SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:05 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
11 Simultaneous Miniclients

Just like Nigel Tufnel's amplifiers, SageTV goes to 11.

I have setup SageTV on unRAID docker with 3GB of JVM heap and was able to connect 11 miniclients - 8 HD-200 extenders and 3 Placeshifters. These all have Gemstone installed as their UI which is fairly memory intensive. And about 8 of them were playing back video at the time.

It turns out that 3GB of JVM heap may be overkill as I am only using 1.4GB. t appears that the Linux version of SageTV is more efficient in terms of memory usage.

It is very unlikely that I will be ever using this many but I wanted to test and see how many miniclients I could connect without having issues. I may no leave my extenders permanently powered on, which I couldn't do before as if more than about 3-4 were running Sage would slow down and/or crash.

Here is the Web UI showing the 11 connected miniclients:


And here is one of the Placeshifters showing the JVM heap usage:
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:10 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
You going to do a writeup on getting this up and running? I've been interested, but the Linux environment is daunting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:17 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Yes, I am trying to keep track of all of the steps that you have to do to get Sage up on unRAID docker. But I haven't really set up tuners yet, other than an OTA HDHR. The trickier part is likely getting my HD-PVRs workings plus either FireWire, or a USB-UIRT or both.

So far it has mainly been setting up the unRAID machine, adding hard drives and transferring media files which is relatively straightforward.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:40 AM
amg amg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 159
Wayner,

I'm very interested in your progress as I am about to start a similar journey in setting up sage on unraid. My windows server of 11 years gave up the ghost, and I have been running sage off of a couple ancient machines I had laying around. Quite interested in firewire channel changing on my sa boxes.
__________________
unRaid Server:Quad-Core Xenon, 20 GB Ram, openDCT/sageTV Dockers, HDHR,HDHR Prime
Network Encoder:Dell Inspiron 1000 Laptop, 512MB Ram, Windows XP, HDPVR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2017, 11:42 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by amg View Post
Quite interested in firewire channel changing on my sa boxes.
We will likely be in the same boat as I am also using SA boxes - 3250HD and 4250HD. I will likely get to this in the next week or so and I will let you know how it goes.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2017, 11:50 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
if amg is in the states, he may not be in the same boat, as more and more cabelco's are disabling the firewire ports on their cable boxes.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2017, 03:28 PM
amg amg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 159
I'm in NJ. I had been using Firewire to tune for nearly a decade. My windows box died and now I'm looking to setup unRaid with Docker. Currently while I assemble the pieces, my "server" is a 10yr old laptop running Ubuntu 16.10 (Sage & OpenDCT) with another 10yr old laptop running XP hosting my HDPVR tuning with the blaster as a network encoder.

2x HD100 + 1 HD200
__________________
unRaid Server:Quad-Core Xenon, 20 GB Ram, openDCT/sageTV Dockers, HDHR,HDHR Prime
Network Encoder:Dell Inspiron 1000 Laptop, 512MB Ram, Windows XP, HDPVR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2017, 05:28 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
So as long as Firewire is currently working you should be good.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the record for most simultaneous miniclients in Sage? wayner SageTV Software 1 01-25-2017 03:57 PM
Simultaneous Playback on all Clients i0zjh02 SageTV Beta Test Software 8 09-20-2010 03:13 PM
PVR 350, simultaneous record and playback? Crowdx42 Hardware Support 2 03-04-2004 12:03 PM
2 or more simultaneous TV-outs ?? z2van SageTV Software 1 02-05-2004 06:39 PM
Multiple Simultaneous Clients Narflex SageTV Software 0 05-14-2003 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.