SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:55 PM
DCipher DCipher is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
HDTV Transport Stream playback

OK - so i've got an Fusion HDTV5 Lite card working great with Sage 4.1.4 - recording the transport stream. Sage can record & playback without a problem.

However, the mpeg files can't be played back by any other software - TheaterTek refuses to play them (starts & stops); VLC will play back video only; My Roku will only play back the video too - just doesn't see the audio track.

If I record to a .tp (transport stream) file from the fusion application, i can play back the files everywhere - VLC, Roku, no problem.

So - what's Sage doing to the files???

Thanks,
Jeff
__________________
SageTV 4.1.10 w/ SageMC16x9
TheaterTek 2.2.1

P4 2.6 Ghz, 768 MB RAM, 80 GB
NVidia 6600GT, M-Audio Delta Dio 24/96, Sony DVD, DIGN case w/ VFD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2006, 06:36 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 232
So no one here knows?

I'm guessing it's a 'feature' built in by SageTV to force you into the client.
It's BS.

Why can't I stream a show from my HTPC to my office PC using good old SMB? Well I can, but in VLC it has no audio.

I've found that I can copy the whole file over & it will play in Womble Mpeg Video Wizard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2006, 07:39 AM
Mark SS Mark SS is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack
I'm guessing it's a 'feature' built in by SageTV to force you into the client.
It's BS.
Idiot, what a ridiculous statement to make.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCipher
However, the mpeg files can't be played back by any other software
Could be a bug, submit a bug report and see what support have to say.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2006, 10:45 AM
jkohn jkohn is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
I discovered the same problem. You can configure SageTV to record Transport Stream (*.TS) instead of Program Stream (*.mpg) by changing a setting in the properties xml file. This may help with some software (for instance I could play the TS files back on my desktop using PowerDVD), but in my experience TheaterTek still won't be able to play the files.

I think the problem may have to do with the fact that SageTV strips out the extra sub-channels (even when recording TS files).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2006, 07:59 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohn
I discovered the same problem. You can configure SageTV to record Transport Stream (*.TS) instead of Program Stream (*.mpg) by changing a setting in the properties xml file. This may help with some software (for instance I could play the TS files back on my desktop using PowerDVD), but in my experience TheaterTek still won't be able to play the files.

I think the problem may have to do with the fact that SageTV strips out the extra sub-channels (even when recording TS files).
Can you be more specific. What setting?

I've perused the properties file for SageTV and cannot find an obvious setting to change.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2006, 08:01 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark SS
Idiot, what a ridiculous statement to make.
.
Idiot, No, Pessimist, Yes.

It's just so far fetched that a company might attempt to modify a file format to drive sales of another product.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2006, 09:00 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack
Idiot, No, Pessimist, Yes.

It's just so far fetched that a company might attempt to modify a file format to drive sales of another product.
Maybe do a little research and contact tech support before making baseless accusations and people won't react that way.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2006, 09:35 AM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack
Idiot, No, Pessimist, Yes.

It's just so far fetched that a company might attempt to modify a file format to drive sales of another product.
Sure, there are companies that play file-format games to try to lock you in. SageTV isn't one of them. You should look into the history of these boards to see the efforts SageTV has made to support the quirks of the various TV cards before you make any more guesses.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2006, 08:54 AM
acegolfer acegolfer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
I can't playback the mpg file that SageTV created in another PC. Has anyone figure this out?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:32 AM
jkohn jkohn is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by acegolfer
I can't playback the mpg file that SageTV created in another PC. Has anyone figure this out?
There's something non-standard about the files SageTV creates. I've yet to find another application that will play back the "program stream" MPG files and even when changing to transport stream files some apps (like TheaterTek) still can't play them although PowerDVD can play the TS files.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:54 PM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohn
There's something non-standard about the files SageTV creates. I've yet to find another application that will play back the "program stream" MPG files and even when changing to transport stream files some apps (like TheaterTek) still can't play them although PowerDVD can play the TS files.

i havent had any problem playing back the files i get with a pair of AverMedia a180's. What HD tuner card are you using?

(VideoRedo and VLC and WMP all play the *.mpg back fine)
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2006, 01:42 PM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
There's also a new version that lists a .ts improvement. 6.0.19

P
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:52 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Sage strips unwanted/unneeded subchannels, and I know at one point there were some apps that didn't like the way Sage did that. IIRC there have been a lot of transport stream recording fixes since version 4.

For one V6, and maybe even V5 default to recording to an MPEG PS instead of an MPEG TS.

I have that disabled and my TS recordings play fine in WMP on a different machine.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-28-2006, 06:18 PM
morfinx's Avatar
morfinx morfinx is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 147
Just curious, how does one change the default setting to record to TS instead of PS?

EDIT: How do I know which format it's currently recording in? The file extension is .mpg
__________________
Athlon X2 4000 @ 2.5Ghz | Antec Veris Fusion v2 | Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H | A-Data 2GB | Westinghouse LVM-37W1 37" LCD | 500GB Samsung | Hauppauge HVR-1800 | VBox DTA-150 | Logitech Harmony 520 | SageTV 6.2.10

Last edited by morfinx; 12-28-2006 at 06:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-28-2006, 06:24 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
In the sage.properties file:
mmc/encode_digital_tv_as_program_stream=false
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:57 AM
garyellis garyellis is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 511
So, let me ask the basic question...

What is the benfit of recording to a TS vs a PS?

Obvious I don't understand what TS even is....

Gary Ellis
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-30-2006, 09:04 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Transport Streams (vs Program Streams) are just a different way of holding audio and video, the only real benefit is a lot of the HD-specific processing programs out there only work on TS streams.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.