SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

View Poll Results: How does your Sage TV system behave with respect to Sleep
My system is configured to never sleep: it runs full power 24/7 30 54.55%
I tried to get my system to sleep, but it crashed, so I went back to 1) 3 5.45%
I have my system configured to sleep, but it doesn't ever sleep, and I don't have a fix 3 5.45%
My system sometimes sleeps 4 7.27%
My system always sleeps after the sleep timeout, and wakes reliably. 15 27.27%
Voters: 55. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2010, 04:59 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Question Poll - reliable sleep operation with Windows?

I spend a lot of time trying to cause my SageTV system to sleep reliably. I would like to have it wake to record shows, wake when I want to watch shows, and otherwise stay in low power sleep mode. That shouldn't be so hard, should it?

I think Sage V7 is working correctly - when sleep works, the system log says that SageTV woke it, or the USB-UIRT woke it if I was going to watch something. But other times, it will go for days without sleeping. I've used "POWERCFG -requests" to verify that nothing is keeping the system from entering sleep. Sometimes I can get it to sleep again (for a few days maybe) by going into power settings and setting the "sleep after" value again, and then manually entering sleep. Now I have a new problem where the system seems to be sleeping, but has crashed.

Please vote in the poll above - I'm wondering how sleep works for other Sage TV users.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.

Last edited by timg11; 12-28-2010 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:30 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Anyone who selects the 5th option "My system always sleeps after the sleep timeout, and wakes reliably.", please reply to this thread and share your system configuration and any tip and tricks you have learned related to sleep.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:50 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
The problem is that you are running Windows 7, standby works fine on XP.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2010, 10:38 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Fonceur, I guess the sleep vs OS situation depends on the individual system characteristics. Before I installed Windows 7, I was running SageTV with XP. The system would never sleep on its own. Now with Win7 it sleeps sometimes.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2010, 11:19 AM
Pinan's Avatar
Pinan Pinan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
timg11: Did you try what was suggested at the end of your other thread? I noticed you never came back to it:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50080

This is what worked for me. Has been fine ever since.

"try the default value (120000) in sage.properties and took the long value (1800000) in sageclient.properties"

This setting refers to "power_management_idle_timeout="

I was running XP Home at the time, but now run Windows 7 Home Premium. Worked fine in either.

Last edited by Pinan; 12-29-2010 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 11:35 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
Pinan, I did set the power_management_idle_timeout=1800000, which solved the occasional problem with early sleep after 2 minutes of pausing a show.

In this thread, I'm talking about the more persistent problem of the system never sleeping. My system will get into a state when it simply will not sleep on its own. SageTV is sleeping in the tray, and no recordings are scheduled for hours, yet the system does not enter sleep. This problem even persists through the daily HD-PVR reset and system reboot that I have scheduled at 5:00am. Sometimes I can temporarily fix it by going to the Power control panel and re-setting the sleep timeout, and then manually entering sleep mode.

I'm trying to determine if there is any common factor in people's systems that sleep correctly.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:01 PM
Graygeek Graygeek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 193
I'd check out the articles written by Andrew Van Til (babgvant) over at missingremote.com. It took a bit of reading and education to get my system to the point it would reliably sleep. Now its darn near 99.99%

Last edited by Graygeek; 12-29-2010 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:26 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
My system (Win7 x64) in general sleeps fairly well...

...but most of the times that I have sleep issues, it's actually related to Sage (mainly the client)

Issues that I've noticed are:
- Client circle of death after wakeup; this does not reproduce all the time, but it happens now and then. You have to kill the client via task manager
(best workaround is to close the client before entering sleep
- System does not go into sleep at the end of music playback (reproduces most of the time). It just sits there and waits.

Especially the 1st issue is pretty annoying. It actually seems to have increased over time (somehow it hardly ever happened during the v7 beta testing period). I've recently uninstalled and then reinstalled Sage, and it hasn't happened since. So I'm still hoping that my Sage configuration was somewhat botched...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:35 PM
Pinan's Avatar
Pinan Pinan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
In this thread, I'm talking about the more persistent problem of the system never sleeping.
I understood that. In the other thread, owilsky stated that his machine was taking too long to sleep until he made the below change. I had the same issue until making the change as well.


"try the default value (120000) in sage.properties and took the long value (1800000) in sageclient.properties"

I meant had you tried using the two different settings.

