SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2007, 02:07 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Arrow STV Import: Pause On Skip

This STVI enables a Pause On Skip feature that pauses playback briefly when skipping forward and backward in a TV show or imported video. Playback resumes automatically when the OSD controls disappear.

For download and installation instructions, click here.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2007, 01:08 PM
chrisc16's Avatar
chrisc16 chrisc16 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 205
Purely out of curiousity, what problem is this meant to solve? I'm not knocking your import, just trying to understand it.

-Chris
__________________
Win7, HDHomeRun, HD200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2007, 02:49 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
In the standard STV, if you hit the Skip Forward or Skip Backward button several times in quick succession while a video is playing, you get little blips of sound in between skips. Some people (including me) find this annoying. Plus if you skip forward a few times, and then skip backward the same number of times, you don't end up back where you started, because all those blips add up to a net forward progress of a few seconds.

To get around these issues, I sometimes found myself manually hitting the Pause button before starting a series of skips. So I decided to see if I could get it to pause automatically while skipping. I found I liked the result well enough to leave the auto-pause feature turned on all the time, so I thought I'd offer it to others in case they might like it too.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:04 AM
grauchy grauchy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 90
Does this also work with comskip autoskipping? I'm going to try it because sometimes after it skips the commercial break I get some strange behavior. Sometimes playback accelerates until I stop it and have to go back or playback video will freeze while the audio continues.

This only happens after the comskip autoskip. It doesn't happen everytime and what fixes it is to stop playback then resume. So I'm going to try this customization and I hope it works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2007, 12:52 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
The pause-on-skip feature is triggered directly off the Skip Forward and Skip Backward command listeners. I don't use autoskip and don't know how it works, but I imagine it does it by calling the media transport APIs to seek to specific positions, rather than generating simulated Skip Forward commands. So it seems unlikely that my plugin will do anything in that situation, but you're welcome to give it a try.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:07 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by grauchy View Post
Does this also work with comskip autoskipping? I'm going to try it because sometimes after it skips the commercial break I get some strange behavior. Sometimes playback accelerates until I stop it and have to go back or playback video will freeze while the audio continues.

This only happens after the comskip autoskip. It doesn't happen everytime and what fixes it is to stop playback then resume. So I'm going to try this customization and I hope it works.
The comskip playback import and SageMC both have an option to pause on skip when autoskipping.

John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2007, 03:26 PM
grauchy grauchy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 90
I am using SageMC and I can't find the pause on autoskip option anywhere in the GUI. Is it in a properties file somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2007, 03:52 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,082
Sorry, I thought it was in SageMC, but you're right it's not.

John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:03 PM
grauchy grauchy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 90
Has anyone else experienced some strnage behavior with the SageMC autoskip functionality?

My experience is that sometimes when it skips it will skip then play fast until I stop/resume. Or the video will freeze and the audio continue until I stop/resume.

I was hoping the pause after skip function would help but I don't know how to code xml imports...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2007, 05:05 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Questions about SageMC features are probably best dealt with on a SageMC-specific thread. I'd kind of like to keep this thread focused on questions related to this STVI, which is is designed for the standard STV, not for SageMC.

Thanks.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.