SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:23 PM
GoldenTiger GoldenTiger is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Small black-and-white dotted line at the top of all channels watching livetv?

Not sure what setting this might be, but I have a small, moving/flashing black and white line at the top of all live tv that I am watching, not sure how to get rid of it. I tried adjusting the overscan settings some (I am watching on my computer's monitor), but can't think of anything else to try and fix it. Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:05 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
That's probably the CC data in the TV signal. You want to adjust the Aspect Ratio Settings in Detailed Setup -> Multimedia, not Overscan Settings. The Overscan Settings adjust the size/position of the UI, not the video.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:33 AM
GoldenTiger GoldenTiger is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Perfect, thanks! Adjusting the offset to -3 fixed this for me .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2006, 06:14 PM
cslatt's Avatar
cslatt cslatt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 239
This should be added to the FAQ. I was having the same issue and just hadn't gotten around to asking about it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2006, 09:35 PM
Jackal24 Jackal24 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 120
Me too. I hadn't asked because I thought it was an artifact from my video card. -3 worked for me too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2006, 08:29 PM
init6's Avatar
init6 init6 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to init6 Send a message via Yahoo to init6
Maybe this is a silly question, but which offset did you adjust? The vert. or horiz? Neither seem to help, but maybe I'm doing something wrong. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2006, 10:18 PM
cslatt's Avatar
cslatt cslatt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 239
Vertical
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:43 PM
eehtpc's Avatar
eehtpc eehtpc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Hampton, NY
Posts: 28
Exclamation

The vertical offset adjustment suggested does not hide the cc data for me. Resolution-specific?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:07 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
The negative offset value will depend on your system, so if you tried the "-3" mentioned above, it may not do it for you. On the same Detailed Setup -> Multimedia screen, set the Video Menu Options to use Background & play a video. That way, you will see the video in the background as you make your adjustments.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:39 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,315
The aspect ratio mode can also affect this too. Try a different aspect ratio mode if the adjustment isn't having any effect for you.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.