I'll note this: At times after working on my machine then walking away for awhile, I'll come back and it's still awake. If I then put it into Standby, it works fine after that. Kinda like it's re-synced Standby. An anomaly I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:00 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Sage itself works properly. The only issue I saw in the past was with intelligent recording and the prv2250, it would prevent the system from sleeping. I would have to cancel the IRs to get the system to sleep. I no longer see this issue since I no longer have any analog channels for the pvr2250 to record. The HDHRs do not have any problem sleeping when recording an IR program. Under VISTA I did see the OS doing something that prevented the system from sleeping until it was done,. I never did determine what it was doing. I have not seen any of these issues with Windows 7.
Some tuners may have a problem coming out of sleep, but I do not use them.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-29-2010, 03:19 PM
mp328 mp328 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 122
win 7 - 32bit here with sage7 (running sage as service) - no issues whatsoever.

power options set to sleep after 2hours, so it has time to convert the tv shows and cut out commercials before going to sleep.

using 3 tuners on my box, 2x hp150's and an amd something something lol (550?)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:44 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 410
mp328, running as a service is something I need to try.
I didn't use service mode when I was using SageTV standalone, because of the issue of non-migration of settings between service and non-service mode.
Now that I'm not using the client on the PC (except to occasionally check the program guide when I don't want to turn the HDTV on), I could probably get away with using the service mode. Maybe that will allow better sleep behavior?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:21 PM
trini0's Avatar
trini0 trini0 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 331
My system sleeps very reliably.
See my signature for what my system entails.
The server only wakes when it is time to record or when the Sage clients start up.
The only things I've done was to set my LAN NIC to wake the computer on network activity, and in SageTV, set the server to not go to sleep after the timeout, if a client is connected.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50706
__________________
Server: ASUS P5BV-C/4L, Celeron E1600, 2GB Ram, Windows 7, 30GB OS/512GB (iSCSI) TV/DVD Storage, SageTV 7.1.9, Java 1.6.0_20, Paterson TV Translator 1.0.19.0
Client(1): SageTV STX-HD100 f/w:20100212 connected to an Onkyo SR-606 and Samsung LN46A650 via HDMI
Client(2): HP Pavilion dv5z-1200 Entertainment Notebook running Windows 7 and SageTV Client 7.1.9
Source(1): DirecTV H21, HD-PVR (E1) driver 1.5.7
Source(2): HDHomeRun, Winegard GS-2200
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-30-2010, 05:13 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,699
You forgot option 6 - Sleep? Why would I ever want to put my PC to sleep?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2010, 05:52 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
I think that is assumed with the first answer... TV is 24 x 7 and has been for many decades. I remember when I was very young the local TV stations used to sign off overnight. Since TV is 24 x 7, your recordings are also 24 x 7. I don't know why you would ever want to let your computer sleep.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-30-2010, 08:10 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,699
You're from Minnesota and I am from Canada so global warming at this time of the year sounds like something on a wish list rather than something to be feared.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:13 AM
Pinan's Avatar
Pinan Pinan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
I don't know why you would ever want to let your computer sleep.
Um...to save power when not recording something?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-31-2010, 06:59 AM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinan View Post
Um...to save power when not recording something?
That might be useful if you only record a few shows a day and your system is idle most of the time. My system is almost always recording something. Sometimes it will go for a couple hours without recording anything, but that is pretty rare. I only have time to watch a small portion of what is recorded. The rest is deleted or ends up filling up my drives.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-31-2010, 10:26 AM
Pinan's Avatar
Pinan Pinan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
I Understand. Yesterday I recorded 17 episodes of Burn Notice, straight. So 17 hours of being on. LOL. Rare for me, but I see your point.

During repeat season mine runs very little.

Other points to consider (for limited users) are dust build up and wear and tear on components.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-31-2010, 10:29 AM
Pinan's Avatar
Pinan Pinan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
I only have time to watch a small portion of what is recorded. The rest is deleted or ends up filling up my drives.
I just read this again. If you're not watching them, why record them (yeah I know)? Sounds like it's time to adjust your Favorites. I think I've got about 20 Favorite shows in my list. How many do you have?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server sleep mode with Windows clients null_pointer_us SageTV Beta Test Software 4 10-12-2010 11:22 AM
Windows 7 wake from S3 sleep and record jimbo67 SageTV Beta Test Software 13 10-06-2010 04:37 PM
Put Windows 7 Computer to sleep jeeves5454 SageTV Software 5 12-14-2009 09:34 AM
Windows XP SP2 Poll mightyt SageTV Software 32 09-25-2004 10:30 PM
The 'sleep' function in Windows? Hercules SageTV Software 1 04-12-2004 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.