...

2. As far as DTS goes, can I hook the HD200 to a receiver and still have DTS? If so can I do it through HDMI or do I need to use something else?

3. Since I'm going to use a receiver (Still looking...perhaps an Onkyo or Denon), are there any makes/models that work better or worse with the HD200?

4. Any challenges with using WHS and the HD200? Also what TV tuner is best to use with WHS?

Sorry for so many questions, but I'd rather ask ahead of time as opposed to later.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2009, 06:45 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
1. Folder method works best.
2. DTS cn passthru to your receiver. HDMI or SPDIF should work.
3. I'm just using SPDIF out to a old SOny 5.1 DD and DTS receiver.
4. HD200 and WHS -no challeges. I'm using the HDHomerun (ClearQAM and/or ATSC) and a HD-PVR. YMMV with the HD-PVR but I don't have any issues. The HDHomerun just works.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:16 PM
Linkin_Logs Linkin_Logs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 24
As far as the WHS goes, which software do I need to install on my WHS box? I eventually plan on getting a HomerunHD. Will the software in the combo HD200 $249 bundle be enough or is something else needed?

Thanks for the quick reply by the way...much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2009, 06:00 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Download the WHS install from the SageTV website. Also make sure to install java.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2009, 11:17 AM
Linkin_Logs Linkin_Logs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 24
Thanks for the info...I've ordered the combo package and hopefully will have something setup this weekend depending on shipping.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couple questions atomic98 Hardware Support 2 04-19-2008 05:13 PM
Ok, Another Couple of Questions... robhix General Discussion 1 02-10-2007 02:10 PM
Couple Questions before I try. camus SageTV Customizations 3 01-28-2007 08:08 PM
couple of questions craigap SageTV Software 9 05-08-2006 08:42 AM
couple of questions kn4ppst3r SageTV Linux 12 02-10-2006 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.