SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2016, 08:40 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Stream HMDI over network

This is sort of similar to HDHomeRun but instead of antenna, it take HDMI input from any STB (DirectTV, Cable Boxes etc) and stream it over network using mpg-ts

But from what I learn that the audio it stream is stereo not surrounded, one user said he contacted the manufacturer and they said it does stream surround however he couldn't get it to work.

Here the link

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/MPEG-...856597088.html

Wonder if it possible to get this to work with SageTV using STB with HDMI out.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2016, 04:45 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
This is sort of similar to HDHomeRun but instead of antenna, it take HDMI input from any STB (DirectTV, Cable Boxes etc) and stream it over network using mpg-ts

But from what I learn that the audio it stream is stereo not surrounded, one user said he contacted the manufacturer and they said it does stream surround however he couldn't get it to work.

Here the link

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/MPEG-...856597088.html

Wonder if it possible to get this to work with SageTV using STB with HDMI out.

Bill
That device has me a little fascinated. I just might buy one and see what I can do with it in OpenDCT.

Edit: The biggest thing that concerns me is long term availability. I see this device is only sold on a few China-based websites. I don't really see anything that's equivalent/re-branded in other countries. These kinds of devices have interested me for a while. I'm not used to seeing them for under $200 which doesn't make it an impulse buy, but I really like that it uses entirely OS independent streaming which means I wouldn't need to concern myself with kernel support for example. Also this unit appears to have deinterlacing which while I'm skeptical that a device this "cheap" would do a good job, what if it actually did?
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 04-21-2016 at 06:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2016, 08:41 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Why try to hack this into an HD-PVR, instead of just using an HD-PVR?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2016, 09:32 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Why try to hack this into an HD-PVR, instead of just using an HD-PVR?
Supposedly it can stream directly from HDMI without DRM issue.

I read a post on another forum that he been using it with DirectTV to stream his shows while he is out and it been working great for him but he crated a web page to link to this hardware to watch his shows from.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2016, 11:22 AM
jamesdisco's Avatar
jamesdisco jamesdisco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: N Yorks, UK
Posts: 234
Is this similar TBS2603
I use their DVB-S tuners with sage.
__________________
Server: Win 10 64bit Core i3 8GB 20TB, TBS6985, TBS6984, Sage 9.
Clients: 5 x HD300, 2 x HD200, Placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2016, 02:23 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Why try to hack this into an HD-PVR, instead of just using an HD-PVR?
I was thinking it would be much easier (and cheaper for those already invested in HD-PVR's) to just write some simple remote broadcasting/tuning programming for a Raspberry Pi, but I see the appeal of having something that already has Ethernet built in without the additional component of a full OS.

I do like options. I really wish Hauppauge had offered a solution like this that would give you the ability to have your boxes in one place and DVR somewhere else.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2016, 03:17 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesdisco View Post
Is this similar TBS2603
I use their DVB-S tuners with sage.

Hrmmm this one listed both H264 and H265.

I wonder if it can stream AAC surround as well too?

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2016, 03:26 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesdisco View Post
Is this similar TBS2603
I use their DVB-S tuners with sage.

Here a YouTube demo on that model ....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGQ-RetKnSo

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2016, 06:12 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Not really the same idea exactly, but once in a while I run a search for PCIe cards that bring in HDMI, but it seems like they all fall down when it comes to grabbing the 5.1 channel audio. The audio options in that video that Bill posted aren't encouraging.

I'd be very curious to see what this thing can do.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-23-2016, 06:18 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
They do seem to max out at 12 mbits/sec. I suppose if the encoder is efficient, that might be acceptable. I was really hoping for something that brings in a bit better image than the current Hauppauge options (the 1212 at least).

I do like the idea of putting the STB option in a network encoder as it seems there's a very active developer around this joint that likes to play with it.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-24-2016, 08:56 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
I decided to bite the bullet and purchased one. It will likely be another week before it arrives. I'll report back then. If anyone else is considering buying one of these, I would wait until I come back with my review since you're probably not going to have this working with SageTV without the aid of a network encoder and I don't want anyone buying this in anticipation in case it doesn't pan out.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-30-2016, 06:51 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
I ordered this Sunday. According to my tracking information, the package was just picked up yesterday (Friday) and it's in New York now. I understand that it will arrive within the shipping time I agreed to, but they should clarify that the reason you're going to get it so late is because they only ship one day of the week. If you're running a profitable business, shipping times should be less than 36 hours excluding the weekend. I understand that sometimes there are issues with shipping while in transit, but one of them shouldn't be actually handing the package off to the courier.

I'm done ranting. I just want to set your expectations for shipping time.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-30-2016, 07:59 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
It'll get here eventually.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-30-2016, 06:05 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
I know this isn't exactly the same category, but this device appears to actually broadcast the original audio along with the video in MJPEG. It might be hard to keep up with the broadcast, but it's cheap enough that I'm going to give it a shot.

http://www.amazon.com/Basicest-BAS37.../dp/B00PFN4S6O

https://blog.danman.eu/reverse-engin...r-ip-extender/
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-30-2016, 06:43 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Reading the post history at that second link - you'd be a brave soul for chasing that one. Yikes.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-30-2016, 07:12 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Reading the post history at that second link - you'd be a brave soul for chasing that one. Yikes.
I think it would also be cool to broadcast video to the receiver that will go unused. I'm thinking picture frame.

I'm comfortable deciphering protocols and working with raw data when there's a pretty good payoff. I just want to play with it to see if it's even remotely viable. If it's not, I still have an HDMI over IP extender which is not a useless thing to have. Also, someone wrote a Python script that can tie it in with FFmpeg on Linux, so that's a good starting point.

https://github.com/toru173/Lenkeng373
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-30-2016, 07:20 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
You, sir, are a true optimist!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-01-2016, 10:26 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I know this isn't exactly the same category, but this device appears to actually broadcast the original audio along with the video in MJPEG. It might be hard to keep up with the broadcast, but it's cheap enough that I'm going to give it a shot.

http://www.amazon.com/Basicest-BAS37.../dp/B00PFN4S6O

https://blog.danman.eu/reverse-engin...r-ip-extender/
I am subscribing to this thread!!

If you created a new thread on your project, please link it in here so I can go subscribe in your new thread too ...

Looking forward to it!

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-02-2016, 01:33 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
IPTV Live Stream Broadcast device would make it much simpler with out having deal with directshow headack being you per-config the device on the host end that is per-set output then SageTV only need a API to start and stop record commands base on it IP stream that compliant with standerd protocols.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-02-2016, 10:20 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
I reviewed it over here.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem, network stream windows to linux youngdaddytc SageTV Software 0 10-27-2012 03:52 PM
Quick stream changing for Network Encoders? Fuzzy SageTV Beta Test Software 0 08-09-2010 05:41 PM
Any thoughts on how to get a network stream recorded in Sage Omniver SageTV Software 2 02-01-2008 08:53 PM
MPEG2 Transport Stream vs Program Stream GollyJer SageTV Software 8 03-05-2007 08:06 PM
Will Sage stream over 911G network trevorst SageTV Software 3 07-28-2003 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.