SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:27 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,954
Windows Installer

Latest release available

Windows Files . Click the Files tab at this locaton

SageTV Change Log

Notes:
  • If upgrading from the same version level - 9.0.4.xxx to 9.0.4.yyy you will need to run the installer a 2nd time and select repair to insure ALL files get installed. Normally we will try to release full point versions when possible.
  • If you wish to retain Closed Captioning or MPEG2 decoders from your V7 install, please install V9 on top of a V7 install.
  • Windows 10 users should note that Windows 10 does not seem to contain a working MPEG2 decoder so if installing V9 only (not on V7), you will need to find another MPEG2 decoder package such as LAV filters.
  • this installer includes all prerequisites including
    • java 1.7.79 (will only install if no or an older version is found)
    • MS c++ 2010 and 2015 runtimes
    • DirectX 9 (only necessary parts)
    • AC3 Filter installer
  • The following may no longer be required after version 9.0.13.536_R1.010 and above as this may have been fixed.
    • Some users have seen that the installer FAILs to register a number of libraries. This may be related to a missing KB fix needed for VC2015 runtime. IF you run into this then see this KB article and install the related patch and then re-run the installer.
For discussions related to the development of the windows installer please refer to this thread....

Latest Linux Files can be found here...

Last edited by jusjoken; 06-26-2017 at 08:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 10:01 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 79
Fails on Windows 7

Stalls on "Installing Visual C++ redistributables"

SageTV 7.1.9 trial installs and runs with no problem, unfortunately it will be dead in 19 days.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:05 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
Stalls on "Installing Visual C++ redistributables"

SageTV 7.1.9 trial installs and runs with no problem, unfortunately it will be dead in 19 days.
Is your win7 current with updates? We know this works on window 7 so need more info.

k
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:35 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 79
Just installed it (win7 and Sage 7 trial) on Monday. I ran "check for updates" when installing, but it didn't find any. Maybe a permissions problem? I'm finding Win7 quite a bit different (obstinate) compared to XP. I don't even know where to check the version. I installed piriform speccy and it said that I was running Windows 7 64-bit.

EDIT: Just tried to install SageTV Client 441 from the Stuckless repository. Got error "C\Program Files(x86)\SageTV\STVERPrstr.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147024770" I also tried it with "Run as Administrator" same result.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1

Last edited by ASegredo; 11-02-2016 at 11:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2016, 01:31 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
I had to maually install updates on win 7 64... theres an update that fixes the windows updater on the computer.... people say it will hang if you dont reboot prior to runing windows... i just ran into both of those problems on Sunday
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:04 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,751
I have the same problem on Windows 10 but there the necessary patches will not install and are not available through Windows Update.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:53 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I have the same problem on Windows 10 but there the necessary patches will not install and are not available through Windows Update.
Even at the microsoft update download site?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2016, 03:06 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by daminc View Post
Even at the microsoft update download site?
What do you mean? I'm not aware of a Microsoft Update web site. I did enable "install other updates".
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.4_rc15e
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2016, 04:55 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
What do you mean? I'm not aware of a Microsoft Update web site. I did enable "install other updates".
Do an internet search for windows 10 update downloads... should come up... pretty sure I saw a win 10 update for the downloader there in my searches

I can post a link later when i'm at the computer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2016, 05:00 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
After i installed the windows7 downloder update, it found 272 updates for my computer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-02-2016, 05:56 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
After i installed the windows7 downloder update, it found 272 updates for my computer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2016, 06:07 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 79
After I downloaded the Windows installer update, my computer started freezing randomly. I wiped the disk and am installing again from scratch. I had already registered my key. I hope this doesn't screw it up.

Will SageTV 9 install on XP? I could then use my old license key on the Win 7 computer. I only installed Win 7 because so much software has new versions that don't support XP. So far it looks like Win 7 is @#$%^&

EDIT: After wiping the disk, letting Windows re-format it followed by a fresh Win7 Install and myriad attempts to install VC++ redistributable, it finally succeeded and, as you promised, the SageTV 9 installer finished up and I am running SageTV 9 on Win 7. Whew!

I do have a new problem with EPG data. I entered the license key from my SageTV 7 on the XP box, but 9 keeps saying "invalid key". I purchased a regular license, not specifically a server license. Is that why? Or is it because I'm using the key on two boxes? I also have a Schedules Direct subscription but am having trouble entering my username and password through the "telephone dial" interface probably because the password mixes case. Is there another way to enter them hopefully by editting a file? Or should I start a new topic on this?

Last edited by ASegredo; 11-03-2016 at 06:06 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-11-2016, 09:38 AM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
I've had problems entering a ser# in sage9 also. if I copy and paste, or type it in, it saves it as a duplicate entry in the activkey file. I've been editing it and removing the duplicate. after that, it finds it and sets up the EPG without asking for the Ser#
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-11-2016, 09:51 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by daminc View Post
I've had problems entering a ser# in sage9 also. if I copy and paste, or type it in, it saves it as a duplicate entry in the activkey file. I've been editing it and removing the duplicate. after that, it finds it and sets up the EPG without asking for the Ser#
Narflex fixed the duplicate on paste so the next release will include that fix.

k
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-16-2017, 05:39 PM
tbower tbower is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pickerington, OH, USA
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to tbower
Upgrade Success: SageTVSetup_9.0.12.506_R1.007

I ran the Windows installer on my SageTV v.7.19 server (Windows 10) with complete success. All favorites and other settings were preserved. It also works flawlessly with my HD300 set top box.

Now to tackle that program listings issue....

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-22-2017, 12:30 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 160
I noticed the installer created a "MPEGDecoder" folder. I was under the impression that you needed V7 for the use of a MPEGDecoder; is that no longer the case?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-22-2017, 01:54 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
I noticed the installer created a "MPEGDecoder" folder. I was under the impression that you needed V7 for the use of a MPEGDecoder; is that no longer the case?
Are you upgrading over v7? If so, it will create that and migrate the decoder that was part of v7.

k
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-22-2017, 02:52 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Are you upgrading over v7? If so, it will create that and migrate the decoder that was part of v7.

k
Ok, Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-25-2017, 04:30 PM
jmv jmv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 189
Has anyone successfully installed V9 over V7 on a Windows Server 2012 R2 based system? That's what I need to do!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-25-2017, 06:40 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmv View Post
Has anyone successfully installed V9 over V7 on a Windows Server 2012 R2 based system? That's what I need to do!
I do most of my testing on 2012r2 including upgrades from v7 with no issues.

k
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Github Development 460 08-21-2017 03:47 AM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.