SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:16 AM
Nate Nate is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 92
Auto mute for Hulu commercials

I don't know if anyone here uses Hulu, but I made a little utility:
http://www.mediafire.com/?bngimvlutcz
Just run "hulumute.jar" and then watch Hulu. It automatically mutes the system volume during commercials. It only works when Hulu is full screen though, since it works by watching the color of the pixels at the top of the screen. Source code included.

I know it isn't exactly Sage related, but I wanted to share the love and this is the best place I could think of.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2012, 02:36 PM
tw3 tw3 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Hey Nate this is a great utility, I've used it a lot. But it looks like Hulu has just updated their video player. So this tool no longer works. Do you have an update?

-Ted
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2012, 06:33 PM
tw3 tw3 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
hulumute2012

Ok I was able to update the source code to match the ads in the new player.

http://www.mediafire.com/?otl4r3hwqpy5xh7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2012, 12:49 AM
MickeyM191 MickeyM191 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks to both Nate and tw3 for the effort on this. I stumbled upon this code after a quick Google search for a hulu automuter that works in Windows.

I've found though, that when the Hulu show is playing in full screen on a 16:9 ratio monitor (1280 x 720, in my case), the advertisement text is not in a black bar along the top but instead within the advertisement video itself. This would lead to certain lighter-colored advertisement backgrounds affecting the color of the points sampled by this program. I did some logging/debugging and altered the source code to check instead for one matching color within an array of 8 different colors. It's not perfect, the rare ad will still slip through, but it catches the ads much more consistently than before.

I figured I would share this with those affected and made an account for these forums just for this purpose. Here's the link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vdnilv8f0a5b4gz/HuluMute.zip

I'll post any future updates here as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2012, 04:26 AM
MickeyM191 MickeyM191 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Another update

I've finished another update that creates a black frame to cover up the visuals of the advertisement (without covering up the area that is checked, of course). So now that the ads are automatically muted and covered up, you would never know they were there. Of course the content provider still gets revenue from ads being played, and the ad breaks are much shorter than with any alternative ad blocking options (For example: AdBlock Plus blocks the content from loading, but Hulu's default "blank" ads are muuuuuch longer than regular ad breaks.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/acr2g8oq6v...luMute_0.2.zip

This is tested working on a Win 7 Ultimate x64 PC, running Hulu from Firefox 17. There may be issues for others with UAC, as I have my PC set to never prompt, but if needed just run the .jar as an administrator.

The included utility, saved as keepfullscreen.exe, and the Flashhook Module.dll that goes with it is from here, and is used to prevent Hulu's flash player from exiting fullscreen mode when another event occurs.

Try it and let me know how it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2012, 12:48 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 493
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69 Send a message via Skype™ to wbarber69
could you make this work with win8 hulu metro app?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2013, 05:48 PM
MickeyM191 MickeyM191 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
For anyone that's interested, I will have future updates and other information available at hulumute.wordpress.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by wbarber69 View Post
could you make this work with win8 hulu metro app?
I don't currently own a Windows 8 PC, nor do I have any experience as of yet with that operating system. Does the program not work when watching videos in fullscreen after navigating to Hulu with any internet browser?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2013, 03:41 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 493
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69 Send a message via Skype™ to wbarber69
it works with the in browser player but not the metro app.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2013, 04:18 PM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
Need to get this working as a plugin! Would be awesome on the hardware clients.
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Mute HD Audio Striker:WG SageTV Software 8 01-22-2010 09:55 PM
Auto-removing commercials MalibuDave42 SageMC Custom Interface 9 09-29-2009 04:19 PM
overloading the mute behavior Gog SageTV Studio 7 09-26-2009 06:21 PM
Hulu: Possible to Use XBMC Hulu Plugin to create SageTV Plugin? Brent SageTV Customizations 8 02-24-2009 04:16 PM
CC with Mute marchold SageTV Beta Test Software 1 11-12-2006 08:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.