SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:48 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Talking HD Component capture with H.264 Encode

I've got a question for you all....so *if* there *was* a USB device that could capture HD at 1080i and encode it into H.264 that worked with SageTV....what do you think a good name for it would be?

__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:55 AM
Motofreak75 Motofreak75 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 578
Send a message via ICQ to Motofreak75
Sagetv LLC HD-PVR encoder
__________________
12.04 server Sagetv7
HD-pvr / 2250 /PVR 500 / DVBS w/rotor & 36 inch dish
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:56 AM
Khristopher Khristopher is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 275
It should be called the "SageTV HD Magic Stick".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:01 PM
malbec malbec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
Assuming this is via the analog hole with no DRM issues to contend with...

Best thing since sliced bread?

Best thing since air conditioning?

The answer to my prayers (assuming a fair price point)?

The end all, be all?

There has to be a cool name/acronym for it, but it is alluding me right now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:01 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
OMG I'd call it kick butt, take names or the perfect mate for the HD Extender. Oh, and "if" there were one, would you sign me up for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:09 PM
PGPfan's Avatar
PGPfan PGPfan is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oldtown, Idaho USA
Posts: 862
"HD Perfection"

-PGPfan
__________________
Sage Server: Gigabyte 690AMD m-ATX, Athlon II X4 620 Propus, 3.0 GB ram, (1) VistaView dual analog PCI-e tuner, (2) Avermedia Purity 3D MCE 250's, (1) HD-Homerun, 1.5 TB of hard drives in a Windows Home Server drive pool, Western Digital 300GB 'scratch' disk outside the pool, Gigabit LAN
Sage Clients: MSI DIVA m-ATX, 5.1 channel 100w/channel amplifier card, 2 GB ram, , (1) Hauppauge MVP, (1) SageTV HD-100 Media Storage: unRAID 3.6TB server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:26 PM
BitBass BitBass is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
money
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:30 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I've got a question for you all....so *if* there *was* a USB device that could capture HD at 1080i and encode it into H.264 that worked with SageTV....what do you think a good name for it would be?

Tease.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:30 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga.
Posts: 813
I would say "The Holy Grail."

So, Sir Narflex, are you ready to be seated in The Siege Perilous?

No teasing. This is just cruel. Details, we need details.

Jesse
__________________
Server: Asus P5Q-EM DO, Q6600, 8 Gigs ram, WHS 2011, 1 HDHomerun(x2 OTA), 1 HD-PVR, 1 Colossus, V7.1.9 sage, 3.3 TB vid storage.
HD100 X1
HD200 X2
HD300 X1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:39 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
I'd say, it should be called "I'll take 3 Please", lol.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:45 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I volunteer to beta test.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:48 PM
rlvogel322's Avatar
rlvogel322 rlvogel322 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 163
Woohoo!!!

Is that name already taken?

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:56 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Hummm, I think I better postpone my order for a new R5000 mod for a bit longer
__________________
We’re doomed. It will never work
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:58 PM
autoboy autoboy is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
2nd vote for HD magic stick. Please no more names like the FuDRM HD SRX-2000 manumatic type R.

So...

*If* such a card existed, what would the quality be like on this card? This won't be a bit perfect transfer like what we get with the R5000 or HDhomerun. It will be a digital -> analog -> digital -> compressed in h.264 version of the digital stream. I think I'll keep my R5000. But this would open up a whole new realm of possibility. HD already looks so damn good that I doubt the quality loss would be much of an issue. I can't see a difference b/w HDMI and component on my Sony KDS60A3000 display, so if the quality was comparable, this would be another killer product in the SageTV future.

Last edited by autoboy; 01-08-2008 at 01:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:00 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
I would say "The Holy Grail."
Perhaps the "Analog Hole-y Grail"

Last edited by evilpenguin; 01-08-2008 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:03 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
I'd call it money in the bank.

Seriously, I think Motofreak has it right:

Sagetv USB HD-PVR Encoder
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:16 PM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,801
SageTV HD CompCoder Mk I, Mod 0

P
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:19 PM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 573
I'd call it the answer to my prayers!

But I think I'd actually prefer an HD MPEG-2 encoder. The reason being Showanalyzer, Comskip, and VideoRedo+ don't work with Mpeg-4 AVC. I dont think I could live w/o the nice automated system I have going with Showanalyzer and VideRedo no longer working.

As far as quality goes, it depends on how effecient the encoder is, but the bitrate will need to be higher than the incoming stream. I would imagine a 19mps 1080i stream looking pretty much the same if re-encoded at 25mpbs MPEG-2, or around 12-15 mbps in h.264.

Oh, it also needs optical audio in!

Last edited by lobosrul; 01-08-2008 at 01:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:20 PM
Enormous's Avatar
Enormous Enormous is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: D.C. Area
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motofreak75 View Post
Sagetv LLC HD-PVR encoder
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGPfan View Post
"HD Perfection"
I like both of these. Top one is more serious, bottom one has more market appeal.

Also, how about: SageTV Super HD Encoder

(now with more USB!)
__________________
-Eric
Client: STX-HD100 Extender, Connected to 47" Visio 1080p LCD via HDMI, Running SageMC
Client: Media MVP Running SageMC
Server: Antec SLK3800B, AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+, Biostar TForce 550, GeForce 7300LE, 1GB DDR2 800, 2 x HVR-1600, PVR-150MCE, 1.4TB HD Space, XP Pro, Java6, Latest SageTV Version
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:26 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
I guess I'm a cynic -- I'd call it the death knell of the analog hole.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Puzzled: Sage not using 3rd tuner wvpolekat SageTV Software 2 11-15-2007 01:36 PM
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
AUUUGH I Give UP!!! TripleTapper SageTV Media Extender 46 01-03-2006 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.