SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:39 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Anyone using keyword Olympics for recording?

I'm curious if any of the power users are using keyword recording to record all Olympics coverage these past few weeks. I've found one who's doing this (and now upgrading his hard drive ) but curious if any of you are doing this as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2008, 01:21 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
I can't even watched all the ones I recorded on NBC, USA Network, and Universal HD, with just the "XXIX Summer Olympics" title.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:30 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
I limit my viewing to HD channels and still have a hard time finding time to watch everything I record. Good thing for that FF feature, I can skip table tennis. Hopefully I'll make it through the end of the week without buying another hard drive.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2008, 01:47 PM
Addict's Avatar
Addict Addict is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 335
I did it for a few days, but parsing through 4, 6, and 8-hour videos to watch what I wanted proved irritating. So, I stopped. Would be nice if the network broke the programs up into more managable chunks.

-AL (I tweeted ya this...)
__________________
Al Bsharah / Twitter
Clients:
Two STX-HD100 High-Def Extenders
Media Server / NAS:
Case: Thermaltake Armor CPU: AMD Opteron 1218 (2.6GHz Dual Core) Motherboard: ASUS MN2-LR Memory: 2GB Gfx Card: Headless Tuner: Hauppauge HD-PVR, Hauppauge PVR-350 (not in use) O/S: Windows 7 Sage: Latest RAID: On-Board Drives: 6 x 1.5TB SATA RAID-5, 2 x 80GB IDE RAID-1 (O/S) Storage: 7.5TB Total
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2008, 02:41 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
whats crazy is I can't upgrade to 6.4.8 final because the olympic recordings are going almost non stop. There's no downtime to upgrade, at least not when I'm free to do so.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2008, 06:49 PM
rgroves rgroves is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 133
I agree on the upgrade... My HDHR is running non-stop for the last 5 days recording the Olympics and my TV shows on other HD stations.

At least we know in a few more days the olympics will be over and then the upgrade marathin can begin. For me it's RAM, DVD drive removal, and cable management for the inside of the server and an upgraded UPS for the outside. Then I have upgrades for my HTPC (OS rebuild, RAM, UPS, cable management, and installing my new Logitech Dinovo Mini that I got for my birthday....yea me).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:28 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,250
But it is great to watch 8 hrs of Olympic coverage in 2-3 hours!

There is always a ton of wasted time between heats, no need to watch the replay after every event, and there is always at least 1 or 2 events that I have no interest in watching.

I've had Sage set up in earnest only for about a month now (since getting the HD-PVR) and watching the Olympics has made my wife learn how to use the system. So it has been great for that too. She now knows how to use everything flawlessly. It would have been much harder to teach her to use it any other time.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (32bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Charter cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:34 AM
cslatt's Avatar
cslatt cslatt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm curious if any of the power users are using keyword recording to record all Olympics coverage these past few weeks. I've found one who's doing this (and now upgrading his hard drive ) but curious if any of you are doing this as well.
No, I just searched the EPG for the events I like to watch using nielm's webserver and marked them to record manually.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2008, 12:22 PM
appelm appelm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 323
I added a terrabyte drive recently so I could record tons of olympics. I probably watched about 60% of what I recorded but it was nice to have the option.

I found that comskip was invaluable for watching hours and hours of recorded olympics. The ability to skip from one segment to the next using the right arrow let me move through different olympic events with ease. When watching something that hand't been comskip processed, it was a lot more painful to have to skip forward through hours of programming.

I offload comskip onto a dual-core machine instead of using my server. That machine has been working real hard lately chomping away the commercials of my hd olympics recordings 24/7.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not start early/end late w/ Keyword Autorecord grooves12 SageTV Software 3 04-02-2007 09:51 PM
SageTV 4.1.14 Beta '*' in keyword fav Deadbolt SageTV Beta Test Software 3 04-24-2006 08:33 AM
Feature Request, Multiple Keyword Favorites Humanzee SageTV Customizations 2 03-14-2006 04:13 PM
can you exclude words from the keyword search? jryan15 SageTV Software 3 03-09-2006 02:52 PM
The Winter Olympics are coming up cslatt The SageTV Community 5 02-11-2006 04:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.