SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:28 PM
bigo93bronco's Avatar
bigo93bronco bigo93bronco is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 315
A Few Placeshifter Q's

My new job requires alot of travel and hotel stays, so I'm really getting into the placeshifter side of Sage. I have a reletively slow upload speed on my home ISP, and I'd like to adjust the size of the playback buffer on the placeshifter. Where is the properties file for the placeshifter located? Server or placeshifter side? I haven't had too many issues with video playback so long as I pause the video for a few seconds before I start watching it. The menus are very slow however. Are the menus "processed" on the server side or the placeshifter end? I installed the placeshifter program onto my laptop which allready had a registered and legit installation of sagetv client installed. I did this about a month ago and the placeshifter trial never locked the program out (although it still reminds me that it's a trial). Could the fact that I have both programs installed be causing issues with the menus? I installed the placeshifter program to a different folder then the client.

like this : programfiles/sagetv
sagetv
common
placeshifter
__________________
Windows 10 X64 ASUS Z270 TUF2 MOBO
Intel I5 Kaby Lake @3.3 Corsair H65 AIO water cooler
16GB GSkill DRR4 10 SATA hotswap bays in 4U RM case
Redundant power supply, dual UPS's, etc
Samsung EVO 850 SSD X2 OS drives
WD 4TB Purple drive for recordings, various other drives for archives
Tuners are a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:19 AM
bigo93bronco's Avatar
bigo93bronco bigo93bronco is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 315
WOW,

Not as much traffic on this site as there used to be Does anyone know what properties file effects the placeshifter client?
__________________
Windows 10 X64 ASUS Z270 TUF2 MOBO
Intel I5 Kaby Lake @3.3 Corsair H65 AIO water cooler
16GB GSkill DRR4 10 SATA hotswap bays in 4U RM case
Redundant power supply, dual UPS's, etc
Samsung EVO 850 SSD X2 OS drives
WD 4TB Purple drive for recordings, various other drives for archives
Tuners are a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 06:06 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigo93bronco View Post
Where is the properties file for the placeshifter located? Server or placeshifter side?
The placeshifter should have the MAC address of the server where SageTV is running on, but because is a kind of client I would expect the .properties file in the clients folder. The SageTV instance you have on the server has a MAC address set as "null".

Quote:
I haven't had too many issues with video playback so long as I pause the video for a few seconds before I start watching it. The menus are very slow however. Are the menus "processed" on the server side or the placeshifter end?
The whole UI is generated on the server side. However the placeshifter uses a proprietary VBR compression that tries to optimize the throughput by constantly monitoring your internet connection. I use sometimes placeshifter from work through a VPN channel to my home server and considering that my upload speed is about 1.5Mbits the result is pretty decent.

Quote:
I installed the placeshifter program onto my laptop which allready had a registered and legit installation of sagetv client installed. I did this about a month ago and the placeshifter trial never locked the program out (although it still reminds me that it's a trial). Could the fact that I have both programs installed be causing issues with the menus? I installed the placeshifter program to a different folder then the client.
like this : programfiles/sagetv
sagetv
common
placeshifter
I don't think so
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MCE & Placeshifter in 6.1.4 Mahoney SageTV Beta Test Software 0 03-13-2007 02:44 PM
Placeshifter in 6.1.3 RC gblinckmann SageTV Beta Test Software 0 02-21-2007 09:22 PM
Thank You! (Mac Placeshifter) nicktripp SageTV Placeshifter 5 12-30-2006 11:06 PM
Thanks for Placeshifter!! ChePazzo SageTV Placeshifter 3 06-16-2006 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.